We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel which ticked all our boxes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 5% + Free WiFi
Ranked #6 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Mount Gambier
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel which ticked all our boxes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on the Australia Day Long Weekend and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. We were checked in promptly by Andrew at reception, who handled everything with a friendly and professional manner. We liked the fact that we were seeing the same staff most of the time too which makes the experience more personal as well. We stayed in room 307 which was listed as a "Petite" Room. We thought this described the room very well. We were only going to be there to sleep and shower, so it was great. We especially loved the large TV and the extreme number of Foxtel Channels. Everything you wanted was there all in a compact package. And as most mentioned before in reviews the beds are "to die for". We found the room quiet but of course this always depends on your adjoining room neighbours. Location was good for us as it was close to Southern Cross Station which meant we could walk to the hotel. We had breakfast one morning and were happy with that, but the restaurant wasn't open on the nights we stayed for meals so can't comment here. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again next time we need to be in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    305
    40
    11
    3
See reviews for
134
330
74
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Long weekend stay at the Alto with our trip to Melbourne. First impressions are good and the location is excellent from arrival into town on the sky bus from the airport (terminal is <100m from the hotel). Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating when a small issue was noted with the availability of the room (they thought it was made up but it wasn't quite finished). No problems, sorted easily.
Room (studio queen) is typical size but bed is excellent and very comfortable. Aircon worked a treat which was very helpful after high 30 degree celsius days. Good sleeps all nights we were there and virtually no detectable noise from street or near-by train and tram stations/stops.
Breakfast is excellent with full buffet and made to order menu items available. Well worth the decision to book a B&B rate. The coffee was also very good.
Hotel is walkable distance to most things in Melbourne but for those less keen on the pedal mode of transport, there is a tram stop 20m out the front door that has links to the centre of the CBD, casino, Flinders station and all the other tram lines.
Well worth staying at the Alto on Bourke.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We've been to Melbourne many times but only ever as a couple. This time, we had with us our 7 year old child and needed to find something that could accommodate them without encroaching on our personal space or on the budget. The Alto ended up being the perfect place. I'd like to point out those things that really made the difference from a family perspective (there's a few!).

We took the 1 bedroom apartment option. When so many hotels want to charge $50-$100 per night for a child to use a rollaway bed or to sleep in existing bedding, with the Alto, it's $15 per night and they received an entire sofa bed to themselves! The apartment gave us the flexibility of being able to put them to sleep in the bedroom at their normal bed time (which is important when travelling) and allow us to stay up in the lounge/kitchen area without disturbing each other. Also, windows are double glazed so we barely heard a peep from anything outside which was just fantastic!

Having a kitchen in the apartment was excellent - fully working and well stocked with pots, utensils etc. First day, we went to Coles around the corner, bought some essentials and stocked the fridge. Kept the little belly happy for days!

Foxtel - 2 actually (one in the lounge and one in the bedroom). A saving grace when you have a child who is an early riser and you're dying for a sleep in! You can record family movies and shows and all adult content is pin locked. A definite sinful luxury especially if you don't have it at home (we don't!).

Bathroom - Being a typical mum, I packed everything but the kitchen sink expecting those little bottles of shampoo and soap. I could have saved myself the hassle. Excellent quality, environmentally friendly products abound in pump containers which are super handy especially for kids. There was no bath in the 1 bedroom apartment (there are some with baths but you pay extra) but the shower has a detachable, hand held head to facilitate washing. Oh, and did I mention spotless? The entire place is spotless! I've never been in a hotel like it to be honest. The cleaning staff need to be congratulated!

Restaurant - we managed to have a dinner to ourselves one late night (they currently have a special on - 2 courses for $42 including house wine/beer/soft drink). We indulged in T-bone steak, ice cream and meringue. Wow. Well worth it! The free hot chocolates became a fav with our little one who would sit in the reading nook (yes, they have one!) and watch cartoons while sipping away.

Staff - The Staff at the Alto were always engaging and helpful - no matter the time or when we bumped into them (or how hyper our kid was!). For me, this really meant a lot and put our family at ease especially when children are suffering from tiredness and lag.

Location - The Alto is in an excellent location. Having to deal with tired children is a pain but being so close to the Skybus was a blessing! The 85 and 96 tram stop is right out the front which easily takes you to Bourke Street Mall and to connecting trams and the 85 heads straight to Docklands while the 96 goes straight to St Kilda and the Exhibition Centre (which was our reason for coming).

As a last point, the Alto has some fantastic food options around it if you're either looking for something cheap or different (let's face it, not everyone can eat in a restaurant every night!). Every fast food you can think of plus plenty of cafes. If, like us, you have a habit of missing the 9:30am breakfast finish, head next door to Langleys who serve some awesome breakfasts until 12pm.

The Alto really surprised us and surpassed all our expectations. So much so that we've already rebooked for our trip back later this year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Challenging to find an hotel, which does not look like a single room and where you do not feel at home. Alto is different as most of the rooms have a small kitchen stand with a real fridge(bye bye small mini bar full of overpriced items) and you can even book a place that is more like an apartment. We tried the Queen studio, one of the first prices. The hotel is very clean and you get everything that you need: a large TV with Foxtel, fast Wifi, iron in the room, quietness… There is a relaxation room with massage chair and a breakfast(not tested). The room service stops after 11pm but you are in the center so walk to Chinatown if you are very hungry. The service is excellent from the night duty to the maids. Location wise, it is difficult to beat at these prices. You are walking distance from the station where buses depart to the airport every 10 minutes, 5 tram stops from the Collins/Swanston crossing(get your myki) but you can walk as well, especially after a long night when taxis are too busy. The only thing that was a bit disappointed is the size of the room in itself. Not enough to stay inside for a long time. Compared to the Citadines, it is smaller. Having check the prices, Alto always beat the others accommodation although sometimes not significantly. Reflecting on this, you are not staying in the CBD to remain in your room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My family and I stayed for a short 4 night (31 January - 3 February) stay. We flew in from Queensland as we had my daughter's wedding to attend in Melbourne and found this hotel and the location and facilities very acceptable. The daily servicing of the unit was impeccable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating whenever we had need of them. We stayed in the two bed unit. It was VERY COMPACT but enough room and storage space for 3 adults and two children aged 4 and 1 year old. Parks etc are within walking distance to keep the littlies 'entertained' when they needed to get outside! We found the units to be well sound proofed (hope the neighbours on both side of our room did too!) The kitchenette was great for our early, early morning awakenings and breakfast preparations! The 2 bathrooms were a bonus especially with tight time frames for the follow up and post wedding meet-ups!! Thank you to all at the Alto On Bourke.... The Fell/Gribble Families...

Room Tip: Our air conditioned 2 bedroom unit was on the 4th floor (room 409)... No "view" to mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The staff provided excellent friendly and helpful assistance during our stay.
Well located and reasonably priced for location but can be a little expensive depending on time of year and if any events happening.
Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Nice and central, clean and quiet , value for money with kitchenette for ease of heating foods in own microwave. LOVED the free massage room chairs with foxtel. Not your run of the mill chairs, better than some massages lve received off walk in places in town. Unobtrusive staff make coming and going a non issue. Stayed 3nights and slept in 2 due to quiet house keeping (do believe wasn't busy though),this in itself is a real treat as most places bang around w house keeping from early am! Thank you alto. Got more than what l paid for which is rare. Will try spa suite next.

Room Tip: Book online through alto to get best value. I didn't but could have got better deal if l had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne’s multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room, smokers lounge & wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.