We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Save 5%
Ranked #5 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My family and I stayed for a short 4 night (31 January - 3 February) stay. We flew in from Queensland as we had my daughter's wedding to attend in Melbourne and found this hotel and the location and facilities very acceptable. The daily servicing of the unit was impeccable. The staff were very friendly and accommodating whenever we had need of them. We stayed in the two bed unit. It was VERY COMPACT but enough room and storage space for 3 adults and two children aged 4 and 1 year old. Parks etc are within walking distance to keep the littlies 'entertained' when they needed to get outside! We found the units to be well sound proofed (hope the neighbours on both side of our room did too!) The kitchenette was great for our early, early morning awakenings and breakfast preparations! The 2 bathrooms were a bonus especially with tight time frames for the follow up and post wedding meet-ups!! Thank you to all at the Alto On Bourke.... The Fell/Gribble Families...

Room Tip: Our air conditioned 2 bedroom unit was on the 4th floor (room 409)... No "view" to mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    284
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
122
309
69
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The staff provided excellent friendly and helpful assistance during our stay.
Well located and reasonably priced for location but can be a little expensive depending on time of year and if any events happening.
Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
renmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Nice and central, clean and quiet , value for money with kitchenette for ease of heating foods in own microwave. LOVED the free massage room chairs with foxtel. Not your run of the mill chairs, better than some massages lve received off walk in places in town. Unobtrusive staff make coming and going a non issue. Stayed 3nights and slept in 2 due to quiet house keeping (do believe wasn't busy though),this in itself is a real treat as most places bang around w house keeping from early am! Thank you alto. Got more than what l paid for which is rare. Will try spa suite next.

Room Tip: Book online through alto to get best value. I didn't but could have got better deal if l had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We spent 4 nights in Melbourne and were very pleased with our choice to stay at The Alto. It's in a great location close to Southern Cross Station with easy access to trams, restaurants, cafes and all other attractions.
With their environmentally friendly approach, rooms are provided with soap, shampoo and conditioner and lotion dispensers which is a really nice touch as well as energy smart control systems.
The free Wi-Fi included in the tariff is also a really big plus.
The staff are friendly and more than happy to help with anything you need. There is free tea and coffee and fruit in the lounge area which includes a cute little reading nook and a fantastic relaxation room with massage chairs which are wonderful after a long day walking the city.
Breakfasts were amazing with plenty of choices.
We'll definitely be staying again next time we're in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Very comfortable - stayed there twice and the rooms have always been clean and tidy. I like having the Foxtel versus the usual hotel entertainment system. Nice to be able to watch HD TV in my downtime and even record programmes for later viewing.
Good in room facilities and like the green approach.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Bourke St will be quieter. Double glazing on windows anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Such a great place to stay. From the staff at reception to the quality of the room the Alto Hotel is fantastic. It is in an excellent location so close to Southern Cross Station and on the city tram line. Our room was spotless and very quiet, the beds and pillows were the best we have experienced anywhere. We loved the 'green' credentials of the hotel, they have thought of everything even down to the soap, shampoo and body lotion dispensers in the bathroom. Well done, we look forward to returning next time we are in Melbourne.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My special needs son and I stayed here and will so again in Melbourne. We asked for a room at the back away from main Street and away from elevators, as he is sensitive to noise. Staff were happy to help. Lovely interior, lovely clean, modern rooms. Fantastic location in Melbourne. Breakfast was very good. Our plane was delayed for our departure, but staff were happy for my son and I to use the massage chairs and relaxation room to wait.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the small alleyway, it will be quieter, but less to see of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne’s multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room, smokers lounge & wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.