We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beaut hotel - great feel and lovely staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #6 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Alice Springs
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Beaut hotel - great feel and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Really enjoyed staying at this very boutique hotel. Lovely rooms, great 'green' ratings and really friendly, lovely staff. Used the reading nook waiting for my lift on checkout and the warm fire was really appreciated. If I stay in Melbourne again, I'll stay at Alto :)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    317
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
143
344
75
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I loved this hotel, it wasn't sterile like others and had some character to it. Very Melbournish! I stayed in a one bedroom apartment, which was large, with kitchen and best of all a big spa bath. Nice views across the street to a church. The dinner in the restaurant down stairs was delicious, though service was a little slow. Make sure you make full use of the fire place, reading area and massage chairs FREE OF CHARGE. Parking was a pain, being down the road and around the corner, also having to return the gate opener every time and all the one way streets around the block got me lost. But that's to no fault of the hotel. Service could be happier, but I was a happier customer regardless. OH and they have free gym passes to the Fitness first just a block away if you feel the need to exercise.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, October 30, 2009
Based on similar feedback we recently changed our our car parking process so that each parking space has a remote control that can be kept by the guest for their entire stay. Most guests have found this much more practical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, wa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We stayed one night in a 1 bedroom spa apartment which was well appointed, very clean and well maintained. The bed was a bit firm but we enjoyed having the TV in the bedroom as well as the lounge. Our room was very much as pictured on the website.

Car parking was close by and reasonably priced. We appreciated the extra things like the coffee machine in the restaurant that you could help yourself to, as well as the book exchange at the back of the restaurant. You can easily walk into the city from the hotel which we did with our 8yo son.

We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

Front desk service was very friendly, check in was quick.

We stayed in a lovely 1 bedroom apartment facing the street. The room was spotless and well appointed. We did not use the kitchenette during our stay, but it was nice to have the option (4 burners stove top + fridge freezer and dishwasher). The lounge had an LCD TV and so did the bedroom. The bed was large, comfortable and in good condition (no roll together) but it was a tight squeeze trying to make it down the side of the room to the bed. Apart from that we had very comfortable nights sleep, the bedroom and lounge had separate air conditioning units so we could heat the bedroom to our requirements without wasting energy heating the whole apartment.

It was nice being able to open the windows but found the rooms quite cool anyway. The windows are well insulated but there was still dome noise from the nightclub across the road on Friday and Saturday night but nothing I couldn't sleep through.

We dined twice at the hotel restaurant, it was very small but the staff were very friendly and courteous and the food divine. I recommend the Eye fillet steak and the Kangaroo carpaccio.

Handy location, short walk to the sky bus and train station. Short walk to the free city tram stop and exhibition center.

Internet was $1.50 for 15 mins with a maximum charge of $10 per day as long as the 500MB limit was not exceeded

I enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

The room was great, the bed was incredibly comfortable. I loved the fact that it is 100% wind power. But the front desk seemed a little snooty. Maybe I was not as well -dressed as their usual clientele. They also did not allow me to pay for the room through expedia, they made me pay when i checked out. There was no mention about this until the moment of checkout. The front desk could have been a little more friendly in my opinion, for that price, especially when compared against the 4 other aussie hotels we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
In summary we aim to deliver a polite yet informal style of service that is intended above all else to be friendly irrespective of the guests appearance or the price of the room. The greeting was not to the standard that we have set and usually obtain as evidenced by other reviews posted.
Our booking agreement with Expedia does not included payment via Expedia. I understand that Expedia require prepayment for bookings at some hotels, however all of their bookings at Alto are paid by the guest on departure. This should have been made know by Expedia when the booking was made. We ask for payment details on check in, which we understand to be the method of payment for accommodation (unless alrady prepaid) and any other charges which are then settled on check out.
Gary Stickland
General Manager
Alto Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

Had two nights at this Hotel, stayed in a studio room which had heaps of room.
Hotel staff were very welcoming, carparking was very cheap for melbourne at $16.00 a night with the ability to come and go during the day as we pleased.
We were amazed at how quiet the rooms are, being so close to the Train Station and with a tram line right outside, it was the quietest night sleep we have had in Melbourne for some years.
Nice little restaurant/bar downstairs where we received complimentary nibbles with our drinks.
Loved the use of the Free Massage Chairs after a long day. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days and was pleasantly surprised by the opening windows and cleanliness of the rooms. There were a few issues with the kitchen on a particular night, but when I did eat there the food was of an excellent standard and the staff more than made up for the issues that were experienced. I would highly recommend this hotel to business or pleasure travellers. Its close to train and tram stations and has some other excellent restaurants close buy. Not to mention the fact that DFO is right across the road. Oh and the fact that the hotel is completely green for me is a winning factor.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.