We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One for those with 'green leanings'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #8 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One for those with 'green leanings'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Good service and good location; this hotel has wind turbines which provide all its power plus a few other eco considerations such as re-cycling bin in room and none of those tiny bottles of shampoo/ conditioner (there are re-fillable dispensers instead.)
Lots of food options close by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with street frontage rather than alley then there'll be more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    376
    50
    14
    2
See reviews for
174
409
91
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for over 2 weeks in Jan 2013. Felt welcomed from the moment we stepped into this hotel until we checked out. All staff were extremely friendly and accommodating to all our requests. We had a 2 bed apartment over two floors which, although a little small, had everything we needed. Free wi-fi was an excellent bonus and kept our daughter entertained. Fabulous location with trams only a few meters away and Southern Cross rail at the end of the street. Plenty takeaways and restaurants in the locale. Also got great tips on where to eat from the hotel staff. Only went to breakfast once and had no complaints. Great choice. Also made good use of the complimentary fruit and hot drinks machine on a daily basis. Would definitely stay again x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pros:

Room was spotlessless clean and newly decorated. Beds were amazingly comfy. Had everything we needed including the smallest microwave I've ever seen :-)

Hotel is eco friendly, being completely wind powered. They use recycled toilet paper and make it easy to recycle by having a special bin in the room. I thought the skylight was a good touch as well to help save on electricity (we were on the top floor).

Staff were helpful, we were able to arrange late check out for a nominal fee which I thought was totally worth it considering it gave me time to get my toddler into gear for the day ahead.

A few minutes walk from the Southern Cross Station, Sky Bus and tram stops. A few more minutes takes you to a decent sized Coles (supermarket) with a pharmacy, bakery and liquor store as well as fast food eateries. Go the other direction up Bourke St about 10 minutes and you'll come to Hardware Lane which is nothing but great restaurants with live entertainment.

Easy to walk to Southbank, Bourke St shopping area or Harbour Town (well the last one is a good 20 minutes but walking is what you do in Melbourne!). The Alto is in the CBD so it's not at the tourist end but very easy to get to that side by foot if you're in the mood or by the free City Circle tram.


Cons: So small :-) It is Melbourne city centre so space is at a premium. Granted, "small" is a relative term and whether or not you agree will depend on what you're used to. If I'd just come from London or Amersterdam I'd have thought the Alto large or at least "normal". Having arrived from Perth however, our 2 bed superior apartment looked very small indeed.

On balance however it was a good choice and good value. I can't fault them on anything other than the size which is not the hotel's fault and is pretty much par for the course in that part of Melbourne. We enjoyed our stay and I'd be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the side away from Southern Cross station. The hotel is double glazed but the train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We caught the Air Bus from the airport to Spencer Street station. The Alto is within easy walking distance of the station. We arrived before check in time but our room was ready. The two bedroom loft apartment was fairly small with the bedrooms upstairs and the lounge/ kitchen downstairs. The bonuses to the loft apartment were two bathrooms, and two very small balconies which although small enabled fresh air to circulate through the apartment. A tram stop is a few yards from the hotel. Walking distance to Etihad Stadium for any football supporters.

Room Tip: If you are in Melbourne for a few days, choose a loft. Extra space in lounge/kitchen, fresh air and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yallingup, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Staying at Alto in Melbourne reminded me of a neat little hotel I stayed at in Barcelona, the Hotel Denit. I loved that hotel in Barcelona just like I loved the Alto. The room is very modern, appears to have been recently renovated with the latest décor. It had a roomy shower with those groovy soap and shampoo dispensers. There is a hot plate, sink, dishwasher, fridge, cutlery and crockery if you want to make your own food. The room is very compact but if you want to stretch out you can do so in the common room downstairs that has a coffee machine and tea making facilities. It was Easter, so we were treated to some chocolate eggs and there was always fresh apples to eat at reception. This is a very environmentally aware hotel so there is no waste. The location is very convenient to everything, especially the airport shuttle which stops about 200m away, so you just just walk up the road and share a wonderful bus with all the other greenies.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a view from any rooms, so they are probably all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Alto provided three fussy and mature women a most comfortable 3 night stay right in the heart of Melbourne. Very unusual to find a 3 bed, 3 bathroom apartment with all self-contained facilities. Could have done with 2 couches instead of one, but enough seating overall. All the beds have new luxurious bed toppers as well, and crisp quality linen. Very clean, modern and bright in a building with character which felt safe as well. Great location so we didn't need a car for our stay either. Great value for money, I would highly recommend the Alto.

Room Tip: We had to have a 3 bedroom apartment so this came with airconditioner condensors on the roof outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I really liked this small hotel. The locals say it's 'out of the city' but coming from Sydney I think it's in the city!
I stayed with my husband, 2 children and sister for one night. 2 bedroom with fold out sofa.
clean, tidy, newly refurbished.
We flew in, caught the skybus and the hotel is about 2 minutes from the main train / bus station.
Affordable too.
Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.