We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #6 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Hernando, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It's location is easy to find and a short work from southern Cross Station where the airport bus drops you off. We could walk all over Melbourne from the hotel. We liked that it was eco friendly.

Room Tip: Great place. Asked for a quiet and it was very quiet. Staff was very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    330
    45
    11
    2
See reviews for
150
359
77
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My petite queen room is nice and clean and everything a single traveler needs. The bed is very comfortable and I slept well. I was going to say like a baby but that's not always a good thing. The staff are helpful and courteous in the right measure. I like the green environmental policies and actions.. I only wish my little spunk could be here to enjoy this Melbourne stay with me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Had a 1 nighter before the GP race and was pleased to find that was not gouged on price due to limited amount of rooms available.
Got into room early and got an upgrade as well which was a boost.
Hotel reminds me of the european boutique type that you find in major cities.
Rooms were on the small side but well equiped and just what you need when out and about all day.
One thing they have which for me was the creme de la creme in a city centre hotel was secondary glazing on the windows. SO NO STREET NOISE AT ALL.
Finaly a hotel which has thought things through.
Had a brilliant nights sleep and an excellent breakfast in a lovely cozy friendly enviroment.
The hotel is wind powered and has its own honey bees on the roof so they do actualy care about the enviroment and actualy do try to help local producers as the food is all localy bought.
I had to move on the next day to meet friends but wished could have stayed here even longer.
Perfect for a romantic weekend break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didim, Turkey
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We received a very warm welcome from Andrew on our arrival and he helped us with our questions. The hotel is central to everything, tram stop almost outside the hotel door, railway station a very short walk away, also the depot for Sky Express bus to and from Melbourne Airport.
The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good with lots to chose from or the chef will cook a hot breakfast which was delicious. It's a great idea to have free coffee available all day/evening. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the ease in traveling around. We had trouble with the wifi (probably down to us!) but there is a computer downstairs. We would definitely stay here again next time we are in Melbourne. One negative was checking out, perhaps a bit too rushed to get us out. Overall, a well run property, friendly staff, and great location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

From the genuinely warm welcome at the front desk to the chekcout this hoitel offered us a first-rate experience. There was nothing worth criticising. Well, perhaps the man who set up the brekkie was a little slow on getting it ready but, it didn't inconvenience us. If only more hotels were as good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Very friendly checkin service. Delicious complimentary apples! Tidy comfortable rooms. Ideal location. The Alto reminded us of the delightful older boutique hotels we have found in Europe. Very reasonable price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived in Melbourne at 3am, took the airport shuttle to the train station and were very pleased to find out that the hotel was literally only a 2 minute walk as described.

John at the Reception was very friendly, even at the absurd hour in the morning and was more than happy to answer all of our ridiculous sleep deprived questions.

The room was of a decent size and impeccably clean. The shower cubicle was large and water pressure was perfect.

Breakfast was of a deliciously high standard and there was a decent assortment of newspapers to choose from

Would I recommend this hotel? yes. Would I stay there again? definitely

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.