We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place-” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Save Saved
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct - Save 5%
Ranked #5 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful place-”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

From the moment we walked in to the beautiful lobby, we knew we'd made the right choice deciding to stay here. The lovely old building has been renovated and refurbished with a great deal of care and attention to detail.(Love the black and white photo's of Melbourne by Matt Irwin). Every member of staff we had contact with were helpful and friendly and it was particulrly refreshing to see Gary, the general manager, at frequent occasions around the hotel. Usually, the manager of a hotel is just a name on the hotel information left in your bedroom!

We had a studio room and found it very comfortable, even with 2 large suitcases for a 21 day trip, there was plenty of room. We got a quiet room, as requested, which looked out onto the alley next to the hotel. The attention to detail was evident in our room; comfy bed, well equipped kitchenette and even an umberella in the wardrobe, which unfortunately we needed!

As the hotel is in the CBD, when all the office workers have gone home, it's a nice quiet area. That doesn't mean it's 'cut off'. The hotel staff have compiled a list of their favourite eateries in the area, all within walking distance, and there are plenty to choose from. However, as it was raining heavily the evening we arrived, we decided to eat in the small hotel restaurant. We weren't disappointed, I knew we were on to a winner when I saw the open kitchen and the chef preparing fresh ingredients, we had a really good meal, I particularly liked the beautifully cooked Barramundi.

The breakfast buffet is excellent, with a good choice of fruit, cereals, morning goods (croissants etc.) and breads for toast. The breakfast menu is superb, and again you can see in the kitchen and see your order being freshly prepared.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel, and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Although we were in a sde view room, I would imagine the rooms facing the front could be a little no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    389
    284
    38
    10
    3
See reviews for
122
309
69
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Molesworth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Roadworks directly under our window facing the street spoiled most of our stay as the noise was very loud and disruptive, they started drilling at 7am on the Saturday! If we had been aware of this possibility we would not have stayed. Some kind of compensation for the roadworks noise would have been appreciated. Additional street noises of trams and drunken revellers were also rather loud and the double-glazed windows did not seem to dampen these noises. We found it very hard to sleep.

Also, seeing that we paid for a 1 bedroom spa apartment it would have been nice to have had breakfast included in the price. Not overly impressed which is a shame as we were really looking forward to staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: May want to ask if the room is at the front or the back of the hotel. Ours was at the front facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
Thank you for your comment regarding our friendly staff. It is disappointing to hear that you were disturbed in the morning. We agree roadwork’s while necessary for any city or community to function can be disruptive. Unfortunately they are completely out of our control and in this case we were not informed prior. Upon being aware of the works, as a proactive measure to minimise the possibility of our guests being disturbed, our manager on duty immediately investigated and requested they delay. However as they had permission to conduct work from the local authority our request was ignored. We have registered our concern with the local authority.

As mentioned, we have fitted our rooms with double glazed windows for environmental / heat and noise insulation- should the windows be left open the noise from the street is more likey to be heard.

I understand our manager on duty offered a move to an alternate room for the remainder of your stay. We have also revised our process for addressing and resolving issues such as these that arise on rare ocassions.

Our pricing is for accommodation only so that guests have the choice of dining for breakfast if they require. We have found that this is the preference for most guests. Bookings via our website have the option of adding a discounted breakfast to their booking. We also offer special deals from time to time that include breakfast as a bonus.

We look forward to welcoming you back at a time when external issues will not have an effect our your stay.

Gary Stickland
General Manager
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

we stayed here twice on a trip to OZ. this is the first truly eco hotel we have stayed in. most hotels say they don't change the towels, but then they do anyway! The first time we stayed we had a relatively small room. the seond time we got a larger room (just a few dollars more) with a kitchen as well. Great location for sky bus from the airport and for walking around CBD. good also to have free tea and coffee all day. The staff were all amazingly helpful. would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: for a few dollars more get the bigger room with kitchen. don't expect a view at the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed 4 nights for a city break at the end of January. We echo all the positive comments. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This hotel is ideal for both the business and leisure traveller. Good location in the heart of CBD, near to Southern Cross Station and Docklands and walking distance to Federation Square, Queen Victoria Market and Chinatown. Excellent helpful staff, superb breakfast, quiet & clean room. Thoroughly recommended. Car parking is very close.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We travelled to Melbourne to see a concert at the Rod Laver arena and were seeking accommodation reasonably priced and within walking distance of the concert venue.
We were thrilled with every aspect of our stay at the Alto.
From the moment we checked in until check out 2 days later, staff were helpful and polite.
The room was well appointed and very clean.
We loved the fact that it was run by green energy, and utilised the opening window for fresh air. When it was time to sleep, the double window kept out all the noise from streets below.
The bed was comfortable and we had a great couple of nights sleep. No sound from other rooms at all.
The kitchenette area was lovely, well stocked with milk in the bar fridge plus tea, coffee & sugar, as well as glasses, crockery and cutlery.
We had hot breakfast included in our package. It was fantastic!
There is a help yourself coffee machine that does coffee, tea, hot chocolate any time - conveniently located near the computers for free internet access - handy for checking in to the following days flight!
We discovered the relaxation room that can be booked free of charge, but unfortunately didn't have time to utilise it - it did look good with two big massage chairs. Next time maybe!.
There is no pool or gym on site, but we already knew that and generally don't use such facilities anyway. I believe you can obtain complimentary entry to a nearby gym if needed though.
The shower in the room was great - one of the best I've experienced.
Room was serviced well while we were out - nice to return to a lovely clean room.
The walk to Rod laver from this location was enjoyable for us, but easy to access by tram if walking is not your thing.
We also walked to Southbank and the outlet shops from the Alto.
Great location!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

It is only 1-2 blocks from the train and bus stop, which is very handy. The room and local area are very quiet and it is within walking distance to the main shopping areas (30 minutes). The only drawback is, while there are some lower quality restaurants nearby on Hardware Street (10-15 minute walk), the nicer food establishments are probably a 30-45 minute walk away.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke
Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne’s multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room, smokers lounge & wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.