We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Collins to your Saves list
Oaks on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great location BUT
- entrance difficult to find
- room window on 17th floor looked out onto entry doors of other rooms = daylight and no privacy as guests were walking past OR privacy with no daylight keeping curtains pulled 24/7
- air conditioning not working
- no information about hotel services in room
- only 4 TV channels had reception
- internet access charged
- no minibar
- no milk for coffee/tea making
- no restaurant facility

Room Tip: Avoid room 1701
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.
It is unfortunate that you had a disappointing stay and for this please accept our sincere apologies.
However it is surprising to hear your comments about certain aspects of your stay and have done our best to respond to them individually.
Our reception is at street level surrounded by glass and has a huge well-lit sign.
All our studios are internal rooms and this is how we advertise them as well.
Information about hotel services is actually handed over with your keys on arrival.
Our friendly reception staff would have efficiently assisted in adjusting the air conditioner and TV channels.
Internet access is free for the first 30 minutes and is then charged based on which plan you choose.
We do not advertise mini–bar services, milk is actually stored in the fridge and our restaurant and bar is on the First Floor – This is advertised at reception ,in your room and in the lift.
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit in one of our Studio Executive rooms and our team would be delighted to assist with every query.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    207
    255
    160
    93
See reviews for
63
266
61
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to stay here for 2 nights from the 6/2/14 till 8/2/14. After reading multiple bad reviews, we began to get very nervous about staying here! But believe me, we were very pleasantly surprised, We loved it.

The location; hotel is a less then 5 minute walk from southern cross station, tram stops out the front and close to shops a few blocks up if you are feeling adventurous.

The staff; upon arrival you are greeted by the staff who are both professional and pleasant. Thank you.

The hotel: is easily located, beautiful, clean and the elevators were easy to use.

We stayed in a studio executive apartment. The room was very clean, and the bed was also very comfortable.
The room already had the air conditioner on so it was nice and cool for us.

Although the bathroom is close to the bed, we had no trouble at all. It's really not as close as everyone has been saying. The glass is also a frosted green and you can not see thru it unless you press up against it, even then all you see is a shadow. The shower was okay, water wasn't high pressured though, so it was enough for a nice quick one to relax after a long day. The Bathroom may be small to some, but I'm a big girl and I fit in there fine.

We didn't sit on the couch cause we preferred to watch the tv from the bed. It's a little tv but from where the bed is you can see it perfect and we were quite happy with it. It's up on the wall and is able to be turned to your preference.

The room has a fully functional kitchen so you can cook your own meal and has adequate utensils.

The balcony was nice to sit out on to relax, even though you are looking straight at another building. We liked it anyway, and found it lovely to sit outside for some air.

Huge mirror on the wall, which was handy to check if your outfit looks okay before a night out.

A desk with internet access and extra pillows and blankets available in the cupboard.

The entire hotel is quiet and peaceful and everyone is so friendly. The hotel itself was mainly somewhere for us to relax and sleep after a long day of sight seeing, so it was great for us.

We recommend oaks on collins street and will definitely be back again next time. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed feedback and excellent rating.
It is pleasing to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and professional and that you were pleasantly surprised – Your comments have been forwarded to the team with thanks.
We are glad that you found the hotel and room beautiful, clean and comfortable and enjoyed the thoughtful little additions to the room.
Your review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Oaks on Collins on your next visit.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We got a very good last minute deal so weren't annoyed with queen bed or small bathroom as some are. It's a practical bathroom. The shower's fine, not like some European ones. My only gripe was the tiny TV but I try not to watch it when I'm on a break if I can. Very clean & modern room. Great breakfasts!! Went across the street to Intercontinental first morning - $38 a head & excellent, but then discovered the Oaks for $20 (a bit less with a pre pay option) & it was pretty close. Great variety & quality. Grabbed a quick dinner as well when we picked up the bags & that was very good too.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing us and your great rating.
It is pleasing to hear that you found your room to be very clean and modern – Your comments have been forwarded to the team with thanks.
We are glad that you found the breakfast great with it’s variety and quality – It truly represents excellent value.
Always ask about our specials which are ongoing at reception.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oaks on Collins on your next visit.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Oaks on Collins is ideally located for a lovely trip to Melbourne.

The room was not flash, but it was very comfortable and clean - cant really ask for more at that price.

Wasn't too impressed with the breakfast though, it was buffett and I dont know if it didn't have many staff on the days I stayed, but it took a very long time for the food to be replenished.

Would stay again definitely.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing us and the great rating.
It is pleasing to hear that you found your room to be comfortable and clean – Your comments have been forwarded to the team with thanks.
It is unfortunate that you were not impressed with the timely replenishment of the buffet at breakfast – Due to the popularity and always having it cooked fresh there may have been delays however your feedback has been discussed with our Chef to ensure that this is avoided.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oaks on Collins on your next visit.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed here with a friend for two nights. Booked a deluxe studio apartment. Was overcharged for the room $293 aswell as a separate cost of $438. Still waiting to get money back. The cost of the room was suppose to be $288? Room was tiny and we were upgraded for free to a executive suite so I would hate to imagine the room we originally booked was like. Bed was small as was the toilet and shower. They were right next to the bed so close the you had to squeeze past the bed to get into the ensuite. Will definitely stay elsewhere from now on.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback.
It is pleasing to hear you received a complimentary upgrade from our standard internal studios which you had booked but unfortunate that this did not meet your expectations - We do have alternate room configurations in the Studio Executive rooms and our friendly reception staff would have been delighted to assist in moving you to a different room.
Typically the pre-authorisation taken upon check in will clear within 3-5 working days however depending on your financial institution this may be displayed differently on your statement – please do contact the hotel if the funds are still on hold and we will be happy to assist in sending a fax to your bank to speed up this process.

Having checked your account there is no overcharge the additional amount is the credit card surcharge – It is unfortunate that you may have missed the signage advertising this on the front desk.

We hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed one night in this hotel for work. Received a room upgrade on arrival which was great! Good sized room with with full kitchen. Great location in the Melb CBD! The service was good and the room were clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear that you found our service good and your room clean - Your feedback has been forwarded to the respective teams with thanks.
We look forward to welcoming you back to many more comfortable stays.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The rooms are amazing and very spacious. The location is great, right in the city center. The room service was great and the room was very clean. I have no complaints at all and loved my stay here. Great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your valued feedback.

It is excellent to hear that you loved your stay here, found the service great and the room clean – Your comments have been forwarded to our respective teams with thanks.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Address: 480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.