We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, totally recommend it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #7 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Travelling Aussie
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great stay, totally recommend it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay. We were in Melbourne for 4 nights and were really impressed. The hotel is totally Eco friendly, which I didn't know until I got there, but would stay again if back in Melbourne. The breakfast buffet was great and the hot options were as varied as you need it. The room was always very clean. Can completely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    346
    47
    13
    2
See reviews for
157
373
80
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Tiny quaint hotel some nice features some not so good. We stayed in a one bedroom flat. Our room was 113. There was no draws for clothing, only one spot clear for a suitcase the second spot was behind a chair in the wardrobe. Tiny table and chairs we couldn't really sit at together. Tasteful decor, very comfy bed. Double glazing ment we got a good nights sleep and could open the windows for fresh air which was nice.
I liked the shampoo conditioner and moisturizer dispenser. Tiny bathroom ment that two of us couldn't stand in the bathroom at once. The room attendants were polite and efficient. The front desk staff were quite nice. The massage room was fun byo DVD drinks and nibbles.

The service in the breakfast room was slow and a bit like McDonald's in quality, which let it down. The fruit choice really was disappointing. Who wants lots of tinned fruit choices not me. It could be improved with more fresh fruit options. No wonder hardly anyone turned up for dinner.

The breakfast buffet had toast and cereal and 7 choices of tinned fruit some dried apricots and apples. There was only a couple of choices of fresh fruit which was the same everyday. Rockmelon and honeydew and watermelon,. One isue was that sometimes it wasn't quite ripe and there was often only a bit of left over peices of watermelon sitting on its juices left over in the bowl. The cooked breakfast was nice and fresh, but the range was limited and the serve was on the small side. I had to pay an extra $2 for the vege breakfast, which I enjoyed.



  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I, together with 2 NZ friends departed the Alto Hotel this morning after 10 nights in a 2 bed/2 bathroom loft appt.
The minute we walked into the room - we felt very comfortable as it was spotless with lovely modern decor. I loved the plantation shutters instead of curtains.
The beds were sooooooo comfortable. The kitchenette was great with microwave, oven etc.
There were 3 air conditioners/heaters altogether.
The front deck were extremely helpful - we appreciated the free apples, hot chocolates,newspapers and the wifi connecton for our ipad and iphones.
The library was in a very cosy settling downstairs.
The parking was around the corner. The trams were a few doors away in Bourke St.
Spencer St station and skybus terminal are half a block away.
There is a Coles supermarket just up from the Sky bus terminal and a small convenience store around the corner.
We ended up having a meal at the restaurant one evening - it was very nice ( comparable price with the other restaurants we went to) and so handy.
The rooms could have been just a little larger - and the washing machine/dryer wasn't all that easy to operate.The 2nd bedroom has a skylight and no window.
I would highly recommend this hotel. We look forward to staying again when we next visit Melbourne

Room Tip: we were in an appt on the 4th floor- at the back of the Hotel - fairly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and had a great stay in one of their apartment rooms. The hotel is very long and skinny so you are soon back and away from the noisy city road outside. The room would still be quiet as the double glazing is excellent at keeping city noises out (except for rubbish trucks collecting bottle bins at 3am!!). But the room was great and spacious, the bed very comfortable, 2 TV's, a great shower, and a great basic kitchen.

If there was a complaint, there were no shelves in the bathroom for washbags and travel stuff, plus there were no drawers for putting away clothes. But they are very minor gripes. We also arrived by the Skybus from the airport and the hotel is only a 2-3 minute walk from the bus terminal - couldn't be better when arriving tired and hungry.

The front desk was very helpful with directions, maps and advice. Don't expect typical hotel services, large entrance halls, etc. This is a small boutique hotel, very clean, and very comfortable. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My daughter and I stayed 6 nights at the Alto on Bourke last month. It was a graduation / 21st present for her and a shopping trip that was well overdue. We chose the Alto via the internet and it lived up to everything we expected. We stayed in a one bedroom spa apartment on the fourth floor that was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The staff at the Alto are very friendly and willing to go above and beyond for you, including tracking down a lost article of clothing accidently put out with the hotel laundry! The dining / lounge area is very inviting and great to relax in when your exhausted from all that sight seeing and shopping. The hotel is in a great location from the Skybus with just an easy stroll down the road with your luggage. Easy access to City Cirlce tram too. We had dinner in the restaurant one night that was most enjoyable and the service was faultless. All in all I would highly recommend the Alto on Bourke for your stay in Melbourne CBD, I didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just stayed overnigjt but we will definately be back! Room was excellent, all staff could not be more helpful, some other hotels could take lessons from their front office guys, breakfast was great & suited my "weight watchers" needs to my husnands just givr me an Aussie breakie !!!!. We were close to everywhere & would highly recommend the Alto to anyone for a short or longterm break

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We have stayed here twice and had a nice experience both times. Its a single door entrance into quite a tight space, nothing like grant entrances and luxurious lobbies. Small lift takes you up to your room via narrow corridors. This place has a lovely feel to it despite the limited space.
The room is quite good, has a small kitchen sink and bench, basic facilities, no cooking. Small but comfortable bathroom. Clean. The windows must be double glazed because there was no noise so we slept really well both times. Its located away from the city's main streets which is nice if you want some peace but it does mean a rather long walk up hill or taxi/tram ride to get into the actual city centre. It is however a great location if you want to be near Docklands, Southern Cross station and DFO for shopping. Not very impressed with the breakfast but their service at this hotel was great. Its the most environmentally friendly hotel I've ever stayed at, well done! Overall very happy. Well worth a look

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, T4B and Tingo so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.