We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Centre Budget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added City Centre Budget Hotel to your Saves list
City Centre Budget Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

... as also "kwm00re" wrote, the City Centre Budget Hotel is rather a hostel, which did not bother us, as we already knew about the shared bathrooms and kitchen before. The hotel has a great location in Little Collins Street - you always stay just around the corner! ;)
Our cosy room in the 2nd floor was a little small, but clean. There was a fan (no AC), TV, fridge, little table, two chairs, mirror, FREE: WiFi, PC, Printer (!!). The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, they sell cold drinks at the reception and if wanted also keep your lugguage after checking out. Due to the absence of an AC (which we were not missing, even in the heat of january) we were leaving our window open 24 hours. Our room was facing the road - for some kind of reason the garbage collection was coming by every night (!) waking us up. As we both do not have problems with sleep (we only have problems with getting up), this did not bother us too much - but maybe try to get a room facing on the inner courtyard of the hotel.
The hotel also offers an awesome rooftop-terrace which was not used by other guests, while we stayed there - it's a perfect place for nice breaky, sundowner or a beer when the moon has risen. Though there are sunshades provided it gets pretty hod during the day. Also you can hang up your laundry (coin washers provided) on the rooftop terrace. The shared kitchen which is located on the roof looked a bit chubby to us, we though only used the microwave once, and usually had our meals outside the hotel.
However we would come here, if we once travel to Melbourne on a budget again!

Room Tip: rooms facing away from Little Collins Street/to inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    60
    38
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
39
31
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel after a long drive along the eastcoast.
The room was big enough for us (twin room) and clean, it has a fridge and a fan. No AC, but it was relativly cold in Melbourne, so it is ok.
The guy at the reception, can't remember his name, helped us on how to get to the campervan dropoff and how to get back to the city. Also the other staff members were very nice and helpful.
It was a bit confusing, that the shared bathroom was unisex, so first I was wandering around looking for a male shower and was afraid some random girl would come in and start screaming, seeing a man in the bathroom. But apparantly this was clear for all.
We just went up to the rooftop terrace for a smoke, it was ok for that. There were groups of teens drinkng up there, so I guess it wouldn't be difficult to find people to hang around with.
All in all, it was good for the money, the location is great (we walked to the skydeck, burke street mall and chinatown) and the staff is friendly. That's all we expect for a hotel this price class.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in a room that we were lead to believe was bigger than it is. The bunk bed was not the safest by any means. The shared bathroom was tidy in the arfternoon but by the evening the sight of someones vomit clogging up the plug hole was just not nice. The nosie level from outside the building was insane and went on untill the wee hours of the morning. On a brighter note the linen on the beds was clean, but no top sheet. Went to see the office staff to check out. note up saying office to open at 7.30am, waitied till 8.00am no one about.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Pros
The rooms are small, but manageable.
The linen is clean
It's quiet and central

Cons
Bathrooms are grungy
Most of the fixtures leak or don't really work
The roof top terrace is run down and is more of just furniture on the roof than anything else.
The kitchen is poorly equipped and difficult to cook anything more complicated than a bowl of soup.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on a road trip to Adelaide to visit family before Christmas. We weren't sure as the opinions seemed to vary so much but we found a nice comfortable hotel - close to Burke St Mall & with different types of food readily available nearby. We - unlike some of the other reviews - liked the rooftop garden & found it a pleasant place to relax after the frenetic pace of the city. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

this hotel is not like the pictures at all. its pretty run down and not worth the money. there are other options in melbourne cbd for the same money which are much higher quality. the roof terrace is not very nice either. there is no "vibe" at all, so definitely don't stay here if you want to meet people.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

i liked the privacy and quietness of this place. a great position close to shops and food and the rooms were awesome. best bed i have slept on in a hotel to date. roof top sitting area was a nice surprise! the shared bathrooms were a bit messy at the end of the night (cleaners came in the mornings) but that was expected. free tram line across the road and very close to the public gardens. stayed here for two nights (thurs,fri,sat) in a family room with 3 others. even they commented on how well kept the place was! ive stayed in $100 a night 3 and 4 star hotels that had worse service and werent as clean!! kudos!! highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Address: 22 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Centre Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.