We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Docklands to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-4 Marmion Place | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Apartment was very clean and tidy. It did say marina views however it is tucked away in a little cove so you were not at the front, which we expected. Well equipped. Full foxtrot which was unexpected. Needed a good dusting though when we arrived. Fridge was very old but worked at least. Car parking was a little disorganised as our car park was taken so they then offered three other alternatives but just seemed a little disorganised.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    180
    90
    29
    15
See reviews for
148
79
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My family and I stayed in the Grand Mercure over the Christmas/New Years period, and it was very good. We had two separate rooms between us, mine was on the 15th floor with 2 bedrooms and our other relatives were on the 6th with 3. Both rooms were beautifully laid out and very spacious, with great views of the water and the city behind it. And on New Year's we had an absolutely perfect view of the midnight fireworks. We weren't able to see the 9.30 ones but we weren't too worried about it.

The building was close to everything - there was an IGA and a bottle shop just downstairs, the trams were only a two minute walk away (including the free city circle tram) and the Harbourtown shopping complex filled with outlet stores was only a 5 minute walk up the street, as was Etihad Stadium.

There were a few flaws in both rooms, with the washing machines and dryers not being fantastic (but still usable), the showers being hard to get right, and aircon only available in the lounge room. The lifts were also very slow, and rooms were cleaned only once a week (as it was a self-serviced apartment). That being said, none of those things bothered me too much - everything else about the rooms was so nice that I found it hard to complain.

Room Tip: The higher the better - the 15th floor had better views and more spacious rooms than the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I recently booked two nights at the new Sebel Docklands. I booked a 1 bedroom executive apartment, the description of which stated "Harbourside apartments with MARINA VIEWS". After checking in to this tiny apartment, albeit nice and new, I opened the curtains from both the lounge and bedroom to see my "marina views" only to see the back of a dingy building in the street opposite. If I went out onto the balcony and craned my neck left I did get somewhat of a view of the boats. I took photos of my actual view and to reception. Only to be told I didnt pay for the next level up, which actually did have views? Hmmm, I tried over and over again to explain, what part of "MARINA VIEWS" the description written on their website did she not understand. A view is something that when you open your curtains you see, not by hanging your head off the balcony and craning your neck. I ended up only staying the one night. Very disappointing for the price poing. SEBEL, you need to update your website to reflect your rooms and IF they have views or not. I paid good money and I was deceived! Would love to hear back from the Manager, as this false advertising is not good.

Room Tip: You need to call the hotel to check if the stated view really does have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was an establishment we thought carefully about and the one overall plus in its favour (looking at all the Trip Advisor postings) was its location. In Melbourne for the Ashes Series at the MCG, location was of paramount importance and this really delivered - in bucketfuls. Two minutes' walk to the free city circle tram, we thought we would have to catch another tram to the MCG. But no need as another tram went past our apartments right to the MCG. As well, our apartment was well appointed - full kitchen, one separate bedroom and en suite, wonderfully clean with magnificent views over the harbour. New Year's Eve was spectacular viewing from our private balcony to say the least. A multitude of restaurants were at our door step. Reception on our arrival was second to none. The young man who checked us in was so helpful and even wheeled our suitcases (himself) to our unit and we can't speak highly enough of him. Condor building (Apart 1206, 12th floor) would be hard to beat. Should we ever be lucky enough to return to this lovely city, Docklands Grand Mercure Apartments will be our first choice for accommodation. Many thanks for making our holiday such a memorable one.

Room Tip: Apart 1206 - gorgeous sun in the afternoon and wonderful views of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

When we looked at staying at the Grand Mercure Docklands, We thought what a beautiful hotel and didn't mind paying $247 per night, BUT what we saw on their web page was nothing like what we got when we arrived there. 1-The single room was tucked down the end of the building with a great view of a concrete pad outside our window NOT the harbour views we were told we would have. 2- The lounge suite was a 2 seater that came off the ark and was that uncomfortable that I had to roll off it and land on my knees on the floor because it was that low. 3- The rooms were serviced once every seven days. 4- NO toilet rolls were left and we had 2 to last us the 7 days we were there, So we had to buy our own. 5- NOT once did we see any member of the staff except for when we checked in. 6- We were greeted in the foyer of our complex with the worst smell of rubbish that it made use feel sick.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Docklands

Address: 2-4 Marmion Place | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Grand Mercure Apartments Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Mercure Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.