We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY CHEEKY HOSTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Nomads Melbourne
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
La Spezia, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“DIRTY CHEEKY HOSTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

one of the worst experience with hostels. I took a six bed shared room, for an average price but:
Filthy rooms, no wardrobe, no locker, no personal light next to your bed (if you wish to read a book and one of the other 5 is sleeping you can't), not even a grid achievable from my bed.
If you want WI FI you have to pay 4 $ per day, if you want a locker you have to pay 5$per day...in other words a room who might have a decent price would cost you much more than in other hostels.
2 positive things: Toilets were all right and staff quite friendly.
Avoid it if you can!!!

Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    47
    35
    30
See reviews for
2
27
57
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It wasn't what I expected at all. I thought it would be as good as other nomads hostels but it wasn't. The kitchen is extremely small, a lot of people is staying there and you almost had to make a line to use a spoon. The bathrooms are always dirty and you have to wait a lot to use them. The common areas are ok, but they are always like a bar style with no place to chill. It is tooo big, toooo many people staying there and no place for them. And the staff was kind of rude too. Not a good experience, there must be better places in Melbourne, that is a great city by the way.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello Micaela,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hostel. I'm very sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience.

We are a very new management team. We are currently spending a lot of time with staff training across all sectors of our business. We want to excel in offering the very best customer service, the cleanest rooms and hostel, with competitive prices. We are going to be spending some time redecorating our rooms. We have also employed a new housekeeping manager, she is still training at the moment but we know she is going to be excellent. We have spent a lot of time with her so she has a very strong understanding of Nomads standards. Since your review we have employed an extra 5 cleaners so that we can make sure the hostel is beautiful all the time. We do know that our kitchen is small and are in the process of brainstorming some ideas of how to make our kitchen bigger.

We would love it if you were coming back to Melbourne, that you would stay here again so we can give you a positive experience at Nomads Melbourne. I already feel that we have made an impact on most of your issues.

Enjoy the rest of your travels, and once again thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It's alright. Honestly nothing special, terrible wifi, one particularly moody member of staff, average rooms, not that close to town, but really good showers, the one positive!

The wifi was free, which is something that you had to pay for at the second nomads hostel I stayed at, so I guess you can't complain too much.

Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I'm sorry to hear that we didn't blow you away. I'm surprised that you didn't feel that you got good customer service. This is an area we always seem to excel in. However I will see who checked you in to see if there are any training issues we need to deal with.

Yes we offer free wifi at our hostel, if we have a large amount of users it can sometimes slow it down. We do offer a paid wifi card which is $4 for 24 hours or $12 for the whole week, this is a superior wifi connection.

I am very pleased you liked the shower :o)

Once again thank you for your feedback,

Enjoy the rest of your travels :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Good clean rooms of a decent size. Pool table In the bar, and decent facilities! Only stayed one night before moving to st kilda. Located not far from a market! Staff are helpful and it's a good base for shopping as it's not too far to walk to places.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello there,

I Just wanted to say thank you for your positive feedback. Its lovely that you took the time to do that for us.

If you ever come back to Melbourne come and stay with us again and we will sort you out a discount. Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

A group of us stayed here as we were heading out in melbourne and just needed a place to crash in the early hours. Staff were friendly enough and had a nice bar down stairs. rhe beds were pretty average and not comfy so if you were going to stay here a long time then you might be in for a sore back after a while. Bathroom was basic and cramped but we just had a shower so didnt care. Over all basic place to stay for good price but not long term stay.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello there,

I just wanted to thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it when customers take the time to do that for us.

I just wanted to let you know that we are in the process of replacing some of our older mattresses. We are a new management team here, part of our new structure is that I personally go through the building everyday and check every single room for cleanliness, I check pillows, all linen and mattresses for comfort etc. We actually don't have many old mattresses but 10 have already been replaced.

Thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

The hostel itself is very nice. The bar/lounge area is really nice and a great place to sit and relax, staff are really friendly and helpful too.
The rooms are less impressive. I wouldn't say they are particularly nice but I never had any particular problems with my room.
There are certainly hostels closer to the CBD but, from what I saw, they are nowhere near as pleasant. The 10 min walk to the city centre is worth it for the nicer hostel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzie T, Manager at Nomads Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hello there,

Thank you for your lovely review, its really rewarding when our customers take the time to write the positives.

You are right we do have a few rooms that need a repaint, we are in the process of doing this. We try and paint one room at the beginning of each week, by 2085 we hope to have them all done :o) Although some of the rooms do need a repaint you will still find the room to be clean. We take alot of pride in making sure our hostel looks good for our customers.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

If you do head back to Melbourne, come and stay with us again and I will put you in a repainted room and give you a discount.

Enjoy the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Stayed in a 8 bed dorm on the 5th floor and arrived to find the lift was under repair. Reception helped carry my bags up all the stairs. I found the staff to be friendly and help get you involved with activities in the hostel.

Rooms were generally clean and tidy and I found the bedroom floors quiet. Bathrooms are shared but they have separate shower and toilet factilities. Bar gets some good nightlife but never gets over rowdy. Met a great group of people here.

Kitchen could do with being bigger and have a few more facilities as at times you couldn't get in. Generally clean but as it is a wash your own mess rule occasionally not, shut between 4 and 5 for a deep clean and another deep clean in the evening. First deep clean may be brewer an hour earlier as this may sort the over crowding at 5-6.

Overall a good stay.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.