We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER!!! ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arrow On Swanston to your Saves list
Arrow On Swanston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE EVER!!! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

** WARNING: Do not stay here **

First let's start with the positives, or should I say the one positive, the location was great. A few hundred metres from Lygon St in one direction and about the same distance to the markets on the other.

Now for the negatives:
* rooms are small and you can't get into the bed from one side
* they clearly have 'systems' issues. Our room passes didn't work on the car park. This took time to sort out.
* the air conditioners in the room didn't work
* the fire alarm went off five times between 2am and 4am on a Sunday night calling a fire truck each time and sounding a horrendously loud alarm. There was no fire - this was a 'systems' issue I was told. Worst of all there was no explanation on the night provided or apology for the 3 hours sleep I got.
* unfortunately we were put on level 1 and it was noisy as due to the traffic, trams, people outside, oh and of course the fire trucks all night.

SCATHING REVIEW I KNOW BUT YOU COULD NOT PAY ME MONEY TO STAY HERE AGAIN!!

* AVIOD AT ALL COSTS *

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    29
    15
    24
See reviews for
21
38
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Massive disappointment from the second we arrived. Having come from the most beautiful experience at the Urban Hotel in St Kilda to this hotel was a kick in the guts... Sad entrance, sad staff who could not smile or care, took full payment as we checked in of $135 (rip off) when The Urban was $99 and faultless.... Told at check in we had a Double bed which is interesting with a 6ft4 partner. Room dark miserable and for little people. Bed did not fit in the area that was designed for it so had to crawl into it. Lucy noisy all night... I could go on forever ... AVOID AT ALL COST

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Starting with the good point was the location reasonable central.
Unfortunately the maintenance issues let this property down. One of the critical items was the air-conditioning which didn't work and even after the maintenance person looked at it there was no improvement. The kettle didn't work and the service desk were not really helpful.
Overall a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It was my first trip to Melbourne and the hotel is located strategically in the centre of the city that allows me to walk about, catch a tram, go round for a cuppa, visit nearby shopping centres, try out various restaurants, having supper at nearby restaurant and a walk in the park,
The room is cosy, clean and well maintained and came with a small kitchen too that is well stocked. The staff were friendly too. Though we are facing another block and can see the occupant's balcony, it is quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This over priced property was a relative disappointment. The service was adequate but scant. This is a virtual do it yourself experience. My first room had no water. The maintenance staff had gone home for the day. The next room they put me in was a twin bed arrangement; not what I paid for. This is a sad and somewhat bleak property with little character, and no appeal to speak of. I assess it has few attractive qualities and is expensive for what it offers. The hotel, be warned, takes and holds a $50 bond at time of signing in. They only repay this to your credit card within, they promise, five working days. Outrageous. It is close to the centre of town. That may be an advantage. I shan't be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Very average for the price we paid. We were given a room on the 2nd floor with a tiny balcony looking out to the car park. People from the car park can look straight into our room as well. Bathroom is adisabled facilitated. The staff could be more considerate and keep this for people needed it more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It was a pleasant stay at Arrow on Swanston. The rooms were impeccably clean and
quiet. The kitchenette was clean and well-equipped. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful. But the reason why you should choose Arrow is for its location….very prime with trams plying right in front of the hotel. It is also close to Chinatown, Lygon Street and other tourist attractions. We took the Visitor’s shuttle to tour the city of Melbourne, which can be accessed easily from this location. We would definitely stay there a second time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrow On Swanston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.