We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff, excellent accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #7 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely staff, excellent accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We caught the Air Bus from the airport to Spencer Street station. The Alto is within easy walking distance of the station. We arrived before check in time but our room was ready. The two bedroom loft apartment was fairly small with the bedrooms upstairs and the lounge/ kitchen downstairs. The bonuses to the loft apartment were two bathrooms, and two very small balconies which although small enabled fresh air to circulate through the apartment. A tram stop is a few yards from the hotel. Walking distance to Etihad Stadium for any football supporters.

Room Tip: If you are in Melbourne for a few days, choose a loft. Extra space in lounge/kitchen, fresh air and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    340
    47
    13
    2
See reviews for
156
369
78
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yallingup, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Staying at Alto in Melbourne reminded me of a neat little hotel I stayed at in Barcelona, the Hotel Denit. I loved that hotel in Barcelona just like I loved the Alto. The room is very modern, appears to have been recently renovated with the latest décor. It had a roomy shower with those groovy soap and shampoo dispensers. There is a hot plate, sink, dishwasher, fridge, cutlery and crockery if you want to make your own food. The room is very compact but if you want to stretch out you can do so in the common room downstairs that has a coffee machine and tea making facilities. It was Easter, so we were treated to some chocolate eggs and there was always fresh apples to eat at reception. This is a very environmentally aware hotel so there is no waste. The location is very convenient to everything, especially the airport shuttle which stops about 200m away, so you just just walk up the road and share a wonderful bus with all the other greenies.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a view from any rooms, so they are probably all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Alto provided three fussy and mature women a most comfortable 3 night stay right in the heart of Melbourne. Very unusual to find a 3 bed, 3 bathroom apartment with all self-contained facilities. Could have done with 2 couches instead of one, but enough seating overall. All the beds have new luxurious bed toppers as well, and crisp quality linen. Very clean, modern and bright in a building with character which felt safe as well. Great location so we didn't need a car for our stay either. Great value for money, I would highly recommend the Alto.

Room Tip: We had to have a 3 bedroom apartment so this came with airconditioner condensors on the roof outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I really liked this small hotel. The locals say it's 'out of the city' but coming from Sydney I think it's in the city!
I stayed with my husband, 2 children and sister for one night. 2 bedroom with fold out sofa.
clean, tidy, newly refurbished.
We flew in, caught the skybus and the hotel is about 2 minutes from the main train / bus station.
Affordable too.
Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinefleet, East Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Staff were very helpful. In walking distance of most city centre attractions but the tram was right outside the door anyway. Well maintained and well equipped rooms. The food was excellent.

Great value for a city centre hotel.

Close to Southern Cross station and the Airport Skybus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our stay was for three nights. The hotel was close to Spencer Street railway station and the tram passed the door. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, with the bedrooms up stairs which were moderately steep. The kitchen was well equipped for us to provide and prepare your own meals if we had chosen to. The apartment was clean and the beds very comfortable. Our tariff also included parking. The staff were pleased to help with any question. We would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The hotel is well located close to the Sky Bus terminal at Southern cross station and with a tram stop almost outside. My room was compact but not cramped and it was clean and very well equipped. There was even an umbrella in the closet! The staff in reception and the bar were polite, friendly and willing to please; nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast wasn't included in the price but for $16 the 'Continental' breakfast was more than adequate with fruit, muesli, cakes and croissants. For $3 more you could have a cooked selection. There was one sitting chair in my room and I would have liked an easy chair but that is my only suggestion. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Congratulations to all the lovely staff!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.