We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oaks on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Oaks on Collins to your Saves list
Oaks on Collins
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good but disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Good hotel, top spot in Collins St, CBD and close to the centre of town, walking distance to casino and convention centre.
Be wary of staying in any room that ends in 11. These are interior rooms with no outside windows. No clock! You wake up and have no idea if it is 3am or 9am. Hopeless if you have to be at a meeting (like I was) and sleep in. I guess that's why it was cheaper (booked on wotif.com)
Good sized room with kitchen facilities.
Tiny bathroom.
Good restaurant and bar.
Better value in other places though

Room Tip: don't get an interior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Thank you for your review of Oaks on Collins. We are glad that you found the location of the property to be convenient to many of Melbourne. We are disappointed though to note that you did not enjoy your room and that this impacted on your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to another of our properties in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    230
    282
    167
    99
See reviews for
70
284
63
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I also was reluctant to book here for the following reasons- 1. The reviews on here and some of the negatives were very true.2. Both times i contacted reception via phone during enquiry and booking stage the customer service was very poor and nearly put me off coming all together. The guy was soo rude and in a rush and the woman also treated me like 'just a number'. Anyway I continued to stay here as they had the price and location I was after. The room- well as soon as we walked in the carpet had terrible stains everywhere. Its known that you are staying somewhere were other people have stayed but you don't want to have that feeling when you are on a holiday. The carpet really should be replaced. Otherwise room was tiny! Would not recommend at all unless you will be out most of the time. It was clean but linen had a funny smell. Toilet configuration was strange and weird. No exhaust so steam from shower set off fire alarm as jst next to bed! Fun! The tv was ridiculous! So small- do not stay here if you like to watch tv. Only can watch it from the couches not in bed! We watched movies from our laptop instead.kitchen was fine. Not good view even though it was studio executive which you get for the view. The pro..Location! Walking distance from everything. Would not stay again! Had a positive experience at Oaks Lonsdale in the past, much nicer and alot bigger!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
Thank you for posting your review. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Oaks on Collins. We have shared your comments with the Hotel Manager to address the customer service issues you have raised. It is pleasing to note you have previously enjoyed staying with us at other Oaks locations and we hope we may be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I found the staff rude, disinterested and unhelpful. I would only recommend this hotel to an enemy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments regarding the staff and service received during your stay are very concerning and we offer our apologies for any upset you may have experienced. We would appreciate the opportunity to investigate further and request that you contact us directly with any further information or comments at customerfeedback@theoaksgroup.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Before booking into the Oaks on Collins I read numerous reviews on here, both good and bad, but decided to take a leap of faith! And I was very impressed when we arrived and glad we booked in here. We had not stayed in a 3 star hotel before but since it was just for 2 nights and we did not plan on spending that much time in the room it did not matter - after all the purpose of the trip was to see all Melbourne had to offer. The room was a very tidy, well presented and a good size (3 of us stayed in the studio executive) - bathroom was not huge, but was fine for 1 person at a time. Location is great!! Only a short walk to some of the best shopping areas/laneways in the CBD area and awesome restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would definitely be back and recommend to others :)

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room with a window and on the Collins Street side for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
It is lovely to read that you were impressed with our hotel at Oaks on Collins.

It is always so nice to read that our guests had a great experience not only at our hotel but also in Melbourne.

Our hotel on Collins Street is in a great location, as you have mentioned, as is great to explore all that Melbourne has to offer.

We will pass on your warm words to our Hotel Manager about the friendly and helpful service you received.

We do look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast Qld Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Never have I stayed in a hotel and not had a window, weird feeling. You dont know what time of the day it is.
Not a budget hotel but, room was large but have seen bigger bathrooms in a caravan, not joking. Front service desk, had trouble with anyone speaking English, and this is Melb. Not friendly at all, will never stay there again and wil tell friends accordingly. Disgusted!

Room Tip: Dont stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
We are very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us at Oaks on Collins was not suitable.

It is very disappointing that you didn’t enjoy the accommodation and that you had difficulty communicating with the Hotel Staff.

We appreciate you feedback and hope you will consider staying at another one of our Oaks properties in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Loved Oaks on Collins.
Nice spacious room with good facilities. We really enjoyed our time there and have only not been able to return because it has been full. Will book in advance next time as this is the best of the places we have stayed in Melbourne recently by far.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
We appreciate your positive feedback regarding your stay with us.

It is wonderful to hear that you really enjoyed the accommodation at Oaks on Collins and we would definitely love to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leongatha, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The staff here are more than helpful. The room is compact has everything you need and very clean. The room was quite hot turned the air con off to no avail. Opened the door to balcony and welcomed the fresh air. Bathroom small. Short stay only.

Room Tip: Make sure it has a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks on Collins, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for your warm words regarding the service you received during your stay with us at Oaks on Collins.

We appreciate your feedback and do hope you will consider staying with us again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#81 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
0.7 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.2 mi away
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks on Collins

Address: 480 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks on Collins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oaks on Collins is located in the heart of Melbourne’s business and financial centre, opposite Rialto Towers. Just outside the door is the city’s vibrant entertainment, restaurant, and shopping precinct, while Bourke Street, Southgate, the Crown Entertainment complex and Telstra Dome are a short stroll away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Oaks on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Collins Street Hotel Melbourne
Oaks On Collins Street Melbourne
Oaks Collins
Oaks Hotel Melbourne
Oaks Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oaks on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.