We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, No Frills Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arrow On Swanston

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Arrow On Swanston to your Saves list
Arrow On Swanston
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Carlton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
“Good, No Frills Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel makes no pretenses to greatness, just clean, basic accomodation, which is well located in Carlton, close to the restaurant area in Lygon Street, and a 10 minute tram ride to the centre of Melbourne.
The room offered a queen sized bed a small kitchenette, and a reasonable space for 2 people to stretch out, and was clean and above average in presentation.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher levels, 8 or 9 and in the North East Corner as there is little / no stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    45
    29
    15
    24
See reviews for
21
38
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is really just an addition to student accommodation in Carlton, Melbourne. It is pretty basic - no extras (no tissues or hand towels) and a bit of a squashy room, but fairly comfortable beds and everything was very clean. We stayed a week, and initially was placed in a first floor room which was directly overlooking a cobblestone side alley and the garbage bins for the entire block - student accommodation, cafe and hotel (and the bind get emptied every morning at 5.45 am....loudly!!!). We asked for a change and were happy once we moved to the 4th floor with little hassle. I'm not sure why they couldn't have done that in the first place, seeing that we were a long term booking.....Otherwise staff were friendly, next to no noise from other rooms, great location with tram stop at front door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family spent 4 nights in this hotel. We booked a two bedroom apartment. It had a room with a queen bed and a room with a single bed. The sofa was a sofabed. The room is so small that when the sofabed was opened up, there was hardly any room to move.

The sofa bed was drooping and impossible to sleep on. We had to ask maintenance to fix it. It was slightly better after that but still awful. I would not recommend it for any adult. It may be fine for a child.

The bathroom was also terribly small and there was hardly any amenities to speak off.

We were on lower floors and the tram runs just outside our window. We heard it going all night. On two nights the rubbish collection for the apartment block next door and truck with their warning sirens the residents dragging their bins in and out woke us up at some ungodly hour.

The reception close around 9pm. Supposedly the night porter is around or you can ring him if you had to check in after that. Some relatives arrived after midnight. The porter was no where to be seen and did not answer his mobile. Our relatives ended up with no room and had to bunk in our small room.

I would not book this hotel ever again. My brother in law booked a large, new apartment on Collin Street for just $50 more. I should have done the same.

Room Tip: Choose the highest floor and away from the street to avoid the nightly noise from trains and rubbish...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

I went down for the state of Origin in May and found this hotel, very affordable and a terrific room, right in Carlton close to many bars and only a quick tram ride down into the heart of the city. Staff upgraded me and thought the experience of staying there to be great, going back there again whenever i stay in Melbourne. Affordable without sacrificing quality.. strongly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Worst place I have ever stayed. Rooms really small no room for anything, Fridge didn't keep anything cold. Had to moving dining setting out of way to open fridge door. Booked 7 nights stayed 1 as we arrived late in the day. Couldn't get out quick enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Went there between May 20-23,2012 with 6 family members in 3 different suites on 3 seperate floors. Guess what? Everyone of us enjoyed our stay there & in the city.
Rooms were very clean, tidy & quiet, plus affordable rates along with friendly & efficient staffs! I'll definitely stay at Arrow on Swanston again on my next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Small rooms,dirty pool,small gym,Malfunctioning systems ,dirty place and very noisy environment,all they want is your money those cheaters.i do not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arrow On Swanston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrow On Swanston

Address: 488 Swanston Street | Carlton, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Carlton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arrow On Swanston 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Swanston Street, Arrow on Swanston offers comfortable, convenient and value for money serviced apartments ranging from studio, one and two-bedroom apartments to fit the single traveller, couple or the family. Our self-contained 3.5 star self-rated serviced apartments are fully furnished with modern amenities to suit your needs. Arrow on Swanston is perfectly situated in the heart of Melbourne, surrounded by entertainment, tourist attractions and sporting venues. Having tram stops just outside our doorstep allows easy access to anywhere in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arrow On Swanston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arrow On Swanston Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrow On Swanston, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.