We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #8 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt comfortable. The friendly staff were helpful. We liked the complementary cappuccino available from the machine in the breakfast room We found our room to be very clean and very quiet. The location close to the Southern Cross Station was handy.We are happy to stay again when next in Melbourne .

Room Tip: Away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    379
    51
    14
    2
See reviews for
181
414
93
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Nice room. Very clean. Just as the pictures showed. Centeral location in city. Perfect for our short stay. Not much of a restaurant more of a breakfast bar. When to the casino down te street for dinner was pricey but good pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A very enjoyable stay. Extremely well maintained premises - I suspect they have the painter in every week to brush out scuff marks on walls etc. Very well located near Southern Cross station and the airport shuttle. Breakfast choices not as large as a bigger hotel but very good quality and more than adequate. Very good value for a Melbourne CBD

Room Tip: Ask for a back room if you was a quiet retreat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked the Alto based on reviews and were not disappointed. Check in was a breeze and soon found our room on the second floor. Nice well equipped room with plenty of space and comfortable bed.
Had breakfast included and was served in small comfortable restaurant. Great food and coffee.
Staff were helpful re the trams and provided wifi connection.
We made use of the excellent laundry facilities as well.
All in all excellent location, tram stop outside and close to the train and bus stations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here for three nights this week on business.

This compact hotel is very 'European-style' in appearance, housed in a lovely character building that has been adaptively reused. It has all sorts of green creds, including wind turbines to provide its power and a rooftop beehive to provides its breakfast honey. It is in a great location at the Spencer Street end of Bourke Street, with the tram on your door and a 3 minute walk to Southern Cross Station. It would suit the business traveller or the tourist seeking a city break.

I stayed in a studio. The room was very small but perfectly comfortable, and the bed was great - I had a wonderful sleep every night I was there. I appreciated the kitchenette as I was staying for a few doors. I had a drink in the cosy little bar on the ground floor which is a nice little space (also where breakfast is served but I had my own breakfast in my room as I had an early start each day).

I thought everything about the room and the location was great. My only issue was that I had to make a change to the number of nights I was staying (such that I would be staying three nights instead of four). The hotel was pretty inflexible about this, requiring me to pay a full night for the other night. This is their perogative, but many other hotels would just charge you a half day rate as a penalty (if they charge a penalty at all), and I think that is a better approach to entice return business travellers. I do travel to Melbourne quite often, and will probably consider staying here again, but I will think twice and book somewhere else if there is any chance I might need to have a bit of flexibility to respond to changes in my work requirements etc. So the message is, if they had a little bit more flexibility about booking changes, it would more likey encourage my return patronage on future business trips.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in April 2013. Located on the western end of Melbourne CBD close to Spencer St station. Tram outside the front door. Older style hotel with modern clean and comfortable rooms. Free WIFI. Green credentials are a bonus. Excellent breakfast which we had included in our pay in advance package. Staff were very helpful when my wife injured he ankle providing ice. The massage chairs are great also.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Mee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just stayed 5 nights during the Comedy Festival. Was a return visit to this hotel. Great location, easy walk from Southern Cross Station for access to and from the airport. Tram stop just outside the door or an easy walk into the CBD. Staff are great and the rooms are very comfortable and quiet. Fantastic breakfast buffet, especially good value if you can have it included in the room deal. We are revisiting Melbourne in a week and will be spending another 2 nights at the Alto.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.