We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% off + Free WiFI
Ranked #6 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here in July. It was a very good hotel with a very clean room and comfortable bed. Liked the microwave in the room too. Minutes from the Southern Cross Station so you can take the Air Bus from the airport then a very short walk to the hotel front door. Very nice professional staff managed the reception area. Liked the excellent coffee that was fresh and free all day long. I would have given it an excellent review, but the tram that runs down the street makes a lot of noise from about 5:00AM until 11:00 PM. It's nothing the hotel can control and really not a problem since it is in such a great location. Also worth noting is that I didn't hear any noise from other rooms or the hall. It is a little small and not fancy, but I was looking for a place that was clean, safe, and comfortable as we toured Melbourne.

Room Tip: Ask them if they have rooms that don't have as much noise from the tram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    317
    43
    11
    3
See reviews for
143
344
75
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. Very close to Southern Cross station. Caught a Skybus from the airport to the station, and was 2 minutes walk to the hotel. The staff are excellent, ensuring I was well look after, and very helpful. The room was comfortable and clean, it even had a microwave!! It is very close to Eitihad statdium, so if you are going to Melbourne to watch the AFL, this is the place to stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the loft apartment. The apartment is very compact and if you have any mobility issues getting up and down the stairs with a suitcase would be an issue. In saying that as a base to explore Melbourne it is great, the trams outside get you to most places including St kilda, Docklands and the Casino. City shopping is within walking distance and we discovered great restaurants along little Bourke St. The kitchen is quite well equipped and we took advantage of the great food on offer at the Queen Vic markets.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in the loft apartment. The rooms are not really big but very cozy and comfortable. It had a decent pantry. The toilets were a little small but very clean. The free coffee/cappucino in the lobby restaurant was an added bonus! The hotel is well kept and clean although it looks very old from the outside. The location is also very convenient to train station, trams and dining outlets. We had a pleasant and an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: There isn't any good view but I think all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked the Alto on Bourke for three nights as it seemed to offer the best value/location/comfort in the city and we were not disappointed! The rooms are decently sized, spotlessly clean and well-equipped with an iPod dock, kitchenette etc. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet so we had good sleep every night. Parking is nearby and very reasonable and the free wifi is a real bonus. We looked forward to breakfast each morning - bacon, eggs, pancakes or French toast all cooked to order as well as a nice buffet selection. The hotel is well situated with a tram stop just outside and the free circle tram only a couple of blocks away. In any case, the main sights of central Melbourne are easily accessible by foot.

We had a great stay - thank you Alto on Bourke!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent 3 nights here, the rooms are well serviced, clean and fitted out, a little small but adequate and comfortable. Great thing is that you can actually open a window and get fresh air, not often these days and great. There is double glazing to reduce noise. Restaurant small with a limited menu so if busy get down for breakfast early. Great little relaxation area with a "log" fire and the coffee machine a great add on. Staff helpful. Parking is offsite but only a couple of minutes away. This is a great location for train travellers who want to be central in the city.

Room Tip: Upper floors reduce noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you JJ689 for your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed many of the features we have in place to make our guests comfortable. I hope you also made good use of the free WiFi. Our location is convenience for train and airport express shuttle services and equally convenient for Etihad Stadium, Convention Centre, Aquarium, Casino and a pleasant walk to the Bourke Street Mall & Queen Victoria Market.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed here last weekend. We found the hotel was of good location and comfortable to stay at. I would definitely stay here again. The man at the front desk was very friendly and informative.

We went downstairs for breakfast both mornings we were there. The food was great, however, when I had specificially asked for my egg welldone, only one came back fully cooked all the way. I was disappointed to find this happen on the second day as well, especially after I finished explaining how I wanted my eggs cooked on both sides to ensure that there was absolutely no runny egg (as I am pregnant and any uncooked meat products can harm my unborn child.) None the less, I still enjoyed my meal. I found the price to be reasonable for the quality and the variety on the menu was excellent. I was impressed by this.

The rooms were tidy and the beds were comfortable, as were the pillows. Which at some hotels I've found isn't the case all the time. I often find it hard to get to sleep in a bed that isn't my own, I didn't have this problem here.

As I stated previously, the location is great. Close to pubs and places to eat. I always found things were easy to get to and not a hard time to find.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.