We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caroline Serviced Apartments South Yarra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caroline Serviced Apartments South Yarra to your Saves list
Caroline Serviced Apartments South Yarra
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   47-49 Caroline Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
275 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A Lovely place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just got back from spending 4 days with my girlfriends in Melbourne for Oaks Day. Caroline Apartments is a regular place to stay for one of us - so it was great to stay somewhere that one of us had already experienced and recommended. We booked a two bedroom - two bathroom apartment on the top floor with a lovely balcony/terrace overlooking leafy Caroline Street. Good size, fully equipped, clean and spot on for us to come and go and feel comfortable. The only downfall I found is having to lug our cases up two flights of stairs. The receptionist was very helpful and did help us - however - would of been great if there was a lift. Apart from that everything was pretty much spot on. The Manager, Warwick was very helpful and accomodating in assisting us with storing our luggage as we had a late flight on Sunday night. As the office was not open after 2pm he allowed us to store it in their underground parking area which is fully secure. The location of these apartments is great - with lots of lovely restaurants and shops down Toorak Road and within walking distance to famous "designer" Chapel Street for lots of shopping and dining!! Definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    33
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
30
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Although only booking for 1 person, I ended up with a two bedroomed premium room with a 'run of the house' deal, for 2 nights. Excellent value considering the high quality of the room, and that parking was free and on site - I could have paid an extra 50 dollars in the CBD for a much smaller room.
Very clean and well appointed. The apartments are in a pleasant leafy area.
Plenty of breakfast places nearby, plus for shopaholics (..not me..) there is Chapel St just round the corner.
Staff were helpful and friendly - would definitely stay here again if required.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I don't normally write reviews because I think good service should come as standard and I expect it as a matter of course. However, Caroline apartments is different . The service and helpfulness of the reception staff is so far above the norm, that I feel compelled to write a recommendation.

The apartments are well situated for local shopping and dining, with excellent access to central Melbourne and the surrounding areas by virtue of their close proximity to trams and South Yarra Station.

The facilities in the apartments provide everything required for a comfortable, short-medium term stay. I have not given this venue a 5 point grade as some parts of my apartment looked like they had been in need of some interior decoration for some time. This is, however, a minor point and should not put you off renting an apartment at Caroline.

Location is great, all the facilities work and service is second to none. What more could you possibly want?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our one bedroom Premium Apartment in this great location was spacious and well-appointed, but our seven nights' stay was marred by practically non-existent housekeeping. The kitchen floor went unswept, the carpet unvacuumed, with no attempt made to clean the basic bathroom facilities. The bedlinen went unchanged, and the bottom sheet was too small to fit the average double bed, so that the mattress was exposed at the foot of the bed. We stayed for a week from a Tuesday and I didn't complain to the manager until the Monday because there was no housekeeping available at all over the weekend.

It would have been helpful to have had a fully operational tumble dryer and a basin/bathplug that actually fitted.

If you choose to stay at these "Affordable Luxury" apartments, make sure your housekeeping requirements are made clear right from the start of your stay, or buy yourselves a broom and some domestic cleaning materials.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

what a find. I go down to Melbourne occasionally for work and have previously stayed at another place in south yarra which has now closed down. but this place was great. friendly staff, easy check-in. it presents very well from the street and the apartment I stayed in was very clean and seemingly quite new. it was very well furnished, with plenty of utensils, glasses, cups and crockery. best of all it was quiet. I was there over a weekend and never heard a sound from anywhere. having said that, it’s an easy few minutes walk down to toorak road and another five to ten minutes down to chapel street. there are restauarnts aplenty in this area so you will never starve. there’s also a couple of IGA supermarkets within a five minute walk, and a big coles maybe a 15 minute walk away on chapel street. I will definitely return next time I need to go down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

For a family of 2 adults and 3 children, the Caroline Serviced Apartments suited our needs in many ways. Staying for 4 nights, we required a place that was close to the city, had shops and transport within walking distance and could accommodate 3 children without feeling everyone was in each other's pockets. On all fronts, we were not disappointed.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly, informed and hospitable staff member (Warick). Check in was prompt. The apartment was modern, clean and exactly what we expected (although the upgrade was a very nice surprise). Shops, restaurants and cafes were all within walking distance (on Toorak Rd). Chapel St provided a welcome change to Toorak Rd, offering a very wide range of restaurants (recommend Patee Thai). Getting to the city was a breeze (by car), although from my previous experience, the trams and trains are equally reliable and convenient. Venturing out to St Kilda was extremely easy - great cafes (Galleon on Carlisle St) and a fabulous park for kids (St Kilda Adventure playground on Neptune St).

Overall, the apartment was excellent. Fresh, clean, ample space and well secured, we couldn't have asked for more. Having travelled to many cities, including Melbourne many a time, the Caroline Serviced Apartments offer everything you could ask for. I strongly recommend for families, although having to travel quite often for work, these apartments are perfect for the discerning executive as well. My wife also thinks it would be perfect for a girls weekend away. The kids too enjoyed the stay immensely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I stayed Caroline Serviced Apartment with my daughter for 7nights. I booked from Japan so I didn't know this is good or not. But this is one of the best accommocation I've ever stayed. The apartment is clean and spacious. South Yarra is a lovely place and just 10minutes to the city by tram No8. Staff is friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Oaks On William
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#1 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,085 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caroline Serviced Apartments South Yarra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caroline Serviced Apartments South Yarra

Address: 47-49 Caroline Street | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Caroline Serviced Apartments South Yarra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Caroline Serviced Apartments South Yarra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caroline Serviced Apartments South Yarra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.