We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, good value, convenient location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #6 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, good value, convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

This was a really nice hotel, with everything remodeled to look very hip & very green. The location is quite convenient, in central Melbourne near the train station. You're not right in the busy hub of things, but not far from it either. We could walk to everything from here. The staff was very nice & helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    441
    307
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
136
334
74
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Paid $145 for a studio on first floor and was very happy with it. Rang up and booked hotel about hour before arriving, so was happy to just get a room at all, but it turned out to be a very nice place. The girl at the desk was very friendly -- it's not so much that she went out of her way to be helpful, but she was genuinely friendly (rarer than it should be in the "hospitality" industry). The room was smallish, but very clean, with modern, stylish (if understated) fittings. The view was a little disappointing (into a laneway), but wasn't expecting much for the first floor, and hey, you can't win 'em all. I'm sure there are rooms with nicer views available anyway! Location is very handy -- just across road from spencer street station, which means it is just acorss road from skybus to airport and all public transport options and taxis. It might not be the prettiest end of the Melbourne CBD, but its only a stroll (10-15 mins) to Fed Square, the shops of Collins St, etc.

I also want to give this hotel a shout out for being so green! environmental responsibility might not be the most important criteria on everyone's list, but I think it's great. well done guys, I hope more hotels do the same!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I stayed in Room 303 (Studio apartment). It was comfortable, spacious and clean for one or two people. It has everything you need in the kitchenette (microwave, plunger of coffee, toaster, kettle, crockery & glassware plus tea and coffee making facilities and refrigerator). You also have a safe in the room. The bathroom is clean but not bath. There is a desk to put your laptop, with internet connection (this is a plus). Note that internet is free up to 500MB. Also, there is comfortable queen size bed and beside tables. There is a good flat LCD TV. The hotel is located on a quiet street. It is only 3’ walk from the Sky Bus and a few blocks from the City Centre. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is served in the small lounge on the ground floor; breakfast is good with a basic selection of continental breakfast and fruits. If you choose the hot breakfast, you can select what you want from the menu and the Chef cooks for you. The check out is quite early at 10am but you can request a late check out (only until 11am) and storage your bags/suitcases at concierge. What I did enjoy the most were: 1 – the espresso coffee machine in the lounge area where guests can themselves make a nice coffee take-away (you can save some dollars if you are addict to coffee). 2- The “relaxation room” where you can watch DVDs, use the automated massage chair or just relax over there (you can hang a “no disturb sign”). Overall, I would definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. My Studio room was a little on the small side (particularly the bathroom), but compared to London standards, it was still quite roomy. The hotel has a genuine commitment to being 'green' by using all Wind/Solar electricity, harvesting their own cleaning water from the roof, composting organics, etc. None of the choices affected the quality of my stay, and it actually made me feel happy I had chosen the hotel.

The location is excellent. It's an easy walk from the Airport SkyBus and trains at Southern Cross Station, and a tram runs up Bourke Street from the front door. They have double-glazing on the first few floors which does tend to limit the ever present city noise, although I can't say it was the most restful sleep I've ever had.

The restaurant is intimate, but the service and food was excellent.

Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinole, CA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

These folks do everything right.
Studio room - fairly large, kitchenette, nice shower, good internet access, comfy bed.
Very friendly and helpful staff, front desk and in the bar/cafe.
Super location at edge of CBD, 1/2 block from Southern Cross RR terminal and airport bus.
Excellent breakfast, fine dinner choices.
Go on hotel's website, look for specials (my booking included internet and breakfast).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I arrived at 8:30am and checkin wasn't until 2, the Alto looked after my bags and took them to our room so when we returned and checked in we just had to take ourselves to our room. The room was very neat and tidy and had everything we needed. The foxtel channels were a hit with the kids and kept them occupied. The same applied on checkout, we left our bags at the Alto as we had a late flight. We had a fantastic holiday, trams and trains so close by and walking distance to many of Melbourne's attractions. Would strongly reccommend.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

Wonderfully quaint hotel, staff helpful & caring.
Massage chairs fantastic after a hard days shopping.
Will be definitely coming back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.