We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient and good location. Staff very helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Docklands

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Docklands to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Aquitania Way, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very convenient and good location. Staff very helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

2 bedroom serviced apartment's ocean view was fantastic ! Convenient location with plenty of restaurants with so much variety. Easy accessibility to Harbour Town Shopping Centre definitely help !
Staff are helpful and friendly. Testament for my staying there for the third time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for returning to Grand Mercure Docklands. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I'm also pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your kind words about our team; it's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with our team.
We look forward welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Docklands on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    203
    95
    32
    15
See reviews for
165
86
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were very happy with our recent stay at the Mercure Docklands. The location is great, only a five minute tram ride to the centre of town. Very spacious and clean. The bedding was excellent and the view are to die for. Thanks we will return again very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Mercure Docklands. I am happy to hear that your recent stay with us was enjoyable.
We look forward welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Docklands on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Studio deluxe rooms are in a building that is only 4 storeys high, surrounded by very high buildings also part of the Grand Mercure Apartments . Only view is of the extensive construction site across the road, with truck noises, talking and construction noise from at least 6.30am. The "balcony" measures no more than 1.8 metres x 1.4 metres. Impossible to open the door to it without placing one of the two chairs on top of the other.
Whilst the rooms are well decorated and well provisioned, and the location in Docklands is good with the free tram nearby, was very disappointed.
Was charged $20 for parking that in fact was only $15 if paid directly at the outdoor unsecured car park they directed me to.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Docklands and for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.
I am disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations with regards to the room allocated to you.
When you are next planning a trip to Melbourne please come via myself and I'll ensure we allocate a quiet room in one of our other towers.
Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward welcoming you back on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a 3-bedroom apartment. The apartments are in a great location, close to Etihad Stadium, Woolshed Pub, James Squire Hotel, Harbourtown Shopping, the city circle tram, and the list goes on. I left with a great feeling about Melbourne. The only downside was that the bedrooms were tiny....... barely enough room to place your suitcase. But since we were really only there to sleep, this was ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive feedback about our location. We look forward welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Docklands on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

On an annual basis,for the past 4 years, my wife and I have travelled to Melbourne. We always stay at the docklands because we love the view, ambience and proximity to the city of Melbourne and all its amenities. The Grand Mecure lived up to its reputation and we had a wonderful stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have been coming and staying with us for the last four years. I'm also happy to know that you love the view, ambience and proximity to the city.
We look forward welcoming you back to Grand Mercure on your next visit to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinchilla, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I found everything excellent from the receptionists to the apartment. I would have no hesitation staying here again. Thank-you for a job well done. The apartments were in excellent condition with great amenities. The staff at reception were well presented and extremely helpful throughout my staff and also afterwards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at Grand Mercure Docklands. I am happy to hear that your recent stay with us was enjoyable and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our staff and your accommodation overall. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team. We look forward welcoming you back to Grand Mercure Docklands on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the booking stage the staff are excellent , they recommend a Limo service to pick up from the Airport, I suggest you take it. The room was very good with full kitchen, it is close to the Docks, and a free tram just outside the front door. We would stay here again. Bed was comfortable, and the unit had very good heating, A/C in lounge and bedroom, the weather was very cold when we where there.but we where nice and warm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick S, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Mercure Docklands. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I'm glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. It's always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, which I will be sure to share with our team. We look forward welcoming you back on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Docklands

Address: 18 Aquitania Way, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Grand Mercure Apartments Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.