We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sophia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Sophia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

An excellent location in Melbourne, only a couple of minutes from the Southern Cross train station and trams. Many of the reviews I read before staying here talked about the breakfast and the size of the rooms. Yes the rooms are small, but not to the point of being uncomfortable, the best word would be cosy (in a good way). Yes the breakfast options are limited but there is generally plenty of it (with the exception of pancakes which are a rare option and finish quickly). The hotel is very clean though, and the rooms are confortable and well presented. For the price and location it's an amazing little gem!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    124
    49
    46
    73
See reviews for
47
125
73
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Arrived from London via 1 night stay in Sydney. Jet lag had just set in & we hadn't realised it was Melbourne cup week so accommodation was scarce. This was the first place that we came across with availability. We were told that we cold have an en suite room the first night but only availability was a Private room with shared bathroom / toilet for the second.

Short walk to CBD central, short walk to Southern Cross Station, easy to find location.

Cleanliness in the rooms had room for improvement, bar & restaurant closed due to staff shortages, you could hear the next rooms conversation due to paper thin walls, Internet was down, lock was broken on shared toilet on second night, our room door didn't feel that secure and lots of creaky floor boards.

Note to self - Plan better in advance next time....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed for two nights in December. Room not too bad, a bit small. Bathroom so so.
It was handy having the bar right there.
We were not keen on the location as there were several strip joints close by and walking at night was not a great idea. Lots of police action, sirens and yelling drunks for both of the nights made it difficult to sleep.
The staff were pleasant and helpful.
The value for money was OK. Not sure if we would stay there again due to the location not for the hotel itself.
Breakfast was the basic continental but nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibiza
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This hotel has very bad location in Melbourne. The price is high but the quality is not good
We stayed bacuse we didn't find free room (Christmas Seasons) in others hotel in Elizabeth Street(good location and better price)
I don't recommend at all, the gave us a dirty room, and we complain
The walls are like paper, imposible rest. You are like in a dorm sharing room with other persons
Really grap

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The receptionist was singularly unwelcoming. The reason for the "free" breakfast was because you couldn't have given it away. The Internet was down for two consecutive days, and the staff were not the least concerned or sympathetic. It's great to be able to open the windows, but the traffic and other noise is awful.

Pay a bit more and get some value elsewhere

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I found Hotel Sophia through Web Jet when booking my flights from Sydney. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. The folder in my room stated the bar opened until late and room service was served until 11pm. I came back around 9pm one night and didn't want to search for food. I called down to order room service and was told the kitchen was closed and I could go next door to a Japanese restaurant. The bar was also closed most nights quite early. Also on a different occasion I went out for the day, only to come back and find my door had not been shut properly after cleaning. Thankfully my belongings were locked away and nothing was taken!! Not impressed!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights. We found our room was very clean, the King bed was comfortable and we really enjoyed the breakfast that was included every morning. Hotel Sophia is not far from Etihad stadium and Southern Cross Station so it's very easy to get around the city from here. The staff were very helpful and friendly and were able to suggest a few places we could visit.
See you next time in OZ!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Address: 277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#123 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.