We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located near the convention centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Docklands

Save Saved
You added Grand Mercure Docklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2-4 Marmion Place | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Conveniently located near the convention centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

My friend & I stayed here whilst in Melbourne for a hair & beauty expo. It's a quick 5 min walk to the convention centre as well as only being 10 min to southern cross station. There's some beautiful restaurants & bars nearby as well as crown casino being practically on the doorstep. The staff were wonderful & concierge was brilliant. I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    176
    87
    29
    15
See reviews for
146
78
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed New Years Eve for 3 nights in a 3 bedroom VIP apartment with wonderful views. The Apartment was wonderful, comfortable and spacious. The view of the fireworks were simply amazing, we couldnt have wished for anything better. The Restaraunts were wonderful and we enjoyed shopping at Harbour Town. Unfortunately the ferry services does not run from Docklands but I believe this will be rectified this year which would be great as we had to go to Southbank to catch a ferry to Williamstown. Noise was a problem from an adjoining apartment but this was to be expected being new years eve. However any excessive noise can be reported to reception. Unfortunately in our case it took a few calls to have it addressed, due to being misinformed. Having said that, we would definately consider staying again, especially for a special occasion such as New Years Eve. Recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus D, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing some great feedback on your recent stay here with us.

I am pleased to see that you took advantage of the excellent location we are in to see in the New Year here at the Docklands Apartments Grand Mercure.

It was although unfortunate that the noise from the adjacent residential apartment disrupted your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime this year.

Kind Regards

Angus Dunbar

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here in early December for family reunion and 50th Wedding Anniversary. Our apartment was a three bedroom on the end of the 2nd Tower overlooking the construction, workmen and the cranes. We did have some harbour view which was lovely to relax and admire once the construction noise was finished for the night, which seemed to go on forever. My sister-in-law had a two bedroom apartment more central to the tower and on a lower floor than ours. My husband's aunt and her family also had a more central two bedroom apartment on a lower level than us. Their view was more pleasant and with less noisee than us (at least they did not look out at the view in the morning to find workmen in your face!)
My sister-in-law checked in mid morning as her flight to Melbourne was hours before us. We had a longer distance to travel and hence our flight did not arrive until 5pm. Our experience with reception staff was quite pleasant, but my sister-in-law got the staff member that is terrorising everyone with her warnings about being evicted for noise. She even went so far as to say that security cameras will be watching us. This took away the excitement of the occasion and our first trip to Melbourne for 20 years. As we were a large family group it spoiled our weekend as we were too afraid to meet in each others apartments for fear of the consequences. The ages in our group ranged from responsible adults aged mid 70's to 50's and 40's with a couple of teenage well behaved daughters under 18 so no alcohol for them.
As the price for the three bedroom apartment cost $1,070 for two nights stay, I would probably not return to this apartment group.
And get rid of the staff member who just ruins your Melbourne experience!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus D, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Just-Julie-Cairns,

Thanks for taking the time to provide some constructive feedback from your families recent visit here with us at the Docklands Apartments Grand Mercure.

It is unfortunate that your sister in laws guest service experience was not as pleasant as your own at our reception desk as we aim to offer a consistent quality experince across the board here and I will look into your comments further relating to this.

Docklands is a developing area of Melbourne so it is difficult to avoid some type of construction in the area when people are visiting.

If you do decide to return again with your family please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Angus Dunbar

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Location is outstanding. Bedding (mattress & pillows) were very poor quality. Kitchen utensils were sparse (no flipper) and knives useless (blunt). Also a broken spring in the two seater lounge.
Biggest issue was the odour that permeated the building for four of the days we stayed from the garbage in the basement and the garbage shute. The lifts, lift lobbies were worst with the lobby on the car park floor enough to make one of my family members physically gag on a number of occasions.
I mentioned it to the reception people and all they said was that they would mention it to the owners.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus D, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear trigger1953,

Thank you for your constructive feedback regarding your stay here with us at the Docklands Apartments Grand Mercure.

It is certainly unfortunate that you felt the accommodation did not match the location you were staying in.

I have also forwarded on your comments to the building manager regarding the smells, so the situation can be investigated further and will discuss your other comments regarding the inventory of the apartment with the team here so this can be rectified.

Kind Regards

Angus Dunbar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Mercure Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Docklands

Address: 2-4 Marmion Place | Docklands, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Grand Mercure Apartments Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Mercure Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.