We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #6 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Paarl, South Africa
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Ideally located and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We chose this hotel for its location and family orientation. The rooms were compact but served our needs well. We made use of the breakfast offerings which were above average. Staff always accomodating and helpful - visible presence of the GM which is why they work well. Wifi available and eve a massage chair room for weary travellers. Close to the station and tram stops, coffee shops all round.

Room Tip: Higher th ebetter to escape street noise - better at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    320
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
146
346
75
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a good find in Melbourne. Very good location, efficient staff and clean rooms. Good value for Melbourne.

The rooms have foxtel, good heating and free wifi Nothing too fancy, but modern, clean rooms with a fridge and a small kitchen. I had a quite room with double glazing.

A good option is the really nice cooked breakfast in a cozy room

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had four days in Melbourne as a family (2 boys aged 16 and 12). A compact 2 bed apartment had it all. Double and a twin, two TVs, foxtel, two bathrooms and free wifi. Friendly staff, boutique restaurant that a great breakfast and we enjoyed dinner there one night - something for everyone. Location is superb - tram stop just outside and 2 mins walk from airport shuttle bus. Will go back as a family and when in Melbourne on business.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungog
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a great choice for many reasons. Location to sky bus works effectively if you are flying in or out of Melbourne, and tram and train services allows easy access to all that Melbourne has to offer.
Breakfast was more than good, all staff were friendly and professional, rooms were exceptional in their cleanliness and the room was well laid out. The 'green' credentials were important to us.
The library and access to tea and coffee whenever was also much appreciated.
A charming little oasis that served us well and will be our hotel of choice when in Melbourne. The management and staff are doing a great job.

Room Tip: Towards the back on the higher floors to avoid some tram noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stay here now whenever I come to Melbourne for work. Comfy beds, nice clean rooms, free fast wi-fi, and the windows actually open, so you can get some real air!! The staff are always friendly and helpful, and I really don't have any complaints.
I generally book a Petite Queen room, as I don't need anything more than that. When I'm travelling for work, I just need a nice place to sleep, and this ticks all those boxes..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel that prides itself on being eco-friendly. Small number of rooms, and likely better for business or couple travelers, but the rooms are spacious, very clean, and have quite comfortable amenities. Their restaurant serves limited hours, but sources local and organic foods and the bar makes most of their own mixers. I was pleasantly surprised by the homemade ginger beer that didn't cost me much at all!
Good service, and close to city center as well as airport transit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

the Alto Hotel on Bourke was in a great spot for the airport shuttle, the tram, Spencer street station and close to everything we needed. The room was well appointed and clean. Have nothing but praise for our stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.