We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and uncomfortable” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Residence Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Lygon Street Carlton North, Melbourne, Victoria 3054, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dated and uncomfortable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Very average accomodation. Only redeeming feature was the updated bathroom which was clean and modern. Bed was terrible and hard, I never have a problem sleeping but woke up constantly during my stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful but the room is ugly and uninviting. Luckily the location on Lygon street is a short stroll to cafes, which is just as well because you wouldn't want to stay in the room too long!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    11
    15
    11
See reviews for
17
4
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bairnsdale
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed for one night
... the good - location and free parking. Friendly staff on check in. good maps and local information in the rooms. Room was well priced ($139) and could sleep 4.
... the bad - an unlocked courtyard door which I only discovered when settling to bed after being out for a while. Unflushed toilet paper upon my arrival and no UHT milk in fridge, although teabags etc provided.
... the ugly - a long, black hair resting in between the sheets when I turned the covers back. Carpet is worn and well past it's prime.

Would I stay again ... probably not as there's lots of other accommodation options close by

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Certainly in need of a upgrade paint peeling, poor quality fittings ,noises with trams not value for money,very untidy outside with rubbish piling up in the second car park,what a pity we already had pre paid or else we would have moved on to some nicer places that we have used before at a cheaper price never again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place if you love big black rats. On arrival we swept the apartment and finished with a pile of dust and fluff. Corridors are musty and filthy. Quilt had stains on it and a sheet for a cover. One lampshade fell apart when we tried to switch on and both covered in dust. Kitchen appliances are connected to a powerboard which sparks and shorts out when two or more appliances are in use. Service is vague. Balcony is bare concrete and dirty. Paint peeling in places. Dirty ceiling in bathroom.
Could be a nice place to stay if presentation, cleanliness and service was vastly improved but once will be enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for 12 nights as nowhere else available, breakfast embarrassing- 2 slices of cheap white bread, 2 boxes of cereal, tiny carton of milk, instant coffee for 4 adults and a toddler. We were in a refurbed apartment, it was so dark with door frames half glossed and a coffee table that's dangerous for children. The 'cot' provided is a travel cot with no proper mattress and an old sheet folded up for bed linen. When I advised the owner that children shouldn't sleep in cots without a proper mattress for longer than 2 nights she just brushed me off saying, no on else has asked and that's just what we do. The air conditioning didn't work for the first week and is only in the main living area, not in the bedrooms so was stinking hot to sleep. On arrival, no washing machine as described and took a couple of days harassing for one to arrive. All other recent comments about bed linen and outside agree with. The only positive is the location is right by a tram stop and you can walk to everywhere if you want.
Definitely would not recommend, especially if you have children. What a waste of $195 per night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Please, owners/managers of this property; take note of these reviews! I was hoping that the previous reviews were wrong as a friend had already booked us in when I read the bad reviews. The entire place is so shabby and worn. The breakfast was embarrassing..instant powdered coffee, white bread wrapped in individual servings with plastic wrap, no juice, no fruit. Public areas looked like the former housing commission that it probably was. All fixtures appeared to be at least 20 years old and were cheap fittings to begin with. Toiletries smelled bad and the wafer-sized soap was disgusting. We received 4 bath towels, 1 hand towel and 1 face cloth for 4 people. The only good thing was that the threadbare linens on the bed were clean and bug-free. Just glad we only stayed one night. So many other serviced apartments in Melbourne that cost the same but are so much nicer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Recently refurbished? Somewhere around 1970 I think. The stairwell smells dank and musty, the carpets in the room are threadbare, the paint is peeling. For $140 a night I expect a reasonable standard of hygiene but didn't find it here. Left after one night after booking for 3 - and only stayed the first night because I arrived after midnight and was too tired to look for something else

Room Tip: A tip to choose a good room? That's easy: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne

Address: 700 Lygon Street Carlton North, Melbourne, Victoria 3054, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments on Lygon has 22 apartments that all include fully equipped Kitchens for self-catering, and they're spacious enough for you to feel very comfortable during your stay. Appointed with modern furnishings and a touch of the local culture, you have the choice of 1 or 2 bedrooms and most of the apartments have a private balcony or courtyard. Unlike many other Melbourne accommodation places, car parking is on-site and included in the tariff - there is even enough space to park a mini bus if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Residence Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Apartments On Lygon - Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Residence Apartments On Lygon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Apartments on Lygon - Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.