We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Centre Budget Hotel

Save Saved
You added City Centre Budget Hotel to your Saves list
City Centre Budget Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Centre Budget Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highly recommended..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

It was quite a good experience staying at City Centre Budget because of its excellent location off little collins street.. However, there was no prominent signage at its entrance and in fact, the 2 of us had a hard time finding it... But once we went to our room, it was so clean, nicely done up with a large mirror beside our bed which was good for my girlfriend who did her make up everyday infront of it...
Communal bathrooms were fine, there was internet access which was fantastic.. The trams and buses were 2 minutes away.. There were lots of see and eat becos it was my girlfriend's and my own first time in Melbourne. You have to try the sushi burger and watch a show at the theatre...
Overall, it was a pleasant stay and it was very affordable for accomodation so close to the city centre (how apt) and it was not noisy, dodgy or dirty. A fantastic budget hotel that I would recommend any tourists who visits Melbourne for the first time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    59
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
10
38
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights, my first nights in Australia. From the outside it doesn't look much, but after you have carried your bags up the stairs to reception (no lift) it has a cosy atmosphere.
The room was big enough for a double bed, which was extremely comfortable giving me one of the best nights sleep I have ever had! Also squeezed into the room were 2 chairs and a small table a bedside lamp (at the foot of the bed) and a fridge and TV. Overall, a cramped, yet comfortable room. Don't expect to do any moving about! There was plenty of toilets and showers as well as two wet rooms on my floor with shower sink and toilet in one. The rooms and toilets were very clean and the inside of the hotel was clearly well looked after. The staff seemed friendly enough.
However the back stairs that lead to the roof terrace and kitchen were very dirty, and the kitchen smelt very weird. Needless to say I didn't do any cooking. Luckily there are some cafes across the street which did reasonably priced meals. The atmosphere wasn't great, didn't meet anyone there as it was winter and no one was using the outside social space while I was there.
The location couldn't be better. Only a few hundred metres to the tram and within walking distance of many attractions.
So overall, great if you want a base in the centre of the city with comfortable, reasonably priced rooms, try somewhere else if you are looking for more of a social scene.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

City Centre Budget Hotel is a great place to stay if you are on a budget. The location is fantastic close to shops, tram and a short walk to the MCG arena and the Vistors Centre.
My boyfriend and I shared a double room, which was very simple with a fridge and kettle. Most importantly the room was spotless. We had opted for a shared bathroom, which was clean too and had a good shower.
The hotel offers a kitchen on a roof terrace housing a microwave, hot plate, laundry facilities and cutlery. Rather cold but imagine it's nice in the summer!
Clive and Mike (think that's their names) were so helpful. Pointing out all the places that might interest us.
The only negative were the walls were quite thin. This didn't bother me too much as it wasn't overly noisy and the beds were very comfy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I stayed in this little hotel for around 3 weeks in Feb/March 2011 and the experience i had here was fantastic. Excellent value for money when compared to the local hostels (a couple of which i also stayed at for a day or so at the beginning of my trip). Quiet, relaxing, friendly and with very helpful staff, i really couldn't fault it at all. It even had a decent sized fridge in the rooms so a trip to the excellent victoria market (~15 mins easy walk) could sustain you for days! Showers and toilets were shared but for the price that is perhaps to be expected. The roof garden was an enjoyable place to read but the hotel is also within 5 mins walk from the gardens by the parliament building, so that is a double bonus if you're out for a touch of peace and quiet.

Highly recommended for the more mature traveller who does not wish for the bustle of a hostel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in February and are absolutely impressed with the politeness of the reception, their friendly manner and wish to do all their best that you enjoy staying there. Internet was also very good, high speed and easy access system. We highly recommend it for those who keeps their budget low and still wants something nice right in the city centre!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

My friends and I booked a room here last weekend, as we were attending a 21st and had decided to stay locally.
The man on the phone knew nothing about taking bookings, as he accepted our reservation without asking for a name OR contact number, which we supplied him anyway. We repeated many times what we were after, a room for four, and the reservation was made. We arrived at the hotel only to have the night managers refuse us the room that they had promised us, because of their own miscommunication. A discussion ensued where we tried to get them to rectify their mistake and provide us with lodgings, as agreed, we would even pay cash in advance, but they called the police on us. We asked to speak to the actual manager, but he refused saying we should come back in the morning to speak to him. We were left with no alternative but to troll the streets looking for other accommodation, which at 3am in the morning is no easy feat.
Oh and I'll also mention... While we were waiting for the police to arrive, a patron of the "hotel" came down to tell the managers that his room hadn't been cleaned from the previous occupants, whereby the manager said "Oh, I meant to do that" and disappeared upstairs.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

This hotel delivers exactly what you expect, and they do it well.

Clean shared bathrooms, ample hot water, a kettle in your room - everything was fantastic. The beds were very comfy.

The city is a noisy place to be, and as a result of that I kept getting woken up by noisy happenings on the street - road works and garbage trucks and so forth. But I think that's par for the course in a big city, and have certainly experienced that in private residences there too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Centre Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Budget Hotel

Address: 22 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Centre Budget Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your City Centre Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Centre Budget Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Centre Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.