We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alto Hotel on Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Alto Hotel on Bourke to your Saves list
Alto Hotel on Bourke
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Price - Book Here
Ranked #9 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Perth
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very good location, Walking distance to Central Melbourne City, Trams, Buses and Trains.
Excellent variety of different types of accommodation to cater for any needs.
Management and staff provided excellent service and where always willing to assist.
Would recommend this Hotel for business or pleasure.
Have no hesitation in recommending to our friends and would stay there again when next in Melbourne.
Relaxation room was a great idea.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    404
    53
    14
    2
See reviews for
195
445
97
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RI USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

I look for clean and this met my very picky standards! and it exceeded all other criteria too. Friendly staff, green carbon neutral and very comfortable. Will always stay there! Walking distance to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed at the Alto before heading off to a ski trip in Mt Buller. The hotel was clean, comfortable and warm. It had very good cooking facilities and very good, very clean showers. Our room was towards the back of the hotel so was very quiet. The staff was so very helpful and kind and even upgraded our room from a 2 bdr to a 3 bdr which was wonderful. The Alto was conveniently located to everything. The tram stop was in front of hotel where we could catch the tram to all places of interest for our children. Southern Cross station was a few minutes walk away which gave us easy access to the Skybus to and fro the airport and the Vline coach to and fro Mt Buller. Also, upstairs at the Spencer St station are loads of shops (known as the Spencer St Station shops). This is a great hotel, reasonably priced and well located. We will return there on our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The attention to detail makes this place special. It has everything you could want / need out of a hotel and more! The rooms are spacious and well appointed, free wifi, staff is very helpful and friendly... they have a really lovely common area with a fire place, books, coffee/tea machine and a relaxation room with the most amazing massage chairs!

I was on a busy business trip and I was able to relax at this place (even for just one night). I would definitely come back - either on business or holiday. Great value for money, highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I loved this place! Room was immaculate and totally way above my expectations. Close to Trams, close to train station, fabulous room, great restaurant and bar area with great food. Wish I had spent longer here. Will definitely stay here again sometime. Thanks heaps to the staff! I have recommended this Hotel friends already.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

As my friend and I have been friends for 50 years since we first started Primary School together we planned a celebration of our milestone with a trip to Melbourne. Our stay at the Alto was a huge highlight. Communication prior to our arrival was easy and Dee Bourchier responded quickly and with lots of helpful ideas. Check - in was speedy and our luggage was held, as we had a morning flight. When we returned to the hotel our luggage had been delivered to our comfortable room. (Amazing, coathangers that can actually be removed from the wardrobe. What a difference that makes to a pleasant stay.)
An additional surprise was a lovely bottle of bubbly and chocolates to help our celebrations.
The hotel has a range of welcome additions such as the library and coffee machine, but the greatest assets would have to be the location and the great staff. No matter what their role at the hotel they were all willing to offer such helpful advice in a very friendly manner.
We felt very special throughout our stay.
We'll be back and will advise anyone travelling to Melbourne to stay at the Alto.

Room Tip: Just ask. Nothing seems to difficult!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

I overheard a guest say it was too sterile for his taste. However, The neo baroque facade, leadlight windows, marble foyer with Australian Railway Union logo and
the artwork, small intimate spaces and 1950s decor give it character without clutter and I appreciated the quiet service of staff finding them helpful and not fake like the cardboard tafe cutouts at other hotels. It was close to everything, quiet, crisp, clean, and low impact, a perfect relaxing refuge from the city.
The guest is king with plenty of tourist info, melbourne walks suggestions, bar, massage chairs, book exchange, and nearby gym access, and resturant (tho not open for dinner on sunday) and member of green table australia, championing sustainable local produce. Plentiful breaky, recommend the pancakes and eggs bendict. Dinner was fine with seafood chowder, linguini with prawns, peas and roast tomato. There are plenty of nearby resturant suggestions to cater for all tastes. And to top it off its environmentally friendly, one of the reasons we chose to stay here: greenhouse gas audited annually, CO2 offset, wind generated power, rainwater collected, gas hot water, double glazing, biodegradable bin liners, refillable toiletries, waste recycling bins. We like it!

Room Tip: Room 401 has leadlight windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Oaks On William
#22 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alto Hotel on Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport shuttle bus, shopping, tram stops & train station. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alto Hotel on Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.