We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfying stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sophia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Sophia to your Saves list
Hotel Sophia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“satisfying stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

great boutique hotel- we visit melbourne from adelaide semi-regularly and we would not stay anywhere else.
The service is friendly and helpful and the rooms are spotless. We always ask for a king bed. The buffet breakfast is fantastic all the more so as this is a bed and breakfast and so makes the cost of staying super competitive- very rare to find city hotel including breakfast.

The hotel is near the free tram and southern cross station and is located in a sem-residential spot so it is quiet.

Our tip is catch the tram to Lygon street where there are literally 100 Italian restaurants side by side!!

Room Tip: ask for rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    129
    56
    50
    75
See reviews for
50
134
74
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent a weekend here, the room was clean,& had some nice touches as plunger coffee, we fronted King St, which had traffic & train noise,the breakfast was VERY basic.Lots of little place's around to eat, including the pub downstairs, but where closed,this is a weekday business area & not really for the interstate weekend traveller, it is close to walk to Victoria Markets & the free tram..

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Very friendly staff, and very nice and clean rooms. Only downside was that i could hear the person sneeze in tbe next room but as i didn't spend much time in there anyways it wasn't a problem ( your in the cbd). Complimentary breakfast in the morning was good. I will definitely be back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

we travel from the mornington peninsula on a weekly basis and stay at sophia every time. The hotel is located in a quiet area surrounded by apartment blocks although you will hear normal city sounds like the garbage truck and so on. The rooms are modern and super clean it is obvious the staff take pride in their product. The beds are king size which is great as we are big people.Staff are very helpful.

Free buffet in the morning and great internet access i heartily recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: room 209 is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallourn North
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

The room itself was fine, small but fine. The bathroom was huge, yet nowhere to put your bathroom things, not even a shelf. So everything had to go on the floor. 1/2 a roll of toilet paper was in the room for our two night booking (we had to ring room service for more), there were no face washers (we were told paper towel would be bought up if we wished), there was no bin in the bathroom, the toilet seat wasn't fitted properly or was broken, either way it shifted everytime you sat on it, only two coffee satchels for our two night booking (we had to ring for room service for more), the king size bed was two singles pushed together which would've been fine except one bed was at least an inch higher than the other making it very uncomfortable, entering the bar which was recommended at check in we were told there was no beer on tap as there wasn't enough customers yet to turn it on.
We really should have had an inkling about how it was when we first pulled up outside the motel and saw the bacon and juice being delivered from the boot of an old car......
We will not be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed in a large room on the second floor. It was very spacious, even with a King-sized bed in there. The bed was very comfortable and ensured quality sleep every night. It is winter, and the heater was useful to keep the room warm and cosy. Extra blankets and pillows were available. A safe in the box kept my documents securely. Complimentary tea, coffee and biscuits were provided daily. The bathroom was modern; hair dryer, toiletries and bathrobes were available.

Breakfast starts at 6.00 a.m. daily and hot food is served at 7.00 a.m. The menu, however, is the same daily - bread, hash brown, scrambled egg, fried egg, hard-boiled egg, pancakes, a selection of cereal, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There was butter, honey, strawberry jam and vegemite for the toasts.

There is wifi access at AUD$1.00 for 15 minutes or AUD$20.00 for a whole day.

The location on King Street is superb as it is a short walk to the CBD and also the Southern Cross Station, where one can basically take a train to anywhere one likes. It's a short walk to Victoria Market, and one can easily catch a free City Circle Tram just down the road from the hotel.

The staff are friendly and that's a bonus. I enjoyed my say tremendously!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

After a long international flight, I was looking forward to some decent r&r before attending some conferences. Sadly this did not happen as my room was noisy and the service was terrible.

I was shocked to find that the receptionist was also the bar tender, cook and cleaner. Asking for a drink and meal was a mission as the poor girl had to juggle between checking in other guests, pouring my beverage and running to the kitchen to cook my meal. It is no wonder the staff are unfriendly and exhausted.

Not worth the the price. Closeness to the train station is about the only thing it has going for it....

Room Tip: no room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sophia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sophia

Address: 277 King Street | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 8001, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sophia 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophia Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sophia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.