We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Collins Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Collins Street to your Saves list
Oaks on Collins Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“ok hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Rooms adequate, got an upgrade to executive, glad as I probably wouldn't have liked the standard. You cant hear the noise from the builders next door which is good, bathrooms very small but clean. Curtain around the beds missing on the street side and the blinds don't fit very well, about 4 inch's too narrow to keep all the light out at night.

Room does come with a dish washer, but only one pack of cleaner, and no rinse aid also no dish detergent for kitchen sink. Microwave cupboard poorly designed, and unusable for me as its too high and bottom hinge makes it a long arm reach to take anything out.

Tv a bit on the small side and not easy to watch from in bed, cant watch it from the sofa, and no where else suitable.

1st floor restaurant is ok, but don't expect any thing special, nice set up for buffet breakfast but mushroom & sausages are boiled, and the buffet containers are difficult to reclose unless your tall.

Beddings very meagre just a couple of sheets and a very thin blanket between.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your stay wth us at Oaks on Collins in April. Your detailed synopsis is certainly appreicated and provides some great insight into apartment design that we can potentially apply for future upgrades in functionality. We do find that people do prefer to watch TV in bed rather than on the sofa but certainly understand that some dont.

Thanks once again and appreciate your honesty.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    188
    231
    148
    86
See reviews for
58
247
60
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Booked 3 rooms on a Saturday in Melbourne. Strange layout with the rooms as the ensuite is frosted glass walls. Once we got over that the rooms were clean and the beds fine to sleep on. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful. A little noisy with the 2 rooms at the front (it was Saturday though) and the rear room was quiet. Overall satisfactory stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Great to hear that you will return to stay with us again when you are next in Melbourne and hope you had a great wekeend getaway in Melborune.

Thanks for the comments and added 'Room Tip' for other travellers.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This Hotel is very conveniently located and the Staff are fantastic, however it seems either I have the worst luck in the world or everything in their rooms are run down and broken.

I have stayed here a couple of times now. First time, my aircon broke and leaked all over the room. Moved rooms and the dishwasher broke down and leaked over the floor.

I stayed here again, thinking it couldn't happen again. But I was wrong.

3 trips to the reception to have my cards re-coded.
TV Broken, Remote broken, aircon broken and to top it off, when I turned on the iron, it leaked water from the base, went onto the cord and shorted out..

Staff are friendly and efficient, however the hotel is a let down

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for your comments regarding your stay with us at Oaks on Collins. It seems you have had a run of bad luck with the applicances in the aparmtents you have stayed in here and I can assure you that what you experienced is not the norm and apologise you have had to ensure failing room items. I am glad to hear that everything else pertaining to your stay was satisfactory and trust that you will return to stay with us again in the future.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Staying here at present and booked for 4 nights, firstly was given a room fronting Collins St but that was noisy and really small. Work on the adjoining building all day makes it impossible to stay on that side. Then given a room at the rear on the 11th floor, banging all night, air conditioners below make a constant rumble, people shouting and loud clangs when dumping rubbish in bins, traffic noise from car park below, everyone revs their cars and toots horns. Presently 11:30pm and noise still going on so sitting up writing this then will watch TV all night till I drift off hopefully. Can hear people in the hallways talking and banging doors.

This is one to avoid if you want to actually sleep, and to think I asked for a really quiet room and got this. This is meant to be an executive deluxe room, small queen bed, awkward bathroom, I can live with those, but the noise is driving me insane and I have 3 nights of this to go. Wouldn't be so bad if not for the expense.

One to definately avoid in future.

Len Morellini.

Room Tip: Dont bother to ask ro a quiet room, I did and seem to have the noisiest, although maybe I did get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
It is certainly disappointing to hear that you found the noise during your stay with us to be unacceptable but unfortuntely being centrally located in Melbroune CBD does mean that outside noise occurs from time to time. I am sorry you feel that you need to recommend to other travellers to avoid the property but thank you for your honest feedback.

Regards, Hotel Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had read a number of the reviews here prior to departing. I was a little concerned. I contacted the Manager and was assured by the manager that my 2 night stay would be more than satisfactory. I'm pleased to agree that my stay was good and I'll be back in the future. The room breakfast and dinner were all very reasonable to me.

Room Tip: I booked a Studio (internal room) but ended up in a room with a window overlooking Collins St. That...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks for your coments and glad that we were able to provide you with a stay that was a comfortable and enjoyable one. I shall pass your comments on the the Restaurant staff including the chefs. Your upgrade to a Studio Executive from the studio sounds appreciated and is certainly worth spending a little extra to gain either a Collins Street view or a balcony. It was fortunate that we still had a Studio Executive available to offer this to you on a complimentary basis as the upgrade fee is usually $30 per night.

Appreciate your 5 out of 5 rating and hope that your Australian holiday was a memorable one.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here recently for work and did not enjoy the experience.

I can only describe the room as strange in terms of layout. As you walk through the door, there's a galley kitchenette to one side that is separated from the bathroom by frosted glass along the same wall. Looking directly from the door inwards, you face the bed. There was a sheer curtain that you could draw around the bed, but it didn't reach right the way round and I couldn't see the point anyway. The bed is, incidentally, right next to the bathroom - pillow end within a metre of the toilet. Thankfully I was staying alone!

The bathroom was tiny and should have been cleaner. I took photos but haven't been able to successfully post these. The sink was so tiny it was almost impossible to turn on the taps without water splashing everywhere. The shower, also small, had mouldy grouting, especially around the plug hole with a tile that was loose, and toothpaste smeared on the wall and shower curtain. The hand towel appeared to have someone else's makeup on it. Yuck!

The rest of the room was large, but everything in it was just a bit grotty - visible filth on the coffee table and remote controls, couches looked tired and the carpet had marks on it. Given the size of the room I can't understand why you'd have the bed next to the toilet and facing directly into the doorway - there are other options.

Heating/cooling was difficult to use and since I couldn't get the room to heat up it was a cool evening for me, although the bed was comfortable and the linen looked and felt clean. Finally, the TV was the smallest TV I've ever seen in a hotel and given the distance between the couch and TV wasn't the most enjoyable to watch.

On the upside the location and conference facilities were good, nice staff and good value and plentiful breakfast. Biggest upside is possibly the Haig's chocolate shop across the road.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, General Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thanks you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. It is unfortunate the apartment layout was not to your liking and am disappointed to hear of the lack of cleanliness experienced as it sounds clearly unacceptable. I trust you advised reception of these during your stay so that we could identify the issue immedidately but please feel fre to contact myself directly on hmcollins@theoaksgroup.com.au if you did not get the opportunity so that I may personally follow up on it.

Thanks again for your comments, they are truly valued.

Regards, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Oaks on Collins for our daughter's wedding. There was a mixup with our booking and we had actually booked in twice. The reception staff were very efficient and friendly and we were upgraded to a larger room on the 18th floor with great views over the city. The room was spacious and very clean. The bathroom was compact though considering the size of the room. Comfy bed and good amenities. The hotel is close to docklands and Crown. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing Collins St have good city/bay/river views and glimpses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksOnCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your kind feedback and congratulations on your daughters wedding.
It is pleasing to hear that you found our reception staff very efficient and friendly and the room clean and bed comfy – Your comments have been passed on to our front desk and housekeeping team with thanks.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Collins Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins Street

Address: 480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins Street 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oaks on Collins Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Collins Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.