We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Alto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Mount Barker, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Alto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This would be the 6th time that I've stayed at the Alto & I keep coming back. The hotel is clean & comfortable & the location couldn't be better. A short walk from Skybus, the tram stop is just down the road & it's a couple of minutes walk to Southern Cross station. I stayed with my teenage daughter & the main reason we go to Melbourne is for the football. The Alto is a great location to stay for this reason as it's not only a short walk to Etihad Stadium, the closeness of Southern Cross train station makes it handy for the Yarra sporting precinct (including the MCG) as well. On this stay we had breakfast one morning, but didn't make use of the free coffee or massage room (which is usually on the agenda for us). I'll be staying there again in June & very much looking forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    356
    47
    14
    2
See reviews for
168
386
84
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Very convenient hotel as it is near the Southern Cross Station. The tram is also a few meters away from the hotel. They've got very friendly and helpful staff as well. Rooms are clean and there's free wifi. Just don't stay on any of the four rooms facing Bourke Street. I couldn't relax because of the annoying noise from the trams.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband took me to Melbourne for a couple of nights in March 2012. The Alto was recommended by the travel agent and we were extremely happy with the central location. Trams just out the front and we could walk to almost all CBD attractions. Staff were very friendly, and rooms were very clean.
Great for weekend stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Spent two nights at very Alto. Located near the rail station in the business end of town (which makes it quieter than being mid-town, but is only a 5 min tram ride to the centre of town). Well appointed, very friendly staff. Free wifi. If I had one beef though, we got charged $19 for a salmon and cheese bagel and a juice, because the breakfast staff weren't prepared to serve breakfast ala carte. Lots of other places around for breakfast so we went elsewhere the next day.

Room Tip: All rooms are quite good, but there are rooms located over a service alley, and rooms located in lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Great hotel, conveniently situated walking distance from Southern Cross Station, ideal for the traveler who wants a break between long flights, or waiting for a later flight. We used it as a break after a long flight. Andrew at reception was extremely helpful when we arrived early and were very tired. He offered us the key to the Relaxation Room so that we could wait for our room to be ready, and the room was ready within a half hour and we were very grateful for his courtesy and help. The hotel is very quiet, and the beds very very comfy. The fact we could open the window and get fresh air was an added bonus.We stayed there twice both on our way to USA and back, and would highly recommend this hotel, and would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Just talk to reception when booking as to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel in a great location. Step outside and virtually step into a tram for a short ride to the Mall. Also very close to the Southern Cross Station for catching buses or trains around Vic or the Skybus to the airport.
Comfy beds, windows that open to the fresh air, friendly and helpful staff, free Wi-Fi, 'green' ethos, good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Fantastic little hotel, great location, good price, very helpful staff what more could you wish for? Well maybe the great breakfast, little touches like scales in the bathroom, a washing machine and drying room, free wifi and the most comfortable bed! Did everything they could to accommodate us when we arrived tired and hungry after a long flight. Would highly recommend to anyone visiting Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.