We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Melbourne Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Melbourne Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up to 50% Off!
Ranked #23 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I was hoping for a seamless stay at this brand new hotel and I was slightly doubtful having read the first two reviews. We were welcomed warmly and allocated a lovely corner room on the 8th floor. The rooms are very well designed and very comfortable. The porter gave us a comprehensive introduction to the room pointing out light switches etc. The TV was huge a easy to use and the sound system very handy for charging iPhones etc. Breakfast was delicious. The kitchen was busy especially on Sunday morning but it was all hands on deck from management to the regular restaurant staff and you would have had to be very picky to find anything to complain about ( although I did hear someone overly complain that the butter had run out ! ) Everything was replaced in a timely manner I thought and the quality of the food was excellent and delicious.
The interior design of the hotel is fresh, classy and contemporary with a close eye having been given to detail.
All staff we encountered we polite, enthusiastic and pleasant. We didn't use the spa pool or gym, we will next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMH27LittleCollinsSt, Sheraton Melbourne Hotel at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Maust,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are so pleased to hear that your stay was warm, welcoming and restful.
Thank you for the compliments on our culinary offerings, our talented chefs were most pleased to hear of your great experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Melbourne Hotel soon and trust that you will enjoy the recreation facilities.
Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    93
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
46
124
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just returned from a weekend escape to Melbourne for the Footy. Decided to stay at the new Sheraton which has only just opened at the Paris end of Little Collins Street. Friday night drinks on the Roof Terrace Bar were very relaxing, a chilled atmosphere with great service. They may need to do something about a wind break though ! Dinner in the restaurant was just beautiful. Entrée of seared scallops which were caramelised to perfection. Main of Chateaubriand - delightful melt in the mouth beef. Breakfast buffet was very extensive and the hot selections were very fresh and constantly being replenished rather than sitting there getting cold. After some shopping we decided to try room service - best we've ever had in a hotel . Our room was really well appointed and very quiet, looking out towards the MCG. On the Saturday we were upgraded to an Executive Terrace Suite which was truly beautiful. Huge bedroom, large lounge area, balcony, Bathroom with double vanity and double shower plus deep bath. An additional powder room off the lounge area was a welcome addition. The suite was on the corner and took advantage of the wonderful views across Parliament, towards the north and looking back over the city. Highly, Highly recommended. Congratulations to all concerned, especially the lovely welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Corner executive suite was sensational. Deluxe rooms also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMH27LittleCollinsSt, Sheraton Melbourne Hotel at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Leoni F,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Your compliments to our chefs at our signature restaurant Little Collins St Kitchen was passed on with pleasure.
We trust that you enjoyed Melbourne, our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back whether it be for footy or business.
Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

There's nothing like the freshness of a new five star hotel. The Sheraton Melbourne
contains nice facilities and friendly attentive staff. Not being a seemingly large hotel there was a sense of welcomed intimacy. Check in was efficient and our luggage arrived very swiftly in our room which was well appointed. Pool area was lovely and relaxing and the cafe restaurant had a fresh vibrant setting. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMH27LittleCollinsSt, Sheraton Melbourne Hotel at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear PettAustralia,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We’re happy to hear of your pleasant experience. Your compliments to our efficient concierge and front desk is appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Sheraton Melbourne Hotel soon.
Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melborne
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The rooms are nice and spacious. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Was disappointed with the steak in the restaurant. Paper thin and tough. All extras on the plate are really optional extra. When you order steak you get steak - only.
TV system was good and easy to operate. Love the HD quality on the sports channels and a good selection of movies too.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMH27LittleCollinsSt, Sheraton Melbourne Hotel at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Gone2often,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are happy to hear of your pleasant accommodation experience and your feedback about our staff.

With regards to your advice on the steak dish, our chefs have acknowledged this and as part of our continued service quality this will be looked into.

We look forward to your next stay.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Clearly this hotel is not ready for paying guests. I checked in earlier today to find that the TV in my room was not working - inexcusable for a property which has supposedly been tested extensively before paying guests come through the door. Supposedly the engineers are on site looking in to it - maybe it will work for the lucky guests who arrive tomorrow ...or next week?

My room service order was simple - a Chicken Caesar Salad. Who would have thought it could be so difficult? After 30+ minutes I am presented with saddest excuse for a Caesar salad that I have ever seen - (minus the chicken which obviously just got forgotten along the way).

Oh - and they charge you $8 'tray service' for the delivery of room service.

Not good enough. I won't be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a working TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMH27LittleCollinsSt, Sheraton Melbourne Hotel at Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Black,

Thank you for connecting with Sheraton Melbourne Hotel regarding your stay on 31st March, the opening night of the hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to review and improve our service and facilities.

Please allow us to once again apologize for the disappointment you experienced with regards to the television system temporarily being unavailable. Indeed this was an unforeseen technical glitch and we are glad that this was resolved for you on the night. Certainly the in room dining experience was disappointing and this has been addressed via our ongoing quality assurance program.

We would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sheraton Melbourne Hotel at your convenience in order to make up for the experience you had on your recent stay.

Warm Regards,
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Melbourne Hotel

Address: 27 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Melbourne Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to the Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, where you’ll find everything you need for a memorable business trip or leisure stay. Our neighbourhood has it all. We’re located at the Paris end of the Central Business District, offering easy access to dynamic shopping, nightlife, and sporting venues, including the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Melbourne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.