We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel that is Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #9 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel that is Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I recently visited Melbourne on business and stayed at Alto on Bourke Street. This was my time staying at this hotel and I will be returning. To be honest, if you weren't looking for it on Bourke Street it could easily be missed. From the outside there is no great facade and even upon entering the building it is older in style. Check in was smooth and I was on the way to my room in no time. The room was a complete surpirise. Very modern with a more than comfortable bed. The television offers a full Foxtel selection and not just a few channels. The bathroom was clean with plenty of room and rather than have tubes or bottle of soaps and shampoos, the room has dispensing cannisters. Much more efficient. On my first night, I dined at the hotel restaurant. The service and food were good. The staff were friendly and helpful The topper is the value. A nice hotel in the middle of the Melbourne CBD for under $200 per night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    376
    51
    14
    2
See reviews for
175
410
92
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Queensland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Small boutique hotel in good location close to Southern Cross Station and Bourke St mall. Good value for the rate compared to other hotels. Check-in went smoothly and staff friendly and helpful. Room was extremely quiet. Shower worked well with plenty of hot water. Breakfast very good with the usual continental selection and hot dishes cooked to order. Really couldn't fault the hotel. It doesn't have all the frills of a pool, gym etc but these were not important to us. We would definitely stay at this hotel again when we return to Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed three nights at Alto, the check-in by Charlie went very smooth and he was most patient explaining the amenities of the hotel as well as answering tourist type questions about |Melbourne. Our room was clean, bed was very comfortable and there was adequate space to unpack. The hotel has a small dining room, bar and sitting area. Breakfast which can be pre-purchased or bought daily was one of the best we have had on our trip so far. Alto has washer and dryer which is nice when one is away for an extended period of travel. The hotel is also centrally located and within easy walking distance of the Southern Cross Railway Station which is also the central drop-off point for the sky bus from the airport. Cabs are pricey here compared to other cities so taking the shuttle to town can be cost-effective and also convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a fairly new boutique hotel. I am very pleased to see that the actual appearance of the hotel really matches with the photos on the website. In many occasions, the hotel posted great photos and the actual hotel looks dated, The size of the room is a little on the small side. But, everything is well organized. If you are looking for a newer hotel, this is the place,

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Well located in the center, this place can be overlooked. But, don't: the staff is extraordinarily helpful, the rooms are small but adequate, the windows are all double-glazed for quiet, the A/C works well with minimal noise, and their exercise facility is a very nicely equipped gym up the street, 2 minutes away. Unlimited Internet is included, as it should be everywhere else , but sadly is not. If you require a dedicated concierge and a top-flight restaurant in the hotel, this is not for you. In all other cases, you will be pleased.
It was hard to believe, but their one elevator sufficed quite nicely - I do not recall ever waiting more than 20 seconds or so for its arrival - don't know how they did that!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Alto hotel rose well and truly above expectation, mainly because of the kindness of the staff.
Having just been in hospital, I arrived early (11am) to ask if my room was ready (not expecting it to be so), The young lady on the counter, paused said 'no' but I have another room at the front that you're welcome to now.... delays, and says " no better still there is a two bedroom apartment thats ready now ...." Luxury, caught the lift upstairs to a wonderfully spacious apartment with (and this is important) opening windows. Great light filled space and beautifully presented.

On top of that, the young man at the counter, when I asked about trams and transport asked if I had a MyKi card.... what's that? Its a pre-paid travel card. He pulls a card out of his pocket and proffers it. Gives me his own card. Can't thank them enough, especially when asked about good coffee they directed me to perhaps the best coffee/food I've had in some time at a place called Kinfolk just down the road.

Heaven on a stick!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the personal touches you gave us. Such a lovely quiet hotel. Slept so well. Never heard sirens,garbage trucks or neighbours. Stayed at many other locations in Melbourne and this will be my place to stay from now on.
Breakfast was great and I felt like a queen with service. Thank you Alto

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.