We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget about staying here. Don't even book this hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sophia to your Saves list
Hotel Sophia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #130 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore River, Singapore
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Forget about staying here. Don't even book this hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is not about any individual staff but the hotel policy.

The hotel charges a 2% fee when you book, even when it declares there is no cancellation penalty! It disguises this by stating there is a non-refundable 2% fee when you PAY by credit card. But if you reserve by a credit card, which is really a requirement, they would deduct the full room charge +2% at the time of booking. If you cancel the booking, even if it is immediately after booking, they will only refund the room charge - that is what they meant by non-refundable.

This hotel is out to cheat by exploiting your ignorance. In my case, I have confirmed with the bank that no commission was charged by the bank, yet the hotel insists on not returning the 2%. Don't just read the fine print - Read between the fine print - the hotel meant "non-refundable 2% fee when you BOOK by credit card"!

Room Tip: Have nothing to do with this hotel. You are likely to be wasting time writing reviews like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    137
    66
    61
    83
See reviews for
55
148
77
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

There is no one at the reception counter. You will have to ring the bell and wait. Thereafter, will be greeted by the hotel personnel who are not so friendly.
The breakfast choice was terribly limited- 4 types of cereals, bread and butter offered with ham, sunny side up egg and some cold hard boiled egg.
We confronted the male personnel at the hotel eating area as to why the egg was cold and he retorted by saying that "it's cooked". We certainly knew that it is cooked by virtue of the fact that the egg is hard and not fragile, but why is it cold... I wonder till now.
At the so called little restaurant, you will be met with a grumpy lady who cooks and at times walk out from the kitchen bringing food. Fried noodles apparently will only be available from 7 am onwards though the breakfast is opened at 6am.
We booked 3 rooms. The room with a King Bed and single Bed was huge and comfortable whereas the single Queen bedded room was exceptionally small.
The best thing about this hotel is that they have clean bathrooms in all the rooms.
There is no free wifi at the hotel. It is available at a nominal rate of AUD$1 per hour though i'm still hoping that it could be offered free.
This Hotel is located in Kings St. Very near to the Southern Cross Station and those staying here or nearby may opt to buy some groceries and/or mineral or sparkling water from the Coles supermarket located next to Southern Cross Station.
This Hotel is also within walking distance to the Queen Victoria Market, which is worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I can't say anything about the hotel as I didn't actually make it to the hotel.
I made an online booking and decided to call to confirm. The rude woman who answered the phone told me that the internet had overbooked. I tried to problem solve with her and she simply told me 'this is too complicated, I will cancel your booking with us and you can find somewhere else to stay'.
I cannot see how it could be my fault in any way that the internet had overbooked the rooms and she wouldn't even entertain discussing this with me. The booking was for the very next day.
Extremely rude.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We called to make a booking because that's what their website said to so. The staff member had NO IDEA and directed us to book online. So we figured it out and did.

Then the confirmation emails were wrong. So we called again to sort it out. In the end the staff member cancelled our booking because it was "all too hard".

I know it's budget accommodation but seriously what an incompetent bunch of twits.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hotel Sophia Melbourne first impression to my family members (3 of us) was just an ordinary budget Hotel by judgment from its outside appearance. Upon arrival at this Hotel, we found that the Hotel Room was indeed tidy and clean, and without any complaint whatsover. We put up in this Hotel for 3 Nights, and was awarded with good sleep. Not only of its cleanliness, we found that the Hotel is really convenient and well located within walking distance to China Town (We loved to visit China Town in different cities of this World to look at their life styles) and CBD, Melbourne. Should you wish to enjoy free transport (ie free Circle-line Tram within CBD) to hop on and hop off to enjoy the sceneries, the Tram Station is just about 30 feet from the Hotel. The Hotel indeed can be graded as Good City Accommodation as shown in the Hotel Logo. The Room came with breakfast which you will not expect from a budge Hotel.......Cheers

Room Tip: Always request for higher floor to enjoy better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is my second time staying at the Hotel Sophia. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Melbourne CBD and very close to the King Street stop for the free circle-line tram. The standard room is of average size, the bed comfortable and the provision of a mini-fridge and kettle is great. The hotel is reasonably priced. The inclusion of breakfast is a bonus, with options including 4 cereals, numerous types of bread for toasting, eggs and bacon, and fruit/yoghurt if you get up early enough. Whilst the walls are thin and most rooms get street noise, for the price you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Room was clean and tidy that is the best it gets, all down hill from here.Bed or should i say beds squashed together were like sleeping on concrete as for the pillows they matched the bed so much so on the last night of a three day nightmare we rolled up the dressing gowns to use as pillows.Now on to the breakfast except for green tea and coffee we had to get our supply of English tea off of the house keeping trolley to take with us each morning . empty serving trays and or cold food greeted us each morning very unappetizing no staff except for a (very rude and unapproachable)kitchen hand to be seen anywhere cleaning used tables or checking dining room food supplies.we certainly got what we paid for $99.00 per night special. As for their 4 star rating somebody must of been paid off to get it i would say 3 star would be an over-rating in my book has to be the worst place we have stayed ever.

Room Tip: do not stay in room 208 no view except industrial outlook, window is locked shut and guest laundry i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Address: 277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.