We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service training required” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Funfields

Funfields
2365 Plenty Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3757, Australia (Formerly Whittlesea Alpine Toboggan Park)
+61 97161078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #215 of 490 things to do in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Funfields....More Than Just a Waterpark...... At Funfields we offer a tantalising mix of rides. Enjoy the Alpine Toboggan Slide, Go Karts, Swinging Pirate Ship and Bumper Boats or test your skills at the Crocodile Creek 18 Hole Mini Golf Course. When you're ready to cool off head over to Wacky Waters, a magical aquatic playground with over 20 interactive features and Australia's only Hydro Storm™ If slides is more your thing then you're spoilt for choice at Funfields. The Blackout and Wipeout raft waterslides offer two exciting and very different experiences. Then there is the two Splashdown Waterslides and for the extreme thrill seekers our newest attraction Typhoon. Our Typhoon is the World's Longest Pro Slide CannonBowl ride! We haven't forgotten about our younger Funfielders who can enjoy the Formula Fun Mini Go Karts and Mini Bikes, Snakes Alive, Burnout and the Pony Express Carousel. So whether it's fast or slow, wet or dry, there's something for everyone at Funfields!
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Customer Service training required”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Very disappointed with Funfields. Our first impression of Funfields was the girl on the gate, she was abrupt and unsmiling (it was 10.30am). The staff on all the water rides were surly and the guy manning the Typhoon thought nothing of swearing during his conversation wih another member of staff in front of a queue of people including young children. The on site food was fine and realistically priced, although a poster for Churros, showing a girl holding 3 with a price of $4.00 was misleading as you actually only got 1! There seemed to a lack of staff around the park. The park also closes very early and there are no announcements reminding people that the rides are closing. At the end of the day, we tried to speak to someone with regards to the issues we had encountered, but found no one. The rides are ok, but nothing amazing. Expensive for 5 water rides.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    12
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Waste of Money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Unfortunately we visited on an extremely busy day, the lines to get on any ride was over an hour or more long. And as someone stated before you are also waiting in the heat with absolutely no shade. The lack of toilets and family change rooms was disappointing as well as the cleanliness of the toilet facilities. I also found the locker system extremely annoying, where we would have to wait in a 10 minute queue every time we needed to open our locker. There should be individual key pads on the lockers or maybe keys so this isn't a problem. The rides for the toddlers where also very disappointing and in need of an upgrade. Maybe if was less crowed we would have a better time...but the park itself was still a disappointment for the amount of money and time spent traveling there. We will not be returning. Save your money and go to your local pool.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dangerous- beware!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I was rear ended by a young boy at a very high speed on the mountain toboggan ride. I was in tears and clearly in a lot of pain. Staff were very indifferent and need to be a lot more attentive in running the rides. Unfortunately for my family I was in too much pain and to go home. End result $ 173 entry fee for 40mins and a painful injury.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Fun for everyone BUT expensive for families - closes too early...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

5 water slides (including the NEW waterslide which opened Boxing Day 2013), water park, bumper boats, toboggan rides, mini golf course, pirate ship, go karts and 4 kiddies rides equals a great day of FUN for everyone, except for the price and eagerness to close so early in the Summer.
With 6 children between the ages of 14 & 4 the 6 and a half hour day out with friends was an expensive one at $281 (affordable for the average family?, probably NOT!).
We chose a fantastic day with temperatures in the mid-20s - forecast was dismal so I believe many stayed away, therefore the park was reasonably quiet with small queues enabling lots of fun for everyone! The park is well designed so attractions are within close vicinity making it easy enough to keep track of family and friends using different areas of the park.
Shoes are required on the bumper boats. Staff were helpful and friendly.
In my opinion the park closes too early at 5pm with rides closing at 4.30pm sharp (a little early for a Summer when the sun doesn't set till 8.30/9.00).
BYO food & drinks otherwise the day out will increase dramatically in price! Usual theme park food available. Another option is to have a BBQ and there are plenty of shelters - you will need to book shelters on busy days otherwise on quiet days like ours they're free.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fun for the whole family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Loved the toboggan ride. Lots to do for the whole family. We had little kids and my husbands 82 year old grandma who got on the toboggan with him and loved it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funfields also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Funfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funfields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.