We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Behind the glass” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Collins Street

Save Saved
You added Oaks on Collins Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Oaks on Collins Street
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Nights & Save 15%!
Ranked #127 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Behind the glass”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

There’s nothing extreme in this hotel – neither exceptionally good nor bad. I would say it’s an average mid-range hotel close to the city centre. The one thing that really stands out – the bathroom that I guess was meant to form sort of central feature of each room. Basically it was a single bedroom space with a glazed enclosure (aka bathroom) in the corner of the room with a door that you can’t lock. That looked a little weird... Surely it’ll be a bit of fun for romantic couples but is questionable for others.

On the other hand the central location is great especially for the price they offer rooms for. It is in the walking distance from the South Bank restaurants, train station and all other amenities that you might think of.

So after all the hotel is good but not the one that will pop into my mind when I’m thinking about booking a room in Melbourne.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback.

It is pleasing to hear that you had a good stay.

Our quirky glass bathrooms are definitely hard to miss however we do have bathrooms with a traditional layout as well as well and I can guarantee you that we have a style of room that you would review to be great.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    156
    208
    136
    84
See reviews for
55
225
55
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This serviced apartment was disappointing. The building clearly isnt purpose built as serviced apartments. The bathroom was like showering in a poorly fitted glass wardrobe. Strange kitchen layout. Prefer a proper apartment. Very poor television and seating arrangements.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay.

It is unfortunate that you found the particular apartment you stayed in disappointing. We do have rooms with different configurations including ones with larger bathrooms.

Our Rooftop Apartments are very popular as well so on your next visit do ask our friendly team to show you one and I am sure that you will like it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed in the hotel several times on business. Unusual mix of old and new, with a very unusual room layout that kind of works. Very handy location towards the Docklands end of Collins street. Inexpensive for what you get.

Rooms appear to have been reconfigured at various times given the unusual layouts. The bathrooms seem to be glass boxes reclaimed from a corner of the room. While small, they are quite contemporary and provide everything you need, and work to maximise the space of the hotel room itself. Modern appliances in the kitchens, with great views from higher levels to the South. Staff efficient albeit not overly engaging.

All the basics ticked. Occasionally got locked out of room as the cards needed surprisingly regular reprogramming which is a bit of an inconvenience. Staff helpful resolving the odd bit of attention to detail (e.g. light globe replacement, consumables, replenishing breakfast buffet etc) which would have been good to not have to prompt, but nevertheless politely and promptly handled.

Room Tip: Avoid low floor rooms facing the side laneway as garbage trucks make early morning visits. Higher th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stays.

It is pleasing to hear from one of our regular guests especially your comments about the staff being efficient and the hotel quirky but nice.

We do look forward to continue to welcome you back and do all we can to ensure that all your future stays are comfortable too.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Whilst I didn't have any major dramas with Oaks On Collins, nothing about it lures me to return. The location is good, it was relatively quiet except for the nearby lifts getting busy in the morning, the bed was comfortable, the staff were fine - however, the room was just so small. Which was okay for a two day visit but I would not want much longer, I reckon they are a bit cheeky calling them apartments. The kitchen was small in the corner, again okay for a couple of days but not for a longer stay. Then there was the bathroom, wow I would never have guessed you could fit a shower, loo and sink into such a tiny space - it wasn't a room, it was a cupboard. And right next to the bed so one person could not go to the bathroom during the night without waking the other - the noise and the brightness of the light. The shower taps were bizarre, hot turned on one way and cold the other - very easy to make a mistake and end up frozen or scalded. The tv is very small and despite our form saying we had movies on demand, we didn't - just fox channels but no tv guide so we just had to go thru the channels to see if anything worth watching was on.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It is pleasing to hear your comments about the staff being fine and the bed comfortable.

All our rooms have different configurations in the same category as some have balconies and some have river views and among them some are more compact than others however regular feedback is that the majority of our guests are pleasantly surprised at the roominess in most of them.

We only advertise as having foxtel so am surprised to hear that your form said movies on demand,our online team has been advised to do a check of all websites as we do not like to mislead our guests.

Once again,thank you ever so much for your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

A good hotel towards the southern end of Collins street (be warned, its opposite Haighs Chocolates). I'm glad we took the mazda6 as the Navara would have struggled to get into the car park (although there were big 4WDs down there), something they don't tell you in the brochure. The reception is out the front of the hotel, and I mean 'out the front'. Its not inside the building like you would expect. And it pays to know where the reception is as you have to leave your car keys with them which is a pain if you need anything from the car at a later stage. But if you don't drive and need the reception desk for anything other than checking in or out, then this was a great hotel. Easy walking distance to the shops, Bourke St mall etc and all of Melbourne's other attractions.

The room we stayed in was a bit weird but had everything you need (sofa, desk, kitchen). The bathroom extends into the room and is contained by opaque glass walls. Given it was only a couple of feet from the bed it can make for some interesting shadows when one needs to, how to say this, use the facilities. Makes me appreciate my 2 metres between the bed and ensuite at home.

Room Tip: There is a night club down stairs behind reception, maybe try for a room on one of the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It is pleasing to hear your comments about it being a good and great hotel and that you found the room unusual but nice.

Actually as we have our restaurant,serviced offices and conference rooms occupying the 1st to the 4th floor our guest rooms only start from the 5th floor and as a result the noise from the sports bar on the ground floor does not carry to the rooms.

We do appreciate you taking the time to send your feedback and do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Started bad with the car park being ridiculously small and tight, not good for 4x4's let alone a small car.
Had to walk the ramp to 'reception' not good for the elderly or mobility impaired and totally unsafe.
Couldn't find reception, conceurge
Was totally unhelpful but pointed out reception which was basically outside and back in again via another door.
Finally got to our room with us taking our own luggage on a trolley like bellboys
When we got to our room it seemed really small compared to Internet pictures and only catered for 2 when we'd booked for 3. Toilet was next to bed, yay, not!
Cupboards were to high, so people under 5" 3, would need a chair.
Upon calling reception fir another wine glass, our friend decided to complain about the room as it wasn't what it was in the pictures and mentioned we would be going to Trip Advisor. 5 mins later we had a call from reception asking if we'd like to see a different configuration of our room, we accepted and followed her to a room on a lower level which was clearly a completely different room and looked exactly like the one we originally booked from wotif.
We asked to be moved, again moving ourselves without hotel assistance.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.

It is unfortunate that there were certain aspects that you did not enjoy. For your next visit please note that in addition to the ramp there are lifts from the basement where the car park is located to the reception which is on the ground floor.

Unfortunately we do not offer porter service and this is what is advertised as well however we are more than happy to assist if help is requested.

We are glad that you enjoyed the room that you were moved into as we have do different confurations in all our room types.

Again,thank you for your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Given there are many apartment hotels, why might you not choose this one?
It wasn’t a good start that I rode up and down the lift a few times trying to find reception. It’s off to the side of the entry doors, but not at all well signed. I then had to walk up steps to get to the lift area, which won’t suit people with bulky luggage or mobility problems.
The suite had two rooms with a bathroom in between.
The only phone cabled in though was in one of the bedrooms, not on the work bench that ran below the windows. I couldn’t figure this out, especially given there was a phone connection at the bench but it wasn’t live. I double checked with reception but this really was the normal room layout.
The cupboards were quite high. I just reached the glasses so someone who’s really, really short won’t manage at all.
The pool is outdoor and overshadowed, so having looked forward to it, I had to forgo that idea.
Looking around the breakfast room what I saw was mainly lower level business travellers and budget groups.
The bonus is being across the road from the Rialto. I ate well on the first night at Merchant Osteria between the C19th Rialto hotel and the Rialto tower foyer then the next night had a few drinks and delightful bar snacks at Bar Lui, part of the Vue de Monde (sic) restaurant. Expensive but a great view of Melbourne and the bay, ~40 floors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksCollins, Manager at Oaks on Collins Street, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and to offer us your feedback.

It is most unfortunate that you missed the reception as we have fairly large signage at the front of the property indicating where the reception is. There is also a ramp to one end and a lift beside concierge so please look out for them on your next visit.

We also have different configurations in the rooms with cupboards and shelving so am sure we would be able to assist with one that is comfortable for you.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oaks on Collins Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins Street

Address: 480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins Street 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Otel and Venere so you can book your Oaks on Collins Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Collins Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.