We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Really nice place,central, reasonably priced with breakfast is a treat. Lovely historical building. Cordial reception, immaculate room and surrounding. Very confortable, not too clattered sober and well appointed and spotless. Very friendly staff. Truly eco in many ways. We will certainly go back there if we go back to Melbourne.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    347
    47
    13
    2
See reviews for
158
374
80
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good location for Spencer Street, DFO, Southbank. Little further to other side of Melbourne, but we still managed to walk everywhere (MCG, Queen Vic Markets, Old Melbourne Gaol Lygone Street) Room was good. Clean and a really comfy bed. Air con worked a treat on a 37 degree day. Wifi was not great, didn't bother us as we had our phones, but international guests may want to follow up with reception if having issues. Woudl recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I chose Alto based on its location, size, price and reviews. I was pleasantly surprised, especially when I entered the room. Gone were the red bed spreads, and a new look has been introduced. The bed was so comfy and inviting, with a crisp white sheet as a coverlet, with just a decorative strip at eh base which is easily removed. The desk and chair were sleek, ans the lighting was great. The mini kitchen facilities were totally adequate. The bathroom, though no bath, and on the small side, was tiled brilliantly to give a sense of cleanliness and style. Free wifi everywhere. Did not try the restaurant downstairs, though it looked good. Staff were very nice and helpfully. My room was quiet, # 204.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling Aussie
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay. We were in Melbourne for 4 nights and were really impressed. The hotel is totally Eco friendly, which I didn't know until I got there, but would stay again if back in Melbourne. The breakfast buffet was great and the hot options were as varied as you need it. The room was always very clean. Can completely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Tiny quaint hotel some nice features some not so good. We stayed in a one bedroom flat. Our room was 113. There was no draws for clothing, only one spot clear for a suitcase the second spot was behind a chair in the wardrobe. Tiny table and chairs we couldn't really sit at together. Tasteful decor, very comfy bed. Double glazing ment we got a good nights sleep and could open the windows for fresh air which was nice.
I liked the shampoo conditioner and moisturizer dispenser. Tiny bathroom ment that two of us couldn't stand in the bathroom at once. The room attendants were polite and efficient. The front desk staff were quite nice. The massage room was fun byo DVD drinks and nibbles.

The service in the breakfast room was slow and a bit like McDonald's in quality, which let it down. The fruit choice really was disappointing. Who wants lots of tinned fruit choices not me. It could be improved with more fresh fruit options. No wonder hardly anyone turned up for dinner.

The breakfast buffet had toast and cereal and 7 choices of tinned fruit some dried apricots and apples. There was only a couple of choices of fresh fruit which was the same everyday. Rockmelon and honeydew and watermelon,. One isue was that sometimes it wasn't quite ripe and there was often only a bit of left over peices of watermelon sitting on its juices left over in the bowl. The cooked breakfast was nice and fresh, but the range was limited and the serve was on the small side. I had to pay an extra $2 for the vege breakfast, which I enjoyed.



  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I, together with 2 NZ friends departed the Alto Hotel this morning after 10 nights in a 2 bed/2 bathroom loft appt.
The minute we walked into the room - we felt very comfortable as it was spotless with lovely modern decor. I loved the plantation shutters instead of curtains.
The beds were sooooooo comfortable. The kitchenette was great with microwave, oven etc.
There were 3 air conditioners/heaters altogether.
The front deck were extremely helpful - we appreciated the free apples, hot chocolates,newspapers and the wifi connecton for our ipad and iphones.
The library was in a very cosy settling downstairs.
The parking was around the corner. The trams were a few doors away in Bourke St.
Spencer St station and skybus terminal are half a block away.
There is a Coles supermarket just up from the Sky bus terminal and a small convenience store around the corner.
We ended up having a meal at the restaurant one evening - it was very nice ( comparable price with the other restaurants we went to) and so handy.
The rooms could have been just a little larger - and the washing machine/dryer wasn't all that easy to operate.The 2nd bedroom has a skylight and no window.
I would highly recommend this hotel. We look forward to staying again when we next visit Melbourne

Room Tip: we were in an appt on the 4th floor- at the back of the Hotel - fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and had a great stay in one of their apartment rooms. The hotel is very long and skinny so you are soon back and away from the noisy city road outside. The room would still be quiet as the double glazing is excellent at keeping city noises out (except for rubbish trucks collecting bottle bins at 3am!!). But the room was great and spacious, the bed very comfortable, 2 TV's, a great shower, and a great basic kitchen.

If there was a complaint, there were no shelves in the bathroom for washbags and travel stuff, plus there were no drawers for putting away clothes. But they are very minor gripes. We also arrived by the Skybus from the airport and the hotel is only a 2-3 minute walk from the bus terminal - couldn't be better when arriving tired and hungry.

The front desk was very helpful with directions, maps and advice. Don't expect typical hotel services, large entrance halls, etc. This is a small boutique hotel, very clean, and very comfortable. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.