We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - Worst Hostel I've stayed in?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nomads Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nomads Melbourne to your Saves list
Nomads Melbourne
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 29 Melbourne B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid - Worst Hostel I've stayed in?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've stayed in plenty of hostels, but this might be the worst of them all. First of all, THE KITCHEN IS TINY. You literally could not swing a cat in there. Secondly, the beds are so squeaky even a small movement will make a large noise.

Another annoyance was my key card to enter the room stopped working at least 3-5 times a day, so I would have to head back down the lift to reception again. And on the first night, the fire alarm went off at 8am the next morning. Thankfully a false alarm but nobody checked the building/our room and neither was there an announcement of any kind.

The rooftop area was nothing more than an empty rooftop. No chairs or anywhere to sit. And the cinema room was out of order for the entire three painful days I was there. The showers are barely warm and there's no shelves or anything to put any if your stuff.

The 6 bed dorm I was in was clean and had plenty of space. And the staff were helpful. Location is ok but there's better hostels in better locations Apart from that there was nothing good about this place. A seriously poor hostel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    47
    47
    33
    29
See reviews for
2
27
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

the rooms were disgusting. shared a room with stinky boys that kept their stuff everywhere I could barely find a place for my own things. the beds were so incredibly creaky. the bathrooms didn't seem to get cleaned very often. the cleaners vacuumed around everyone's things. small messy kitchen. disrespectful people who didn't clean their own dishes. wasn't allowed alcohol in the rooms which is okay so they said they will hold it for me at reception. when I was checking out they didnt have it anymore and must have thrown it out. also 5 $ to use a towel all in all the whole time I was there I was wishing I never checked in. before you book here consider your options.

Room Tip: book somewhere else. not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great location, Victoria Queen market just around the corner and just a few blocks away from shopping at Melbourne central.
The rooms are ok, clean, but the beds sounds soo much so bring earplugs. The kitchen is really small and there's always people in there making food so it gets crowded fast.
You have to pay for the wifi, 4$/day or 12$/week.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you want to stay somewhere and get no sleep - this is the place to go. We are currently on level 1 and can hear every single conversation outside even with the window closed. There seems to be no noise curfew which is awful for people who need sleep if you have work or need to get up early. The beds squeak like nothing I've ever heard, if you roll over it feels like your waking up the whole room. My boyfriends pillow is like a tshirt - there is nothing to it. There is nowhere to put our bags which leaves our stuff to be on the floor making a mess. The staff aren't exactly friendly and to be woken up last night by one of them knocking on our door at 11.30pm wasn't exactly professional, all because one our roommates had left his ID downstairs, he surely could've slid it under the door no? The kitchen is absolutely ridiculous for the size of the hostel, 4 people in there and your struggling for room - cooking a simple meal in there is simply uncomfortable and an uneasy task! The toilets are horrible, the floors are always wet and I went in to 3 toilets and turned right back out of them all - do they even get cleaned?! And I feel like I'm showering in the rest of the backpacker populations pubes!! Boke. The rooms have no air conditioning and the fan is at the same end as the window?! How does that even work? The luggage storage room is an absolute joke you can't even get in to get your bags and 9 times out of 10 they've been chucked to the very back by someone else anyway. The wifi is rubbish aswell and for the price you pay you expect atleast half decent Internet. Can't quite understand how it takes 3 members of staff to come in, empty a bin and give the lockers a 'wipe' and another person to Hoover and yet another to make the bed...so 5 members of staff coming in is a bit ridiculous. We stayed here early this year and didnt think it was too bad, but it's clearly gone very downhill which is a big disappointment. Also how can they justify upping their prices sooo much at the weekend?! It's a joke. Overall, stay here if your looking to get no sleep or be able to cook because that's what our experience consisted of!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here when I first arrived in Australia, and I remembered it being pretty good. This was not the case on this occasion. My room was dirty and cluttered, and the beds creaked so much, every time you rolled over you pretty much woke everybody in the room up. The staff, with very few exceptions, were surly and stone-faced, looking as if they just didn't want to be there. Worst of all is the kitchen. The hostel is big, with a lot of guests, but the kitchen is TINY. When you have about 6 people in it it looks almost full. Most of the hobs are broken, no one washes their own dishes so the sink is always full, and the positioning of everything clearly hasn't been thought out properly. I had some fun nights here, especially the pub quiz, but aside from that, the place needs a serious overhaul.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

On first arrival staff were friendly and helpful. Dorm rooms were clean, also stayed in a private room for two nights which was actually really nice for a hostel private room!
Bad sides are that the kitchen is ridiculously small for a hostel this size, two cooker tops and only one area to prepare food. The other issue is the bathrooms, all toilets and showers are unisex. According to my girlfriend the toilets are "always covered in pee." I understand this is not directly the hostel's fault, but maybe just designate male and female toilets?
Bar has good drink deals and always has something going on.
Overall, despite some of the other reviews, I would say this is actually my favorite hostel out of all I've stayed in Melbourne. The main down side is the size of the kitchen, but when you see past that it is a great place with a friendly hostel feel. Also had brilliant deals for traveling around Australia and Thailand which we would have taken advantage of if we weren't leaving Australia so soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I really wanted to like this place as the staff were so understanding when I had to change my reservation due to a crisis. Unfortunately, the room needed a good clean, especially the bathroom, there was a tiny wardrobe & little else in the room & I had a you-beaut single room with own bathroom. The lift light was not working for 2 of the 3 nights I was there so you had to get into a pitch-black cell & find your mobile to get some light to see which buttons to press. For the price, I'd have been better at the hotel across the road.
Such a pity as great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nomads Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Melbourne

Address: A'Beckett St. 196-198, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nomads Melbourne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomads Melbourne is a backpackers offering travellers a unique backpacking experience. The totally refurbished building at 196-198 A'Beckett St, is located at the top end of the city, right in front of the Queen Victoria Market. With many popular Melbourne attractions, beautiful gardens, fantastic shopping and a wealth of public transport options close by, Melbourne at its best is at your doorstep. At Nomads Melbourne you can indulge in the luxury of a deluxe en-suite king room, relax in style in a single or multi-share private room, or meet your fellow travelers in a 4-10 share dormitory room. Nomads Melbourne will make your stay in Melbourne a breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nomads Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Industry Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomads Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.