We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been more rude” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sophia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Could not have been more rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I can't say anything about the hotel as I didn't actually make it to the hotel.
I made an online booking and decided to call to confirm. The rude woman who answered the phone told me that the internet had overbooked. I tried to problem solve with her and she simply told me 'this is too complicated, I will cancel your booking with us and you can find somewhere else to stay'.
I cannot see how it could be my fault in any way that the internet had overbooked the rooms and she wouldn't even entertain discussing this with me. The booking was for the very next day.
Extremely rude.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    125
    52
    49
    75
See reviews for
49
131
74
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We called to make a booking because that's what their website said to so. The staff member had NO IDEA and directed us to book online. So we figured it out and did.

Then the confirmation emails were wrong. So we called again to sort it out. In the end the staff member cancelled our booking because it was "all too hard".

I know it's budget accommodation but seriously what an incompetent bunch of twits.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hotel Sophia Melbourne first impression to my family members (3 of us) was just an ordinary budget Hotel by judgment from its outside appearance. Upon arrival at this Hotel, we found that the Hotel Room was indeed tidy and clean, and without any complaint whatsover. We put up in this Hotel for 3 Nights, and was awarded with good sleep. Not only of its cleanliness, we found that the Hotel is really convenient and well located within walking distance to China Town (We loved to visit China Town in different cities of this World to look at their life styles) and CBD, Melbourne. Should you wish to enjoy free transport (ie free Circle-line Tram within CBD) to hop on and hop off to enjoy the sceneries, the Tram Station is just about 30 feet from the Hotel. The Hotel indeed can be graded as Good City Accommodation as shown in the Hotel Logo. The Room came with breakfast which you will not expect from a budge Hotel.......Cheers

Room Tip: Always request for higher floor to enjoy better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is my second time staying at the Hotel Sophia. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Melbourne CBD and very close to the King Street stop for the free circle-line tram. The standard room is of average size, the bed comfortable and the provision of a mini-fridge and kettle is great. The hotel is reasonably priced. The inclusion of breakfast is a bonus, with options including 4 cereals, numerous types of bread for toasting, eggs and bacon, and fruit/yoghurt if you get up early enough. Whilst the walls are thin and most rooms get street noise, for the price you really can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Room was clean and tidy that is the best it gets, all down hill from here.Bed or should i say beds squashed together were like sleeping on concrete as for the pillows they matched the bed so much so on the last night of a three day nightmare we rolled up the dressing gowns to use as pillows.Now on to the breakfast except for green tea and coffee we had to get our supply of English tea off of the house keeping trolley to take with us each morning . empty serving trays and or cold food greeted us each morning very unappetizing no staff except for a (very rude and unapproachable)kitchen hand to be seen anywhere cleaning used tables or checking dining room food supplies.we certainly got what we paid for $99.00 per night special. As for their 4 star rating somebody must of been paid off to get it i would say 3 star would be an over-rating in my book has to be the worst place we have stayed ever.

Room Tip: do not stay in room 208 no view except industrial outlook, window is locked shut and guest laundry i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect, had the room with shared bathroom and breakfast included. Pleasantly surprised, room was reasonably big and clean, the little extras like coffee bags instead of instant and decent toiletries were great. The shared bathroom was clean and was less inconvenient than expected. Breakfast was pretty good considering we only paid $99 for room.
Down side was that our room was one level up from the road and being an old or heritage building the big glass windows weren't double glazed ( I'm assuming ) because you could hear a lot street noise. And each time we had to wait for someone to come to front desk for quite a while when checking in and out which seemed like they were under staffed.But that was pretty much it. Good for one or two nights if your going to be out and about for the day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed at Sophia in February 2014.
I had previously read some of the mixed reviews and was unsure whether booking this place was a good idea.
I was, however, pleasantly surprised by standard and value.
This is an inner city hotel at country rates.
The staff were friendly and attentive.
The included breakfast was good, and the attached bar served good cheap meals.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Address: 277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#124 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.