We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We can't wait to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prix Fixe

Prix Fixe
Alfred Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 4,093 Restaurants in Melbourne
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: European, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Prix Fixe is a beautiful modern dining room in Alfred Place, a Melbourne lane with a serious culinary heritage, cornering the Paris end of Collins street. Philippa Sibley is one of Australia's finest chefs, an author of three cook books, a leading pastry and dessert specialist, having trained and worked in some of London's best restaurants, then at three-starred La Cote Saint Jacques In Burgundy, France, before running some of Melbourne most acclaimed three hatted eateries (est est est, Luxe and Ondine). Before the establishment of Prix Fixe in February 2014, Philippa was Executive Chef at Albert St Food & Wine, a wine bar, restaurant and produce store, featuring European classics, savoury and sweet, a la Sibley. She was awarded Chef of The Year in 2004 by the Age Good Food Guide and 2014 Chef Of The Year by TimeOut Melbourne. Philippa cooks with seasonal, sustainable ingredients from local producers in dishes employing classic flavour combinations and cooking techniques with a modern twist. Her creative and playful approach shines in her monthly changing menus - always expect a little twist or surprise and a touch of whimsy! The set Table d'Hote menu changes monthly inspired by people, the arts, music and produce available seasonally and regionally. Enjoy four courses for dinner Monday to Saturday from 6pm or your selection of two or three courses for lunch on Friday and Saturdays from noon.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“We can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My husband & I dined here last night. What a fantastic, tasty, beautifully presented menu. Our waiter was fantastic, friendly, fun, one of the best we've ever had. We thoroughly enjoyed very moment of our evening here and every tasty morsel. The rusty Russian cocktail was delish too. We are just waiting to hear back from friends, before booking for July as we can't wait to experience the French menu in July. I totally agree with previous reviewers, there is nothing to fault here. This is a a winner, bring on July..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eltham, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner at Prix fixe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful meal with friends here. The food was superb as one would expect with Philippa Sibley in the kitchen! The staff were very professional & knowledgeable, they were so open & informative with details of the ingredients and methods of cooking, it was great. My only minor criticism is the noise, having an open ceiling with all the pipe work & electrical business 'on show' made it a bit cavernous and the noise reverberates around a bit. But, we will be looking forward to going back soon & to experiencing the next menu "Queens of Melbourne".

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I dined here last night, and while I was not initially enthused about the menu, I absolutely loved each of the four courses on offer and even the bread was fantastic. Enthusiastic and passionate staff, a beautifully balanced wine list all added to a 9.5 out of ten score from me. I can't wait to try the winter menu starting next week!

Put this place on your bucket list!

It really is an interesting concept to buy tickets to visit a restaurant to dine from a set menu, but I can understand the concept well as your table is yours for the night, the kitchen can cater for exact numbers, food can be prepared in advance as well as reduce wastage.

Bravo Philippa!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The Whole Hog”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We are already planning our next visit (and the one after that). Bookings are online only. The menu is set and based on this months theme - for April it was The Whole Hog - all things pork. The room is really comfortable and well thought out. Staff were engaged, friendly and knowledgable, without being over bearing. Wine list was very, very good. To start, the amuse bouche - pea soup (room temperature) with carbonara sorbet and pork scratchings was amazingly good. The rest of the meal equally good - innovative, interesting and tasted incredible. Searching hard - there was nothing to fault. Fixed price and online bookings for a restaurant is an interesting concept - but for many reasons - ordering of produce, reduced wastage and dealing with no shows, this works. And Phillipa and staff (kitchen and front of house) make this an experience to be remembered.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The booking arrangements are a bit of a shock - no phone number, no address on the web site, only on-line bookings for tables of 2, 4 and 6. I managed to get a table for 5 anyway and any residual unease evaporated on arrival - a lovely room (if a little noise for an old codger like me) and delightful, knowledgeable and attentive staff who clearly love the theatre of the Prix Fixe presentation. The food was excellent - innovative but strong logic to all the combinations - it was the pork menu and the range was quite exceptional. We'll be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prix Fixe also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Prix Fixe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prix Fixe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.