We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the closest thing to a theme park in melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Funfields

Funfields
2365 Plenty Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3757, Australia (Formerly Whittlesea Alpine Toboggan Park)
+61 97161078
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #219 of 492 things to do in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Funfields....More Than Just a Waterpark...... At Funfields we offer a tantalising mix of rides. Enjoy the Alpine Toboggan Slide, Go Karts, Swinging Pirate Ship and Bumper Boats or test your skills at the Crocodile Creek 18 Hole Mini Golf Course. When you're ready to cool off head over to Wacky Waters, a magical aquatic playground with over 20 interactive features and Australia's only Hydro Storm™ If slides is more your thing then you're spoilt for choice at Funfields. The Blackout and Wipeout raft waterslides offer two exciting and very different experiences. Then there is the two Splashdown Waterslides and for the extreme thrill seekers our newest attraction Typhoon. Our Typhoon is the World's Longest Pro Slide CannonBowl ride! We haven't forgotten about our younger Funfielders who can enjoy the Formula Fun Mini Go Karts and Mini Bikes, Snakes Alive, Burnout and the Pony Express Carousel. So whether it's fast or slow, wet or dry, there's something for everyone at Funfields!
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“the closest thing to a theme park in melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

visited on a warm Sunday in January. Arrived 30 minutes after the open, long queues to get it, which were initially not moving. If you had bought tickets on line you can access the shorter queue on the left. Don't forget to get your kids height measured near the entrance as this determines their entry price. Areas of shade and tables but these were taken, so the next option was to try to get some tree shade. Strongly advise you bring some fold up chairs and towels for those warm January weekends when attendance is high. A few families also brought their own shade in the form of small fold up canopies and open aired tents! Plenty of grassy areas. Barbecue facilities were well utilised. Only one set of toilets and there were queues for the ladies. Food very basic and about as pricey as any theme park you'll see elsewhere in Australia. They have a range of rides, including water rides. Given they won't allow bathers on the non water rides, they suggest you do the water rides during the second half of the day, after you've had your fun tobogganing, and kart rides. The toboggan was the most popular ride with queues up to an hour long. Make a day of it. Helpful description of the rides on their web site.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    20
    12
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mylissa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We like to do random outings with a group of friends and have a great time, it wasn't too busy, waiting times were great and variety. We enjoyed the day thoroughly. Park was very clean and accommodating. Very friendly staff. Loved the outdoor water activities!!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome day, awesome park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This park has so many awesome rides. It is hard to decide where to go first. Make sure you get there when the gates first open as no matter how long you are there, you will still want to stay and play even when they are kicking you out.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Park
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Funfields Pay then play all day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Recently we had 60 Guests at Funfields for our daughters 18th Birhday. Once you get there the fun never stops. We were given a discount for all our guests. Everyone had a ball. facilities are excellent Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The Pirate ship,toboggams, go karts and the water themed area and the play area for the littlies were all fantastic. Set in lovely treed and grassed area . and we had our own seperate pavillion to our selves. We also hired there bbq for the whole day. at the end we just packed up . All went home very tired but had fun and the Birthday girl had a blast and so did all her friends. special mention also goes to Liz merga one of the managers nothing was too much trouble. So for a party with a difference go to Funfields you will have a ball.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A different experience but not really worth a 2nd visit.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

It's a long drive out but very pleasant as there is hardly any traffic. However at $33 PER PERSON (incl all rides) it is still an expensive outing for a family of 4. So if u want your money's worth then plan to be there EARLY and ALL DAY as well. Choose a WARM day to visit otherwise outdoor swimming activties will be a VERY COLD experience. BYO food & drinks bcos the cafeteria is really ordinary & serves typically pricey bland & fried oily food. The rides & activities are all fairly standard EXCEPT for the mountain tobogganing which is the main attraction and is pretty damn good. It's a 5minutes pull up to the top and can get windy. Bring along a windcheater and hat as u can get sunburned. All up, it's good enough for an entirely different experience but unless you live in the northern suburbs, the long drive and entry price of $33each is really not worth a 2nd visit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Funfields also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Funfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funfields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.