We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Citiclub Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Citiclub Hotel to your Saves list
Citiclub Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My son organised for us to stay in this hotel because it was cheap. I was OK with that but on the trip to Melbourne decided to search for reviews and became rather concerned by what I read. When we arrived I was pleasantly surprised to find that although the rooms were rather dated they were clean and roomy and the staff were accommodating.
Although others have complained about the noise in the rooms we were made aware before we booked that this could be an issue and I have to say although we could hear some noise it was not an issue, and we were there over the period between Christmas and New Year.
One of the real pluses with this hotel is that it is very centrally located to restaurants, public transport, nearby shopping and the MCG.
Was disappointed that they listed that they had a gym on the website, but when I asked about it they said it was no longer there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    32
    43
    31
    64
See reviews for
17
63
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed on a Sat night and unfortunately made the booking before we read the reviews. It is very well located and we also got the buffet breakfast as part of the deal, so overall the price and value was quite good.

BUT.......if you think you will get ANY sleep, think again......we were placed on the top floor and the music from the nightclub just pounds through the walls.

Given the amount of places to stay in Melb, we certainly won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, ask for a room on the top floor, I couldn't even imagine how bad the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Citiclub on the 11th of feb as was in Melb for a work conference. We booked 20 rooms and got a good rate. Overall the room and bed were OK.
Good points: very close to CBD and associated businesses.
Bad Points: disorganized check in staff, lifts, water pressure in shower was slightly more than a dribble, but only slightly.

Is not my first choice for a hotel in Melbourne, but it's definitely cheap.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The hotel provides decent value for the room. It's a decent size, bed is OK - bit soft for my liking.

Staff were friendly and helpful. Liked there was plenty of variety of teas in the room. Location is convenient for the Airport bus - < 15 minute walk to Southern Cross Station - and close to a lot of the major shopping areas in the CBD.

Unfortunately there's a club next door that plays extremely loud music till 3 or 4am, maybe later. I was in an odd room on the 7th floor and from around 10pm it was annoyingly loud for the music from the club. made sleep very difficult.

Room Tip: try and get an even numbered room which might shield you from the club next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed at Citiclub hotel on jan 22. It is basic but clean, comfortable and in a central location convenient to the major shopping centers.
On our arrival we had a double pram, a toddler, a sleeping baby and 3 large bags. The security guard ('Ano') came running out and carried everything in for us. Every time we came in or out of the hotel he was there to help out....a real genteman and outstanding staff member-thank you

Room Tip: Many reviews here are unfair. This is not a 5 star hotel,and shouldn't be judged as such. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed at the Citiclub Hotel for 3 nights, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. I had a small but clean and tidy room on the 7th floor which was adequate for my needs. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the bathroom had nice towels and had all the usual bathroom extras. The various reception staff were friendly enough and answered my enquiries promptly. This is were the good review ends. On the Thursday night, the club downstairs started at about 8.00pm and didn't finish until after 4.30am. Apparently this is normal for Friday and Saturday nights and makes any chance of sleep impossible. The music and the shouting of the club patrons was very disturbing and I don't think there would be any rooms were you would be able to avoid the noise. I didn't know about the club when booking my accommodation but did read the previous reviews on tripadvisor before travelling but decided to stay there anyway as I was not staying for the weekend. Mistake!!!! A private function provided me with a sleepless night and with checkout time being 10am not a lot of sleep time. The club actually spoils this otherwise ok (lower cost) hotel and I would absolutely not recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel after Derby Day. It was HORRIBLE. The rooms were okay (okay being a generous term) but the service, staff and location were horrible. Firstly, they should advise you that you WILL NOT sleep at all if you stay here. The music is stupidly loud until 5.30am. When we went to see if we could switch rooms the lady was very rude, insisting it said on the website that the hotel is noisy (even though the description said "tranquil, peaceful and restful")
The lady then proceeded to say she could move us to a quieter room but we would have to pay extra.
Furthermore the security guard stepped in an proceeded to try and have an argument with me about it - it wasn't any of his business.

In short this place is horrible. The staff are horrible and it should be ripped down.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 848 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#63 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#107 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#126 of 158 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#83 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citiclub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citiclub Hotel

Address: 113 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citiclub Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of the Melbourne CBD, there are an abundance of activities around Citiclub Hotel. From shopping on Bourke Street Mall & Collins Street to outdoor dining along Southbank or the stunning Docklands. Only minutes from Melbourne's main attractions such as: Federation Square, Melbourne Aquarium, Etihad Stadium, MCG, Melbourne Observation Deck, Queen Victoria Market, Crown casino, shopping precincts and much more. Located within the CQ Melbourne complex, all your business, conference & leisure needs will be looked after. Our facilities include: Lanai Bar & Restaurant, CQ Bar and CQ Functions. Please note that Citiclub Hotel is a non-smoking property. There are no smoking rooms or areas within the building. Due to CQ Nightclub being open on Friday and Saturday nights and Public Holiday Eves, our rooms will be subject to highly elevated noise levels. We also have private functions which may run midweek and may also affect noise levels. Please choose carefully as there will be no refunds or further discounts. Staying at Citiclub Hotel Melbourne does not include club/bar entrance. All patrons are required to line up in an orderly manner and pay entrance fees. Entry is subject to security approval. Upon check-in, all guests are required to present a current photo ID as well as a valid credit card for a pre-authorisation swipe of $100 (Card holder must be present on check in. Funds must be available to be approved). NO CASH BONDS accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Citiclub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citiclub Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citiclub Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.