We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice as nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates - Book Direct
Ranked #9 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Twice as nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at the Alto. I really like the 'Green' philosophy of this hotel but enjoy the cleanliness of the rooms and the very friendly and helpful staff more. Both trips have been for work but I will be back for fun sometime soon. Very comfy bed as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kuranda, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is the place to stay if you want maximum convenience, superb comfort and awesome service at a great price. Modern decor, quiet and very comfortable, the Alto has it all. I've never slept in a more comfortable hotel bed and even though Melbourne was extremely cold while I was there, the bed and suite were toasty. Very eco friendly and the rooftop honey at breakfast time was delicious. Will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: My room at the back of the hotel was very quiet. Also, when booking opt for the extra $16 and get br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank My0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craigmore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We chose alto due to its location and it looked really nice to spend our first wedding anniversary. The hotel is walking distance from the sky bus and train station. Room was ready early which was a bonus. Rooms were spacious and clean. Bed was super comfortable. We loved the massage chairs. We had breakfast included in our room price. There were plenty of choices we settled for French toast and pancakes. The Sunday morning they were very busy and we thought they had forgotten about our orders. If in Melbourne again and wanted to stay a little bit more luxurious we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazdaCraigmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the weekend in a 2br apartment, it was very comfortable, nice & quiet. The staff were very helpful & pleasant. The beds very extremely comfortable. Furnishings were very nice. All in all a great little hotel. Tram outside, taxis and Skybus around the corner

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annier127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

All hotels should be like the Alto. This is a hotel that walks the talk. All the energy is produced by the windmill on the roof and there are no disposable shampoo/conditioner/soap containers that the other hotels use and eventually end up in the land fill. If you're looking for a great business class hotel that has a low carbon footprint, the Alto is one to consider. As an added bonus, they have fantastic staff who go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. A great choice if staying out by Southern Cross station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank businesstripsaswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our stay at the Alto was great. Booked on-line some time ago, and only had to pay a deposit, rather than the whole amount up front. Check-in was smooth and easy, room ready and very clean and quiet. Housekeeping came in swiftly and no hassles. Liked the in-room safe. Breakfast each morning such a bonus, especially being able to have a hot item, otherwise the buffet would have got boring for the 5 days. The location was quite central, near Southern Cross station and Ethiad, although a little bit of a walk to get to Bourke St Mall. Check-out wonderful and they were able to store our bags free of charge for a few hours, then called us a taxi to airport. Great service, would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 255103Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

It was difficult to see this hotel on 11pm arrival. No lights on outside was very strange. Perhaps it was due to their focus on being environmentally friendly. However no lights is unsafe and not welcoming at all. We seemed to woke up the guy on the front desk. Over the speaker he asked how he could help?! Well if the lights were on you could see we have bags and want to check in :/ Room and service was good overall. If they fine-tuned a few things it would be a winner. Old TV with dodgey remote, I gave up trying to fix it. The double windows don't keep out much noise, construction going on next door. Breakfast and 24hr coffee machine was very good. We would probably stay again, major advantage being walking distance to skybus terminal. Taxi to/from city is very expensive.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms along the laneway.. garbage/service trucks and construction on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMuslcesMarinara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 975 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing