We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, wow, WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Docklands to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-4 Marmion Place | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

WOW was our reaction as we walked down the tastefully decorated hallway and found our selves facing amazing views of Melbourne out of windows spanning from the floor to the ceiling which wrapped around half of the apartment.

I travelled with six other adults (family and friends), we stayed in a three bedroom apartment. The main bedroom was separate from the other rooms and had two large built in wardrobes leading into a massive ensuite (it was larger than the main bathroom!); the main bedroom also had access to a small balcony. The second bedroom had a double and the third twin rooms (which we had to request), they both had built in's and led out onto another small balcony. All bedrooms were tastefully decorated and had views of the harbour.

The apartment had all quality inclusions i.e. marble fittings, paintings and stylish and modern fittings aswell as ducted airconditioning which was great in the heat! There also was a fully equipped kitchen. A separate laundry was also handy and had a door leading to another toilet! (3 toilets in the apartment which is great when travelling in a large group/when the showers are occupied).

Although the apartment was clean, especially the carpet and I can not say anything was dirty, some little things were missed, not a big deal but something I noticed.

The absolute best part was the view, it was amazing. I could have sat there for quite a while enjoying the views of the city and harbour! It was even more spectacular by night! I will upload pictures, but the photos not do it justice! We witnessed a kayak race and a wedding from above!

The price was also very decent considering the quality and views.

There was free internet access in the lobby, a shopping centre (outlet stores) nearby, restaurants lined the docks below. There also was a swimming pool which also had some nice views and a gym.

The apartment was a building next to the reception, but I think it's because parts of the building is residential. Security was good in the apartment also.

It would have been nice if the apartments were right in the centre of the city for convenience, but then I guess we wouldn't of had the views. A tram stop was close by and the free city circle tram also passed that way.

I absolutely loved this hotel, especially the views! Check out the pictures. We had seond thoughts after reading about the bed bug review... we had booked before reading it but decided to keep our reservation and were glad we did!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    179
    89
    29
    15
See reviews for
148
79
10
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peakhurst NSW
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Took the family for a short break during the Christmas School holidays to Melbourne and booked 3 Nights in a 2 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom, Harbour View apartment at Grand Mercure Docklands. Upon arrival checkin was reasonably efficient - there was only one person on the desk with another family in front of us checking in also. Wasn't a long wait but there should have been more staff available.
We were given an apartment on the 14th floor of their "Conder" building (there are multiple high rise apartment buildings making up the Grand Mercure Docklands Apartment complex). This was a bit of a walk from reception but as we had only hand luggage it wasn't too much trouble. NB: If you had suitcases or a lot of luggage then beware as there are no porters to help you but we knew this from reading reviews on Tripadvisor!.
The apartment was excellent - 2 large bedrooms with 2 large bathrooms, flatscreen TV in both the Lounge and main bedroom, comfy furniture and all the modern appliances you need in the kitchen. But the best thing of all was of course the view over the Docklands Victoria Harbour. Fantastic - and at night it was better still as all the lights came on from the boats in the harbour and the adjacent highrise buildings. Could have stared at this for hours.
Each building in the apartment complex also has a pool (we used this once - quite trendy) and a gym which we didn't use but did take a look at and they seemed to have all the latest and greatest gear).
The apartments location is also fantastic - above the New Quay complex housing many Restaurants, Bars and Cafe's and also close by the Harbour City shopping complex where many factory outlet stores have set up their home. Also the new Costco warehouse is close by.
The free city circle tram is a short walk away as are lines for most of the major tram and bus routes in to the CBD.
If you are in to AFL football - Ethiad Stadium a.k.a Colonial Stadium a.k.a Telstra Dome is close by too if you are in melbourne during the footy season!.
We all can't wait to go back to Melbourne and we will definitely stay at Grand Mercure Apartments in Docklands when we do.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

I don't often do this but as someone who has previously worked in the travel industry and after reading a review on this property called "Bed Bug Central" I just had to respond. I (together with family and friends) have stayed at these apartments several times over the last 3 years and we cannot say enough about how wonderful the apartments are, and how fantastic we have always found the staff and management to be, they are courteous and always obliging. We have stayed in different apartments each time (depending on how many people we travelled with), 1 bedroom, 2 bedrooms, 3 bedrooms, and they have all been lovely, spacious and very clean. Anyone who travels frequently knows that bed bugs are a very unfortunate pest that have absolutely nothing to do with the cleanliness of the apartments, they are transported by people's luggage, particularly luggage coming into Australia from OS where the problem is epidemic at present. It's awful that this happened to this traveller but it should not be suggested that this is in anyway caused by the Managers of the apartments, or the cleaners, there is nothing that they can do to protect themselves from people bringing these bugs in, all they can do is quickly and professionally deal with the problem when it occurs.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

This place is poorly managed. They are in a great location which is why we booked them in the first place. We were moved in and out of our apartment suite 4 times in 4 weeks. They had bed bugs and both my 7 year old daughter and I had to be treated in emergency for massive bites all of our bodies including face. I have developed a sever allergy as a result. The electricity was cutoff in the apartment because the owner lives in Malaysia and had not paid his bill. The internet speed dropped to a dial up level 2 weeks after our stay and no matter how many times we asked, nothing was done. The master bath room had a horrible smell we had to buy our own toilette bleach to keep the odor under control. Do not be fooled by the professional web site and Mercure name as the apartments are managed by Mercure group but individually owned. So all the blame gets passed on to the owners!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAGM1, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Thank you for your feedback, we always appreciate receiving guest comments of any nature and where they reflect your misgivings we strive to provide an honest response that answers your concerns.

Firstly we offer our sincere apologies for the experience you encountered, we genuinely regret that we fell short of meeting your expectations. Our professional staff are there to go beyond your aspirations in delivering exceptional service and I am confident they did so even in light of the misfortune you suffered.

The presence of bed bugs in any establishment is a result of the migration of the pest from the outside, often brought in on luggage, not a result of the condition of the interior, which I hope you can agree at Docklands Apartments Grand Mercure is of an exceptional standard.

In situations such as this Mercure Docklands has total quality management systems in place to ensure guests welfare are of the highest concern. The property is managed in accordance with the wishes of the private residents who own the apartments and we can assure you no expense is spared to ensure the executive class apartments that made up your residence are of a superb standard, both inside and out.

The nature of the serviced apartment industry today revolves around cooperating with private owners to utilize their properties for your enjoyment. In exceptional circumstances this agreement fell short of expectations and while it was remedied swiftly we were left in the regrettable situation of having to relocate you. Our professional staff did so in a way that limited your inconvenience and of course we compensated you for your troubles.

The problems you encountered with your internet connection are a result of the data limit being exceeded. Occasionally data limits set for individual guests are exceeded, these are in place to ensure an equitable service for all of our guests and where individual demand is excessive their connection speed will be reduced to protect the hotel’s provision of services to other apartments.

We have been afforded a place amongst the Mercure family and the trusted Accor brand not just because our facilities deserve that accreditation but also because our professional staff are of the highest caliber, whether meeting our established levels of service or having the judgment to recognize and remedy shortcomings.

We have taken your experience to reappraise and enhance our approach to delivering exceptional customer service and as with all of our guests, we will continue to afford you a warm welcome if you choose to stay at Docklands Apartments Grand Mercure in the future.


Kind regards,

Graeme Lys
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

The hotel is basically a collection of apartments at the Docklands area. Initially we were given an apartment on the first floor which was small and did not have airconditioning in one of the rooms.
The apartment was later changed to one on a higher floor which was much better.
The reception area is quite small. Services are limited. However, the area has some great restaurants along the docks.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of service
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

Stayed at the 'harbour view' room within the Grand Mercure complex at Docklands in November 2009.Holidaying with family with young children so asked for a 3 bedroom apartment.. I wasn't really expecting much as it was only a place to stay for the 3 days we were spending in Melbourne... The room was fantastic, 3 well sized bedrooms with the main having an ensuite with spa and shower all with a walk in robe.

The views were equally fantastic, with a large wrap around balcony that was on level 21 of the building, wasn't expecting this much luxury that went with the room!! The staff were helpful and helped out when there were problems with car parking. I don't have anything negative to say about the Grand Mercure, was a pleasurable stay.

Totally recommend for families with children - there are plenty of restaurants down on the Docklands strip to choose from but be careful as the ones we tried were pricey with food that didn't quite match the pricetag..

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

My mother and 7 of her friends booked in with this hotel and requested adjoining rooms. This was approved a few weeks or so ago, and last week they rang up to confirm their booking – and the fact that the rooms would be joined was also confirmed.
Upon arriving in Melbourne today they have been told that they will not be getting adjoined rooms?
What kind of quality system is there present here? What would have happened if it were a family staying in these 2 rooms, with the kids in one booked room a whole level below or above the parents – or one of the rooms being for someone with a disability and then a carer in the adjoined room?
My mother and her friends have not formally complained as they don’t want to put a dampner or negative influence on their holiday – but when she told me I was completely shocked. I had previously believed that the Grand Mecure was a trusted and quality assured company – and I would never have recommended that they book with you if I had known that their request would be completely ignored. I am sure that they would have requested at least rooms on the same level had they known that the hotel would not be able to provide them with adjoining rooms, and if a same level was not available they definitely would have gone to a completely different hotel – but seeing now that they have paid for their booking, they have to stay in different rooms on completely different floors!? Very bad customer service.
I hope that someone in management gets to read this – as I will be doing my best to spread the word to fellow friends, colleagues and acquaintances that ‘you may not get what you are promised at grand Mecure Docklands’.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Docklands

Address: 2-4 Marmion Place | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Grand Mercure Apartments Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.