We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, clean and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sophia to your Saves list
Hotel Sophia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Shepparton, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good value, clean and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Clean, comfortable accomodation at a good price in Melbourne's CBD. Good value with breakfast also included. Only crticism I can make was noisey water pipes. Ear plugs fixed this. This might not happen in all rooms. Handy to Flagstaff Station. I would certainly stay there again. Is a great find for an affordable overnight stay when travelling from the country.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    128
    55
    50
    75
See reviews for
49
133
74
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night. We booked through wotif and paid $250!!
Firstly there was supposed to be $15 overnight parking which turned out to be $38 at the southern cross station.
When we arrived we were greeted by a grumpy lady owner that wouldn't take the time to explain correctly how to get to the car park she was more interested in swiping my credit card for a supposed $150 refundable when no damage was caused, I asked her to explain why she needed to actually take the money out of my account she was very annoyed and simply said so I can be paid if you break something. 2 weeks later I still havnt received my money back in my account , and when I called her about it she said I have to work it out with the bank it's not her problem.
In addition the FREE breakfast was the worst I have ever had
Please be warned this place is the pits

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the hotel at the end of a 2 week trip driving from Adelaide & was pleasantly surprised .For the price we paid for a large double bedroom it was more than adequate. Spotlessly clean & with all the usual toiletries & tea & coffee in the room. The breakfast was buffet style & had a wide selection of items for breakfast. The bar & restaurant were very reasonably priced . We had dined at Southbank & you could double the cost The free city tram is only a few minutes walk away. Also you can walk to the Airport bus which takes 24 minutes to Melbourne airport. We found it very convenient. Its a small family run hotel not one of a chain so don't expect a large foyer & wide halls. Phone calls are expensive

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights over a weekend. Didn't have a good first impression at check in as the female receptionist was lacking in politeness or friendliness but was happy with the size of my room. The hot and cold breakfast was appreciated as was the ability to open windows in the room. Two comments; Noise is the biggest factor, whether it be from other rooms, as other reviewers have already described; the construction work at a couple of neighbouring sites starting at 6am; or people on the street at all hours. Had a disruptive night's sleep the first night but the use of ear plugs on second and third nights made a big difference. Secondly, TV controls were difficult and despite the monitor showing channels 7,9, 10 I was advised that they only have Foxtel channels - this could have been made much clearer in the hotel manual left in the room. One final comment; I was caught out as I didn't realise that the Flagstaff train station on the next block was only operative Monday to Friday and completely closed on weekends - this wasn't such a big deal in that you could just walk down to Melbourne Central or walk down to Swanston Street to catch other trams but just something you should be aware of if you are looking to stay at Hotel Sophia on the weekend.

Room Tip: definitely ask for a room off the street and the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has been refurbished since my last visit a few years ago. My room was fresh and even spacious, at least compared to other rooms in which I stayed there in the past. The bathroom was clean and a decent size, which was also the case with the smaller bedrooms. The bed was clean and comfortable and the air conditioining works well. A pretty good hot and cold buffet breakfast is included in the tariff. The receptionist is not as friendly as at most hotels and the requirement to swipe you credit card for a $150 contingency as well as photocopying your drivers licence can be a bit off putting if you haven't stayed there before. The guest signing in before me was not impressed with this requirement. The hotel is very convenient to transport, including Spencer Street station, the Docklands waterfront area, Etihad stadium and is only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the main CBD shopping area. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Portland, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well I told you to watch this space. A week ago I was kindly given a Voucher due to my misfortune of cancelling. I used this voucher yesterday (was given a late check out) and It was a horrifying experience. First I had to pay an extra $20.00 as there seemed to be a booking price rise. I was planning to be in the room for a long period (I didn't mind as I knew I would have had the use of the TV),WELL now after a few hours of booking in I found out TV was actually not working. No apology from reception, just excuses. Over all I found myself to be disappointed. The mugs & the little cup with Sugar in was dirty, The night manager didn't seem to care. In the morning the manager came up on my request to fix TV only to find out that the TV was not working again. I decided to have early shower... Lucky I did because the water was cut off with no warning at all, to any of the patrons. (the ones I asked were horrified like me). I suggest that if you are considering booking then GOOD LUCK.. I did enjoy the 2 bits of toast that I had in the breakfast room. You meet nice people when things go wrong...... Oh did I say that I wont be going back?? even though I asked and received a $20.00 refund for my troubles. I do say thank you for that...

Room Tip: Get as much information as you can and have it verified in an email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This family owned boutique hotel has very large and clean rooms with tea, coffee and yummie cookies available. The bathroom has lovely products and extras as well as robes, which in my opinion every hotel should have. The walls are a little thin, but nothing a pair of earplugs wont fix.
The breakfast was nice and large with different kind of eggs, breads and spreads and a large choice of cereal, and it is included in the price which is so rare in Australia and makes for a lovely extra. The location of this hotel is very central in a new and up an comming area with a lot of dining options around. Excellent for young and old travellers who are over hostels but not impressed by large hotel chains.
The staff is very obliging and the owner very friendly. A smile is all it takes to get him talking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Address: 277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.