We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected a bit more for the price tag. But nice all the same.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Mercure Docklands

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Mercure Docklands to your Saves list
Grand Mercure Docklands
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Aquitania Way, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia (Docklands)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expected a bit more for the price tag. But nice all the same.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We booked a 3 Bedroom, 2 Bathroom apartment with Harbour Views for the Melbourne Cup.
I have previously booked my hubby and his mates a similar apartment and i am told that their one was far superior to one we ended up with.

Still! It had nice decor', it was very clean and the beds were lovely and comfortable. Shops and Restaurants were everywhere.

My only gripe.. and i guess it wouldn't have bothered me except the apartments were so expensive. The airconditiong, once turned on sounded like a truck reving on the balcony. A friend was sitting on the balcony enjoying the view when i turned it on.. nearly sent him over the edge. :) The volume inside was also quite loud.

The room sizes were a little on the small side. The 3rd Bedroom - luckily, only had one person in it. Would have been squishy with two.

The security lift is a great idea. But with only two keys between five people there were a few times i had to duck downstairs in my pj's just to let others in.

Overall the staff were very nice. We did get a phone call (very pleasant) to make sure we were leaving right on 10am though. Another couple in the lift checking out of an Accor apartment said that reception told them they would be charged late fees if they didn't hussle and vacate quickly.

I would stay here again. But next time i'll make sure to check which building and apartment i'll be getting first.

Room Tip: Check the building you'll be assigned too. Some have better views than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear JJames13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments about our product and our location and amenities. We take note regarding your comments about the distance between reception and the rooms. We do have a unique set up and as you are aware the Docklands Precinct is immense with many buildings and streets and it is spread over a vast area. Docklands just keeps on growing! We have passed your comments onto our maintenance team in relation to the shower pressure and this will be checked of course. In relation to parking charges, we have ensured that the charge is less than what you pay at public car parks in the greater CBD area. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we hope you will return again to experience our product.

Many thanks
Michael Boyd
Operations Manager
Docklands Apartments Grand Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    208
    99
    35
    15
See reviews for
169
92
12
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Views from the apartment are fantastic, specially at night time overlooking the marina which is actually quite small and the well lit bridge in the background.The pluses are; a selection of good restaurants, closeness to the Etihad stadium and a host of other amenities, not forgetting the excellent tram links.
The luxury well appointed two bedroom apartment that we stayed however has a few downsides; the most irritating for us was to collect and drop off the keys from reception some distance away. Transporting luggage from the car park to the room is truly gruesome. The shower temperature was quite low. An extra charge of 1.5% for using the credit card and $15 charge for car parking in an expensive apartment is really pushing it! Unless you have to be in the neighbourhood, the views alone dosen't justify the price tag!

Room Tip: Travel light, the distance from the car park to the apartment and the number of doors will tire you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael B, Manager at Grand Mercure Docklands, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear BipinBolton,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your positive comments about our product and our location and amenities. We take note regarding your comments about the distance between reception and the rooms. We do have a unique set up and as you are aware the Docklands Precinct is immense with many buildings and streets and it is spread over a vast area. Docklands just keeps on growing! We have passed your comments onto our maintenance team in relation to the shower pressure and this will be checked of course. In relation to parking charges, we have ensured that the charge is less than what you pay at public car parks in the greater CBD area. Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and we hope you will return again to experience our product.

Many thanks
Michael Boyd
Operations Manager
Docklands Apartments Grand Mercure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

The 3 bed apartment was very spacious and had everything that you need. The location was fantastic with lots of fabulous restaurants right on the door step so you didnt have far to go. Its close proximity to the central city area was great transport right on your doorstep or easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Looking forward to going back and would recommend to everyone, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Thanks...the location was excellent! Close to shopping, great resturants and easy access to transport. It was a quiet location, comfortable accomodation and all that we needed for a fantastic weekend get-away to celebrerate the coming of age!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Bellarine, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

everything was great except for computer connection on my laptop via Telstra - it wouldnt work but worked fine travelling home next day.
I wondered if you were blocking private connections to force use of hotel paid connection .
If so not happy as it stuffed the work i had to do.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We read all the reviews on here and took note of all the complaints. Parking - it's clearly there on the website, $15 a night, that's excellent value, especially as it's secure parking and the bonus factor for me was that our parking spot was right at the end, just out the exit stair near our apartment.

Locating the place and check-in. On the website, they tell you where to go if you're driving and even advise there are 15 min parking spots on Caravel Lane. So having taken heed of the advice, we parked there, walked the 100m down St Mangos Lane to check in.

Check in was a breeze and the young bloke who checked us in even took time to explain that we'd have to drive a certain route to get into the car-park, as it's a left turn only into Palmyra Way, which is where the car-park entry for the Conder Building is. The Conder is also a secure building with swipe card access required to enter the building and then to get up to any level. We were in Apartment 103, which is probably the farthest away from the lifts, but that just means there's nobody walking past your door, making noise. The Conder is located at the Harbour Esplanade end of the whole Grand Mercure Apartments complex, and although that puts you closer to the city, the apartments glazing really cuts the noise, besides, there’s more cyclists than cars around there. It also means you’re a 10 minute walk from Squires Brewhouse and any of the noisy bodies that may roll out of there.

So, Apartment 103, Obviously on level 1, views straight out onto the harbour and over to Central Pier, Etihad Stadium and the Channel 7 Sports Broadcast Centre. A comfortable little apartment for two, but with a separate little room containing a sofa bed. The main bedroom had an en-suite entry to the bathroom, and a door the other side of the bathroom meant that if you’re still asleep, your partner doesn’t have to go through the bedroom to access the bathroom.

Ceiling to floor blockout blinds in the bedroom don’t keep out as much light as I’d like, but then I like a pitch black room for sleeping. Although the room faced straight onto the harbour so the morning sun was only coming from the left and not straight in. The living space also had ceiling to floor windows to provide an unobscured view, and blinds to keep out the UV in the afternoon.
.
Balcony access from either the bedroom or lounge space also means you or your partner needn’t wake wake the other when going out to the balcony for a morning coffee.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

These apartments are in a wonderful location. With restaurants right underneath you, you don't need to think about getting anywhere else at night, just head down the lift and the choices are many and varied. Just a tram ride away from Melbourne's CBD with everything at your fingertips. Fantastic experience and would use these apartments again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#49 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
Travelodge Docklands
#48 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Apartments at Docklands
Apartments at Docklands
#19 of 104 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Docklands

Address: 18 Aquitania Way, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#77 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Docklands 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The waterfront Grand Mercure Apartments Docklands are located at NewQuay with the tram by its door and within walking distance of Melbourne's central business district, Etihad Stadium and factory shopping outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Docklands Hotel Melbourne
Mercure Hotel Melbourne
Grand Accor Docklands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Mercure Docklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.