We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Citiclub Hotel

Save Saved
You added Citiclub Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citiclub Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend recently. We had a great time in Melbourne with family and friends and I'm sad to say this hotel really did ruin our experience. The security guard on duty Friday 20/September made me feel uncomfortable and almost threatened. Staff were mostly quite rude and lifeless and when the security guard abused my boyfriend and a dragged a girlfriend of ours out of the lift with much aggression (because it was just after 8pm and we weren't allowed visitors) I felt very uncomfortable staying there. Needless to say I will never be going back to Citiclub and I recommend to anyone else to find somewhere more accommodating with respectful staff. Awful unecessary end to a nice weekend. Aggressive/abusive/disrespectful staff should be tolerated NOWHERE.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiticlubHotel, Manager at Citiclub Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry you did not enjoy your time here with us, I am a little surprised that this is the first I have heard of this incident, it was not reported to management upon checkout, so I therefore could not follow up appropriately for you. If you would kindly like to contact management directly I would like to look into and discuss this incident further so as all possible steps can be taken in ensuring it does not happen again. Thank you and I look forward to hearing from you again soon, Management, Citiclub Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    27
    20
    35
See reviews for
11
40
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The staff are friendly ans the room is very basic and almost clean. Very good location but thats where the pros stop. There is a night club under the hotel that goes till 5:30 AM. We stayed on top floor (7th) but the room was shaking and the noise was deafening! Since we couldn't sleep decided to go and join the party but the monky at the door didn't let us in and didnt even say why. But my main problem was with the shower! The shower head sprayed the water everywhere except where i was standing. In conclusion, this place was not comfortable and for this price there are better options in Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This would have to be THE WORST HOTEL I have ever stated in my entire life .... And it's been a life of nearly 50 years. Nightclub noise I could deal with but everything in the room vibrated as well. It was beyond belief so I checked out at 2am after being told the nightclub goes thru until 530 am. It's beyond ridiculous.

Room Tip: No room is a good room. Don't even bother with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

GREAT LOCATION !!!!!!!
Really Enjoyed our stay. Room was on the 6th Floor, we had no corridor noise, and the light muffled noise from the nightclub was no bother to us. Cleaning staff and Security Staff were very pleasant and friendly. Reception desk staff were adequate, parking $22 per 24 hours which we found on par with the many other places we have stayed at in Melbourne CBD. Breakfast was supplied, our stay was a special through Postcard, wouldn't bother with that again, milk, juice, cereal, muesli type bar and PLASTIC BOWL all kept in a cupboard at reception to be collected each morning. Warm milk and juice Plastic Bowl No Thanks. Plenty on eateries Close By.
But over all Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again .

Room Tip: On the upper Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We recently stayed at Citiclub on the way back from our honeymoon. I had picked up a special from Hotel Club and to be honest wasn't really expecting anything great given the price. Well I am pleased to say we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were excellent, check in was easy, parking close and reasonably priced at $22, room was a good size given the location and very well presented. The hotel is a little aged but this had little impact on our stay and I would not hesitate to stay again.. Our stay even included breakfast at the cafe next week which was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The room was ok clean and tidy and they catered for our needs when requesting a sofa bed but the noise from the nighclub was horrendus. I could not believe it! the bathroon was shaking lol. It is central to the city and the staff were ok. Dont stay here is you have children. But if you are a party animal and wont be in the hotel much then this is definately were to stay. The buffett breakfast was good also no complaints there

Room Tip: try and get them to put you as high up as possible to avoid the noise from the nightclub
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my 4th stay at citciclub as love the price and specially the location but this trip was awful. I realize the hotel has a nightclub but has never bothered me like it did on this stay. It must have been floor and room number - 4/11. We got back to our room at 11 and nightclub went on until 4-5 in the morning. As well as hearing the doof doof we were that close that I knew the songs that were playing. I think the hotel should pre warn guests staying in this room on nights the club is open or leave it vacant as it was impossible for us to sleep. Always enjoy the buffet breakfast in the cafe next door - staff in there very friendly

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Citiclub Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citiclub Hotel

Address: 113 Queen St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Citiclub Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Citiclub Hotel is one of the most versatile hotels in Melbourne providing all the facilities for business or pleasure in the one place. Our establishment provides an abundance of natural light and space to ensure your stay is rewarding. Our choice of 71 rooms range from our Executive Suite, through to our Superior rooms. Soft earth tones create the perfect environment for that well deserved rest, readying you for a fresh new day tomorrow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Citiclub Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citiclub Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citiclub Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.