We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #6 of 169 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Free Foxtel IQ which is my first encounter with this. For the first time I really felt I was at home being able to easily record and watch a program. Very friendly and competent service. Had a small challenge and someone was in my room resolving my issue within 5 minutes. They were keen to make sure everything worked easily.
Room service menu was reasonably priced and was good quality, delivered promptly.
Cosy little dining area in the morning - felt very boutique. Very comfortable room - my new favourite place to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    320
    44
    11
    2
See reviews for
146
347
76
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Streaky Bay, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Convenient location to tram spot out front & close to Spencer St bus train station & Spencer St outlet shopping. Staff extremely helpful. Short walk up to Bourke Street Mall & major retail precinct. Two tram stops from Crown Casino. Our 3 bedroom 3 bathroom apartment was serviced daily. Loved the soft sheets

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wodonga, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed at the Alto several times before (in fact we normally stay there when we come to Melbourne if they aren't booked out). We have stayed in the 1 bedroom spa apartment and the petite queen rooms. Everything about this hotel is fantastic. They are incredibly eco-friendly (dispensers on the walls in the showers instead of little bottles of shampoo etc.) and are powered by wind power. The building is just beautiful. The rooms are always comfortable and the beds are always good for a perfect nights sleep. There is hardly any noise that you would expect to hear being in the CBD but that could be from the double glazed windows.
This time we were there for a wedding at Docklands. Previously we have caught the train down (we live in Northeast Victoria) and stayed there to go to the Melbourne Show. This hotel is close to Spencer Street (Southern Cross) Station and the nearest tram stop is right outside the door. There is also parking at a nearby parking facility if you need it but be sure to book as there is limited parking space.
We love everything about this hotel. And the complimentary coffee in the bar is a nice touch too. We recommend it to all our friends who end up going to Melbourne. If you haven't stayed in this hotel yet, do yourself a favour and try it out. Its amazing and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: 302 we stayed in this time but they are all good no matter what room you stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom deluxe apartment - 3 adults and a 3 year old. The location was fantastic, the service was great and the facilities were great. The room was very, very compact though. The stairs to the bedrooms above were very steep so that we had to watch our daughter (3 year old) all the time to make sure she didn't navigate them on her own. So, all in all, a great base to explore the city but not really a room you would or could spend a lot of time relaxing in.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back off Bourke St. There was some construction noise on the weekday morning but Sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

2 nights booked over the phone with ease, needed to have our car parked over the weekend whist attending another function outside of the city and Alto took care without excess expense.

Nice smaller style room but very comfortable with small kitchen to eat in (Coles walking distance away). Beds were super comfortable and lovely warm doonas for those cold Melbourne nights.

Enjoyed a beer in the lounge and staff were friendly and wide awake even at 4:30am when we had to check out.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Alto is very close to Southern Cross railway station which has a bus service every 10 minutes to Melbourne airport. The room I had was very clean, with a nice comfortable bed, a quality TV (much better than you find in Las Vegas), small fridge, large sink, toaster, ironing board and iron, hair dryer and an umbrella which I soon found out I had to take with me every day outside (nice touch). The bathroom was well stocked and my wife said the "Lotion" an other ladies items was of good quality. There is an office type chair with a large desk and free WiFi and USB hub for laptops which I had no use for so I cant comment on that. There is also another armchair. There is probably more but I'll just say that the owners have taken no shortcuts in providing everything of quality to make this feel like a home away from home. There is a small restaraunt near the entrance which has a very good breakfast and dinner. They have also got their own honey which comes from the bees on the roof, very yummy and not diluted like in supermarkets. Also a machine that dispenses hot coffee, tea etc. and my favorite... Hot Chocolate 24 hours every day and complimentary. I will definately be returning here for my next visit to Melbourne. Why look anywhere else?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Well presented apartments with small (but adequately sized) bedrooms and good facilities. Has an eye on environmental issues with recycling bins in suites and use soap, shampoo and moisturiser dispensers rather than wasteful individually packaged soaps and lotions.
Obliging staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.