We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Centre Budget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added City Centre Budget Hotel to your Saves list
City Centre Budget Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Husband and I stayed overnight in a double ensuite room. Room was moe than adequate. Very clean.
As the room was located on the lane way above a bar/restaurant, you got woken up several times whilst they emptied the bottles into the recycling bin.
Cheap and convenient for short stays. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Recommend the ensuite room, but request a quiet one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    61
    39
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
39
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We only had a short stay at the hotel, but it was by the far the best place we've stayed on our trip, okay the rooms are slightly on the small side and you don't have an en suite, but the toilets and showers are only down the corridor and on every visit were extremely clean, the rooms are also very clean and beds are very comfy! Good facilities in the rooms, fridge, kettle tv and a well equipped kitchen on the roof terrace. The staff were very helpful, nothing was to much trouble! Would defiantly recommend to friends and family! Thank you

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Simple rooms with no shower or toilet. The bathrooms outside are nice and clean though. Staff were helpful. There is a handy roof terrace with a kitchen and laundry. I found the room was very dark and I had to have the blind down as it was overlooked by more rooms. Maybe net curtains would be a good idea. Some guests were a bit noisy on my last night which was a shame. Melbourne was OK, just a shame everyone walks around staring at phones. The Mitre Pub was nearby and was nice for a beer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this little hotel. Very clean, comfortable and very economical. I paid $75 for a single room which contained a double bed. Close to trams, eateries and shopping. The Sheraton is directly across the road. I had a street room on the second floor but double glazing kept the road noise out. Other noisy guests returning late were the only real downside. I can recommend if you are staying a short time and just want somewhere to sleep.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This place has potential. Great location right next to a tram stop for the free tourist tram. Up the road is a great, cheap cafe for breakfast and lunch. About twenty minutes walk from Cbd. This place is like a step up from a hostel. TV, fridge and kettle in the bedroom. Needs new carpets,bathrooms, paint. Free wifi is good and two computers. It's up two big flights if stairs which is ok if you have small luggage but an elevator would really help. I also happened to break my foot while walking around the city while staying here. The receptionists were pretty unhelpful and uncaring, never asked about me and wouldn't move me to the first floor when we asked to switch floors. I'm sure someone would have traded rooms if asked to switch with the girl on crutches. Otherwise fine, I would stay here again for the price and location.

Room Tip: Ask for the newest room possible or for a room that's pictured on the website as they don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

If you're looking for affordable budget accommodation in the heart of the city, with lots of cafes nearby and a stone's throw away from the MRT - this is it.

Surrounded by bigger, luxury hotels, this hidden jem is certainly well-placed for travellers to explore the surroundings on foot.

If you're travelling with a group of friends, it's recommended to book the Studio Suite with ensuite bathroom - it's more worth it (economies of scale) and you have privacy when using the bathroom.

Not that there is anything wrong with the shared bathroom. On the contrary, the bathrooms are clean, spacious and during our time there, we hardly see more than 2 souls using the bathroom at the same time as us.

Only downside is that the lane where the hotel is situated tend to see groups of youngsters congregating at night, partying and laughing.

Otherwise, negative feedback? None.

I am planning to stay here again with another group of friends in May 2014.

Book the studio suite early as it is always sold out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a good, cheap hotel in a good location. I had a very clean and well presented room with a comfortable bed for my one night stay. The window was double glazed and I had a good nights sleep. Consider this place if you're venturing into Melbourne for a short stay.

Room Tip: some rooms face onto a small courtyard in the centre of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Address: 22 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Centre Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.