We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #8 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stayed on two separate occasions in May 2013 in the budget rooms on the first floor of the Alto. The staff were up front about the "compactness" of the rooms, but with the possible exception of the cramped little bathroom, I thought it was pretty reasonable. I could hear the trams rumble by at night, but I didn't mind that either. The rooms were clean, and the beds were soft. Good linen. Inoffensive modern decor. Everything worked. Free WiFi. The TV appeared to have come off the wall mount in my room, but this did not interfere with my viewing.

The staff were extremely obliging, and happy to share local knowledge. There is a fitness centre close by, to which hotel guests can get access, but given that I am not a gym junkie, instead I made my way down to the Yarra for one of my all time favourite Australian morning riverside runs. The hotel is pretty conveniently placed only a few blocks away if this is your thing.

The Alto makes quite a lot of its green credentials, noting that its electricity is entirely generated by windpower. This might be a problem for you if you believe that windmills cause cancer. I don't, and I think it's a fine thing the Alto is doing.

The hotel is down the unfashionable end of Bourke Street, which means you have a 10-15 minute walk to the fun bits, like China Town. I don't have a problem with that - helps me to digest my dumplings on my way back home at night, but if you're particularly lazy or physically challenged, this might be an issue.

All round, the Alto is great for the business traveller looking for a reasonably priced flop'n'drop in town. It's got all the amenities, whilst being slightly more quirky and personable than some of the bigger franchises going around. Recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    379
    51
    14
    2
See reviews for
182
414
94
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a 3 bedroom unit. Each if us had our own bathroom and we shared a kitchen/lounge area. Everything was clean, and in excellent condition. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing I would rate them down on is the breakfast restaurant. It is too small and the service was slow. However I can easily live with this when everything else was perfect. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I had this hotel booked through my work as I was attending a conference at the Melbourne Convention Centre. The room is a comfortable size, modern amenities, a comfy king size bed and a tram stop is just outside the hotel. Most things (Southern Cross Station, MCEC, supermarket, restaurants) are within walking distance though.

I had 4 nights in a king studio with a "lovely" view of a very close brick wall, I probably would have preferred more natural light as I was working from my room at times during the day. You can hear the faint rumblings of the tram going past and the loud woman talking in the room adjacent, however it isn't enough to be irritating.

The free coffee/hot choc is lovely, the staff are friendly, and I would definately consider staying here again, be it for business or with my partner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsborough, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I discovered the Alto on Trip Advisor. Something in the style and the reviews really attracted me.

I was not let down. The Alto reminds me a little of a place we had stayed at in Barcelona about 12 months earlier. Friendly, casual, an easy home away from home. And I particularly like their environmental standards.

The staff were first class. As an example - we were taking a day trip by hire car down to the Mornington Peninsula. I was unsure just how to get out of the city and onto the tollway. I asked for directions at the desk, and the fellow (whose name escapes me, because I would like to have personally thanked him) loaded a journey on Google maps and then printed it out for me, so that we had specific instructions/directions. Well beyond what I expected (I expected a verbal instruction something like "drive down X road and turn into Y road", etc.)

Location is very handy. Just up the road from Southern Cross Station, it is also an easy walk into the main part of the city and surrounds.

Highly recommended, and now top of my list as my preferred place to stay when in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This cute hideaway in the centre of Melbourne City is a truly amazing place to stay for business, pleasure or both. Counter staff were especially courteous and went out of their way to ensure that our stay is both pleasant and enjoyable. My family and I (3 grown up girls) came to Melbourne for the MBA Graduation (both of my younger girls) at Victoria University. We arrived earlier than the 2PM check in; we were given free coffee and access to the relaxation room with massage chairs! In fact, our apartment was ready much earlier than the 2PM. Room was really clean and shower was amazing! Will definitely choose Alto the next time around!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stay 1 night in May 2013. Decent sized, clean and modern looking room with free wi-fi. Courteous, polite and helpful front desk staff. Booked through hotels.com with yummy hot breakfast provided. Conveniently located, within walking distance to Southern Cross Station. However, need to walk a little to the nearest free City City Tram stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from four nights at the Alto. Excellent location, easy walking distance to everything in the main centre plus Docklands and South Bank. Very comfortable accommodation, we had a two bedroom / two bath with kitchenette (which didn't get used!). Beds were very comfortable, linen crisp and the room was very clean. Very quiet property as well given its central location.

Really appreciated the free Wi-Fi and unfortunately, we didn't get to use the relaxation room but it looked comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.