We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and reasonably priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sophia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Centrally located and reasonably priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 4 days mainly for business during the day but close to attractions at night. Its a 5 minute walk from Southern Cross station where the Skybus gets in. Its close to main streets and areas of interest. Easy to walk to restaurant areas, entertainment and shopping. At the time there were some renovations going on but they were not a problem in there was no noise or disruption. The staff were friendly and helpful, an excellent cooked meal was included with the room. The rooms were clean and relatively generous if you were just staying in them at night and a good en-suite. Down size was that there is no double glazing so I could here the morning traffic - I would suggest you get a room at the back or in the heart of the hotel with no windows. The TV wasn't tuned properly but I wasn't in much and I never asked for it to be tuned though I think they would have done it if I asked. I would go again as it is centrally located and very reasonable.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room at the front or side - go for a room in the heart of the hotel with no noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    119
    48
    45
    69
See reviews for
45
120
72
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

good location, great price includes breakfast and rooms and clean, quiet enough and convenient. if you want 5 stars look elsewhere but for great value I use this hotel and have stayed quite a number of times

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great location for town center visit, easier to catch a tram for free town visit and to drop by anywhere we wish to. Near to Queen Victoria Market for almost everything to get at Melbourne and also China Town to look for Chinese food.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Melbourne was completed booked out and my friend made a reservation in this pit.
Small rooms are not the issue, but stumbling over dirty linen bags in the lift, a generally not very clean environment especially the bathrooms, a closed restaurant on a Saturday, a dead rather seedy location and the most basic hotel I have ever seen made this a stay from hell. However, worst of all the staff. The short overweight Receptionist with long greasy hair was unhelpful, rude and generally incompetent. She referred to the Management who I demanded to speak to called Dimitrios as she was simply not interested to deal with customers. Half the time the Reception Counter was unoccupied and the apparent Manager was never available or present. Given the lack of any replies to any of the reviews here on Tripadvisor I must conclude that they simply do not care! And that certainly shows. To call this a hotel is simply an insult.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

More like a backpacker hostel with single rooms.
Tiny tiny room with a double bed.
Everything cut down in size due to the lack of space.
Creaky corridors as is the case with really old hotels.
The single lift just looks like it is ready to give way.
Cheap. Rooms functional despite micro size.
Quiet enough in the room I had though.
Staff friendly and efficient. Location ok, but more on city edge, but ok for Southern Cross.
Once is enough. (no pool or gym) Bathroom was good though.
4 stars is generous. (3.6 about right)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Awesome location close to everything, friendly staff, great room with more extras than expected plus pub on site. Can't go past the $8 chicken parmy, chips and beer! Next time we're in Melbourne will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, room was fine, bed good. Bathroom tiles dirty with mould. On arrival staff refused to accept cash for the $150 bond they demanded, they debited $300 from our credit card by mistake, swiped it twice!! Didn't acknowledge their error until check-out time next day. Then told us that it could be 5 days before the bond was refunded to our account, saying that we should fax our bank directly to facilitate and expedite the process!!! Staff were ok to deal with on a personal level, but were obviously forced to follow very unreasonable management requirements.
We have travelled extensively in Australia and throughout the world and have never encountered such intransigent treatment. We will never stay here again and will advise friends and associates not to stay here also!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Address: 277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sophia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.