We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alto - Melbourne's hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #6 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Kurri Kurri, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Alto - Melbourne's hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel offered many of the 5 star luxuries without the pretense and price tag.It was clean,, beautiful linens, adorable library/rest nook and massage chair room as well as a coffee machine in the mini-restaurant that guests were able to use free of charge at any time of day. Also free wifi. Location - close to Southern Cross Station, with a tram stop practically outside the door and 3 stops to the Bourke Street Mall - so convenient.

The Staff were also efficient, friendly and professional.

For the Greenies - it is eco' friendly and has the awards to prove it. If you are not a lover of recycled loo paper though, might be a good idea to take your own! Ditto tissues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    319
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
145
345
75
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just spent 6 nights here to be tourists in Melbourne, especially to see the Monet exhibition but also to see other places around and outside the town.
Rooms
We had an ordinary room, bed, en-suite, arm chair, ergonomic computer chair, fridge, coffee/tea making facilities, microwave, plates, cups, cutlery, free wifi. We could have eaten in the room if we chose but there were actually lots of eateries nearby and the hotel listed their favourites in the room guide, which was great.
The room faced onto flats and there was a loud airconditioning unit, not the hotel's, on the roof below. The noise was horrible if the windows were open, unnoticeable if they were closed. However, I did find that a bit claustrophobic. Basically the rooms were small but functional. I wouldn't want to spend too much time there.
Staff
Staff were friendly and approachable but didn't seem to know too much of the area (restaurants on a Sunday evening) or the facilities that are advertised such as the car available on the goget scheme.
Location
Brilliant for taking the Skybus to and from the airport, for hiring a car at the Southern Cross train terminal, for visiting Ethiad Stadium, for tram transport around Melbourne and lots of local restaurants including Movida and Bistro Vue.
Overall, recommended for tourists in Melbourne.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same way. No street noise but noise from local a/c units is loud if the windows a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenethorpe, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

8 couples met a the Alto Hotel from all over Australia. We loved it's close proximity to the stadium. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was great, with fresh food and friendly staff. A nice touch having apples in bowls at the front stairs. The rooms were comfortable and quite. The Alto is within walking distance of hundreds of restaurants. We loved and Melbourne and the Alto we will be back. Most impressive was the Wallaby Win!!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just had two separate stays and I must say it was perfect for us. My wife, I and our son were over to support the Lions and having a serviced self-contained apartment was ideal. The position on the edge of the CBD could not have been better - opposite Southern Cross station and on the tram lines. The rooms were small but were well maintained and it was well stocked. Certainly if we returned we would certainly stay again. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is my second stay at the Alto. It is very clean and comfortable, friendly staff and a very cosy and warm reading room. The "Green" philosophy is great also. It's well located and walking distance to Bourke Street Mall for those who like to shop!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Alto. I really like the 'Green' philosophy of this hotel but enjoy the cleanliness of the rooms and the very friendly and helpful staff more. Both trips have been for work but I will be back for fun sometime soon. Very comfy bed as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuranda, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want maximum convenience, superb comfort and awesome service at a great price. Modern decor, quiet and very comfortable, the Alto has it all. I've never slept in a more comfortable hotel bed and even though Melbourne was extremely cold while I was there, the bed and suite were toasty. Very eco friendly and the rooftop honey at breakfast time was delicious. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: My room at the back of the hotel was very quiet. Also, when booking opt for the extra $16 and get br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.